Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,441 Members 44,373 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Dev] Android on the Universal

Tip us?
 
liyaocheng
Old
#441  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2012
wow I've already saw this ... I'll try it later.. but there is something problem with the battery of Universal
 
kybergreg
Old
#442  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: near Prague
Hi, I'm watching this thread as well. I'm still using Uni as my main phone and even though I'll soon move to the HTC Desire Z I would still love to see android working on my Uni. I would even pay for the 128 MB RAM upgrade just because of android. My Uni has only standard 64 MB RAM and that's simply unusable with the current android image.
 
Da9L
Old
#443  
Da9L's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 896
Join Date: Jan 2007
How does this work? My UNI is not my primary phone, as it has a broken LCD, but if this works well i would be happy to return to my universal as primary phone and replace the LCD!

Windows Mobile
HTC HD2 | HTC HD | HTC Universal | HTC Touch Diamond | HTC Prophet | HTC Vox | HTC Typhoon | HTC Canary

Android
HTC Dezire Z | HTC Tattoo | HTC Hero | HTC One S

-= ! HTC FTW ! =-

 
gbl08ma
Old
#444  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 181
Join Date: Nov 2009
If your Universal has been upgraded to 128MB RAM, I think it might worth bringing your Uni to life, at least judging by others' feedback. However, it's unusable on 64MB RAM Universals, as I have experienced myself.

But I'd advice not to buy a new screen just for hopes of running Android on it, in the end, I don't think that at this stage this Android port even has a working Phone/Messaging function.

notime, are you still developing this? (I guess not)
 
notime2d8
Old
#445  
notime2d8's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 285
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbl08ma View Post
If your Universal has been upgraded to 128MB RAM, I think it might worth bringing your Uni to life, at least judging by others' feedback. However, it's unusable on 64MB RAM Universals, as I have experienced myself.

But I'd advice not to buy a new screen just for hopes of running Android on it, in the end, I don't think that at this stage this Android port even has a working Phone/Messaging function.

notime, are you still developing this? (I guess not)
Not as much as i used to or would like. And when i was working with froyo i did have text messaging working and receiving and making calls but i never got the microphone working. But i also think that this will never be good enough for daily use...having no GPU cripples android.
HTC Universal 128MB
Galaxy S Relay
HTC X7510
HTC Rhodium
Much I5
Samsung Galaxy S
 
kybergreg
Old
(Last edited by kybergreg; 3rd April 2012 at 08:42 AM.)
#446  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: near Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by notime2d8 View Post
Not as much as i used to or would like. And when i was working with froyo i did have text messaging working and receiving and making calls but i never got the microphone working. But i also think that this will never be good enough for daily use...having no GPU cripples android.
Does that mean that all android phones have a GPU? Including Google G1 (Dream)? I would be quite happy if Uni could run just android 1.6 just like G1. It would be quite enough. G1 has 192 MB RAM which is more than 128MB (Uni's maximum) but not that much more. And CPU speeds are just same (528 MHz).
Froyo 2.2 is more hardware demanding than 1.6.

EDIT: Yeah, I found it on wikipedia, the G1 has a combined CPU/GPU processor...
 
notime2d8
Old
#447  
notime2d8's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 285
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kybergreg View Post
Does that mean that all android phones have a GPU? Including Google G1 (Dream)? I would be quite happy if Uni could run just android 1.6 just like G1. It would be quite enough. G1 has 192 MB RAM which is more than 128MB (Uni's maximum) but not that much more. And CPU speeds are just same (528 MHz).
Froyo 2.2 is more hardware demanding than 1.6.

EDIT: Yeah, I found it on wikipedia, the G1 has a combined CPU/GPU processor...

Yeah, 1.6 did run really nice on my 64mb uni. There are a few issues with that now...i can't find the source code for 1.6 or cm4?, it lacks a lot of needed performance updates and features i would need to back port, and a lot of the good apps and the newer ones have stopped supporting 1.6
HTC Universal 128MB
Galaxy S Relay
HTC X7510
HTC Rhodium
Much I5
Samsung Galaxy S
The Following User Says Thank You to notime2d8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orzech2111
Old
(Last edited by orzech2111; 7th April 2012 at 02:37 PM.)
#448  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
i can't find the source code for 1.6 or cm4?
As I good see the source code is on Android's servers. I'm now downloading it.
 
notime2d8
Old
#449  
notime2d8's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 285
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by notime2d8 View Post
Not as much as i used to or would like. And when i was working with froyo i did have text messaging working and receiving and making calls but i never got the microphone working. But i also think that this will never be good enough for daily use...having no GPU cripples android.


d-two has posted a video of cm7 running on a blueangel. link it has 128mb of ram and runs really well, the only difference with a universal is the GPU, half the resoultion, and running in portrait so no cpu usage needed to rotate it.
HTC Universal 128MB
Galaxy S Relay
HTC X7510
HTC Rhodium
Much I5
Samsung Galaxy S
 
orzech2111
Old
(Last edited by orzech2111; 11th April 2012 at 03:51 PM.)
#450  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Launcher

Hi. Tried you this launcher: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1520974 ? I think it is enough lightweight launcher for Universal.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes