Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Market question

OP Jason Roach

9th April 2012, 03:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Would anyone know why a d3 would have issues d/l stuff from market? It says that my device is not compatible but some of these apps I already have on my phone and some of them my girlfriend can d/l on her d3 but I can't? Any ideas?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA
10th April 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Roach

Would anyone know why a d3 would have issues d/l stuff from market? It says that my device is not compatible but some of these apps I already have on my phone and some of them my girlfriend can d/l on her d3 but I can't? Any ideas?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA

Market version I'd assume? Are you using Google Play yet?
10th April 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Yep on play

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA
11th April 2012, 11:46 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag New Iberia, Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 72
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Roach

Would anyone know why a d3 would have issues d/l stuff from market? It says that my device is not compatible but some of these apps I already have on my phone and some of them my girlfriend can d/l on her d3 but I can't? Any ideas?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA

because it's not classifying your phone as a "droid 3" its classifying it as something different, i believe if you modify the build.prop file, theres a line in there that says "device ID" and you can change it to the correct device ID and it should recognize it as a D3, but then this is all for custom roms, if you're using a stock rom, then i'm completely in the dark lol
14th April 2012, 02:11 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalsynner85

because it's not classifying your phone as a "droid 3" its classifying it as something different, i believe if you modify the build.prop file, theres a line in there that says "device ID" and you can change it to the correct device ID and it should recognize it as a D3, but then this is all for custom roms, if you're using a stock rom, then i'm completely in the dark lol

It definitely can be seen as many phones. The XT862 is the American model of the Droid 3, but the Droid 3 is a Verizon specific branding. If I go to the Play Store on my computer and DL an app to my phone, I have multiple models to pick from, all are my D3, but some are labeled D3 and some are XT862, and I attribute this to running custom ROMs, both modified Blur and AOSP (I believe AOSP broke the Droid 3 branding).

Check my screen capture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	different devices.JPG
Views:	44
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	1002035  
Last edited by redsox985; 14th April 2012 at 02:18 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes