Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,209 Members 36,884 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ATP with C3OK serial shows GPS on box

Tip us?
 
ElCamino
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default ATP with C3OK serial shows GPS on box

Just exchanged my C2OK serial TP at Best Buy because of the bad WiFi battery drain and got the C3OK serial ATP. I also noticed that it does show GPS on the box. Did Asus remove the GPS from the box in the prior TP? I didn't check the C2 box if it showed GPS.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1334035189026.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	248.0 KB
ID:	993883  
 
demandarin
Old
#2  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,044
Posts: 6,979
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alexandria, Va
I don't think it even really matters anymore. as far as i know, every box still says GPS. could be wrong though.

IPAD- 32GB WiFi ver. 4.2.1

Transformer Prime 32GB(Retired)

NEXUS 7 16gb Unlocked & Rooted JB 4.3 CleanRom 4.0 Faux Kernel

Galaxy Note 10.1 32gb- Hyperdrive Rom w/ Zeus kernel AMAZING!

Samsung Galaxy SIII - JB 4.1.2

Lg Optimus G Pro- new 1080P 5.5in. Display w/Snapdragon 600 Andreno 320

Microsoft Surface Pro 128gb. Full HD Display 1080P Windows 8 HD4000 Graphics Type Cover

Prime/Tegra3 Gamers Thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1409077

 
haberbe
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2011
I have a c2ok also. How do you know that it has a battery drain issue? it appears like the battery on mine dies faster than i think it should, but maybe i am just paranoid. what sort of symptoms did you see on the battery drain issue? what sort of life was bad enough to know you had a serious problem?
 
elcom
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 160
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default No GPS to be seen

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElCamino View Post
Just exchanged my C2OK serial TP at Best Buy because of the bad WiFi battery drain and got the C3OK serial ATP. I also noticed that it does show GPS on the box. Did Asus remove the GPS from the box in the prior TP? I didn't check the C2 box if it showed GPS.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
I have a c20. There is nothing on the box regarding gps.
Interesting....
 
ElCamino
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by demandarin View Post
I don't think it even really matters anymore. as far as i know, every box still says GPS. could be wrong though.
Yeah i wasn't to sure because I didn't check the other TP I took back, and then I read somewhere in these forums that GPS was removed from the box, but never bothered to check.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
ElCamino
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by haberbe View Post
I have a c2ok also. How do you know that it has a battery drain issue? it appears like the battery on mine dies faster than i think it should, but maybe i am just paranoid. what sort of symptoms did you see on the battery drain issue? what sort of life was bad enough to know you had a serious problem?
After I got the .21 update, I noticed that I could no longer get the same 10 to 12 hours I was getting. At first when I got my TP I tested for a weekend and was able to go through the whole day basically almost none stop using the TP, and after the .21 update I was only getting 6 hours and that was pushing it. A few times it even drained on its own just sitting and me using it for about an hour.

I did some test and posted in the threads that I was able to narrow the drain to my home Linksys router. At work I have set up a Cisco router for the office use and I can go 8 hours with no problem. The .21 update might be trying to have the WiFi push more to connect and depends on WiFi routers, its causing more battery drain on the TP. This is just my case, can't say if this is happening with others.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
ElCamino
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcom View Post
I have a c20. There is nothing on the box regarding gps.
Interesting....
Maybe Asus has improved the GPS and WiFi on the C3OK models and feel confident that the GPS and WiFi is much better.

I just tested the WiFi and it is way better than my C2O was. On the C2O, my signal was in the -79db and in the same place and same router with the C3OK model, it is from -58 to -61. This is nice. For some reason the back of this transformer prime feels much thinner than the previous version. When you tap the back it feels much thinner by the sound. Maybe its just me.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium
 
chazam
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 100
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Thurrock
I have a worldwide C30KASxxxxxxx model with no mention of GPS on the box.

TF201,GRAY,GL,1G LPDDR2
T30,32GB EMMC,CB-802.11/bgn(AS)_WW+BT2.1
1.2M/8M CAMERA,2CELL3380
ANDROID WW,MOBILE,2CELL2940
Xperia SP - CyanogenMod 11 - Locked Bootloader
 
jonlad1
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 236
Join Date: May 2010
Why can't gary/asus just tell us which revision has been improved?

When we know for sure that's when I will purchase.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA

The Following User Says Thank You to jonlad1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes