Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] GPS issues with CM 7.2-RC1

59 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
By MondoMor, Member on 10th April 2012, 01:17 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
I just changed from CM 7.1 to 7.2-RC1 on my Aria. I did a full wipe before installing 7.2.

In every other ROM I've ever tried, (stock, attn1's, Gene Poole's, CM7.1), the GPS gets a lock within maybe 15 seconds. Now it takes several minutes. Using the GPS Status app, it seems to find the satellites quickly enough, and I get 6 or more right away. But no lock.
Once I do get a lock, the accuracy is dismal (+/- 60 feet) where it was always much better.

I know I have read about files that can be copied in to fix this; but I can't find those posts after quite a bit of searching.

Would someone please point me to those instructions? Can I pull stuff off the CM71. .zip?

Edit: Whoops, I think this is what I'm after:
The Following User Says Thank You to MondoMor For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MondoMor Ad-Free
10th April 2012, 02:50 PM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
Weird. I've tried all four of ladios' zips, and there doesn't seem to be much difference. Lock times and accuracy are still worse than 7.1

I know the /system/lib/hw/ is being changed because the MD5 sums are different (and they match what I calculate on my PC). So I must be installing the .zips correctly.

Is there something else that changed about the GPS in 7.2?
10th April 2012, 03:34 PM |#3  
lsusparky621's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
I use the htc-stock zip and get an initial lock in 45 seconds, subsequent locks in 10 secs.

Sent from my Liberty using xda premium
13th April 2012, 08:47 PM |#4  
tommyguns818's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal *818*
Thanks Meter: 85
I also use the HTC stock one and get a 5 sec lock. I'm using it with 7.2
13th April 2012, 10:42 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Gladewater, TX
Thanks Meter: 202
Donate to Me
Htc stock working great here as well.

Sent from my Liberty using XDA
14th April 2012, 05:05 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Glazov
Thanks Meter: 257
FYI: take a look at this commit and this post, guys.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kot_Ik For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Kot_Ik Ad-Free
14th April 2012, 04:21 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
That is infinitely better, thanks!

The computed accuracy (uncertainty) is still worse than I've experienced in previous ROMs. But it wouldn't surprise me if it was "optimistic" in the past. Even dedicated handheld consumer GPS units don't get 3-foot accuracy after 15 seconds indoors, but that used to happen all the time on the Aria.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes