FORUMS

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more

Google Now Marches Forward with ‘Now on Tap’

When Google Now was announced three years ago, it revolutionized the mobile … more

I/O 2015: Google Announces App Link Enhancements

During the Google I/O Keynote, VP of Engineering Dave Burke announced that the Android … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Change Sensation display (LCD) by One S display (AMOLED)

8th April 2012, 01:04 PM |#21  
sensation lover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

If this ever works, it will end like Motorola's Cliq multi touch patch. While it might work, the screen voltage sensors won't be calibrate correctly and will end burning the screen (if you don't believe me Google it). The same could happen to the screen in general, with wrong voltage its going to break.

Sent from my Sensation using Tapatalk 2 Beta-6

How much more voltage does it require? If its less then we can change it

Sent from my Sensation using XDA
 
 
8th April 2012, 03:02 PM |#22  
sensation lover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
Actually another problem could be that if you notice the four ui buttons are attached to the screen and the one s has three so it would end up in different places etc and probably not work.

Sent from my Sensation using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to sensation lover For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2012, 09:21 PM |#23  
dgenx210's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensation lover

Actually another problem could be that if you notice the four ui buttons are attached to the screen and the one s has three so it would end up in different places etc and probably not work.

Sent from my Sensation using XDA

Well I haven't seen a disassembled One S yet but on the Sensation, the buttons are receiving input from a small board that is attached to the digitizer. While it's possible to do mods on the software side, the button prints are going to be way off.

The screen replacement idea sounds good but wow it sounds like there's going to be a lot of hurdles and headaches should this mod get done,
10th April 2012, 11:51 AM |#24  
sensation lover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
Well guys, after inquiring about it by sending HTC some e-mails, the guy rang me the following day and he said that just his manager said it cannot be done due to device terms and conditions and and company policies he will ask somebody much higher up if they should do it because It's such a good idea.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using XDA

Edit: A different guy from HTC called me today and apparently he was literally in charge of HTC UK, he said that he found it a very interesting preposition BUT (=() he said that we would have to change the motherboard for the screen as well and HTC are not willing to provide the service as it would cost 100's.
Last edited by sensation lover; 10th April 2012 at 04:21 PM. Reason: new information
10th April 2012, 12:12 PM |#25  
OP Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Please post when found screens on ebay or other sites. I look for this now but i dont found, maybe was too early
10th April 2012, 12:46 PM |#26  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Why go through all the trouble of doing it if there's a massive chance it's not gonna work?

Why not just sell the Sensation and buy a One S?
10th April 2012, 12:54 PM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sromer

Why go through all the trouble of doing it if there's a massive chance it's not gonna work?

Why not just sell the Sensation and buy a One S?

I agree it's not worth the risk. Just sell the sensation on Ebay and fork out the extra cash... I'm still yet to play with a One S yet only the One X and to me it was too big...
10th April 2012, 06:26 PM |#28  
OP Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
What risk? If screen dont power after update, i will back to another...
Screen must be tryed without broke nothing
10th April 2012, 07:30 PM |#29  
sensation lover's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danirebollo

What risk? If screen dont power after update, i will back to another...
Screen must be tryed without broke nothing

That MAY be the case but it seems complex, we'll need somebody to test it for us, somebody who knows what they are doing.
10th April 2012, 08:56 PM |#30  
OP Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensation lover

That MAY be the case but it seems complex, we'll need somebody to test it for us, somebody who knows what they are doing.

Ok, if someone try it would be nice ... I do not work on HTC, but I am an engineer (almost XD), I know when something is possible, but I need HTC ONE S screen to see whether it is possible ...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amoled, lcd, one s, pinout, sensation
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes