Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Transferring files over USB - "device has stopped responding"

OP beavertank

3rd April 2012, 05:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Ypsilanti
Thanks Meter: 16
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
So I've been trying all night to transfer a handful of CBR files to my ATP through its USB connection. I'm doing this from my desktop which is running windows 7. (in case any or all of those details might help anyone)

At first, I was trying to transfer with the prime plugged into my keyboard dock with USB debugging enabled. Then I disabled USB debugging. Then I tried, with debugging disabled, when connecting to the tablet directly. Finally I tried connected directly to the tablet, but with USB debugging enabled.

At every step in the process I will get through one folder or so, and then get an error on my desktop that says the device has stopped responding or has disconnected, and the transfer will fail.

With a bit more trial and error it seems to be that any time I interact with the prime in any way while it is transferring (even something as simple as scrolling back and forth a little on the home screen to keep it from going to sleep) it fails.

I'm not rooted, I'm on the standard firmware (.21 - latest as of now), and I've tried restarting the prime.

I can not make these files transfer and it's driving me insane. Anyone have any suggestions or theories on how to fix this?
10th April 2012, 03:37 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Chino Valley, AZ
Thanks Meter: 2
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I was hoping that there would be a response, esplanation, or solution to your post.

I am experiencing the same thing when I try to transfer a Titanium Backup Folder back on to the Tablet, be it to the internal SD Card or the External SD Card.

I've also tried all the options you mention (Debugging ON/OFF, etc.)

Are we the only two people experiencing this?

George
10th April 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #3  
dklue's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Anderson
Thanks Meter: 4
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
File transfers
Hi,
I was having the same problems, then gave up and fully charged it,
the next day I adb'd the same blob file and it did it in 5 min, the
night before when it was about a quarter charged it was taking a half
hour and would fail. I had it in CWM recovery. So try fully charging it, I have
also had better luck on a xp machine, then my win7 machine.
10th April 2012, 07:57 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
I had the same problem on .21 not unlocked nor rooted.

I did full wipe data after upgrading to .21 then connected as MTP and copied files successfully. Hope this help.

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using xda premium
10th April 2012, 08:25 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Bribie Island
Thanks Meter: 6
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Thumbs up
not to put you off trying to use usb, i had the same issue transferring 5GB from the prime to PC.

i found using Total Commander 1.0 rc5 for Android with the network addon i could transfer it faster via wireless (only due to the poor performance i had with usb)
so just share the content and drag it across the wifi.

Total commander *www*.*ghisler*.*com/android.htm
Plugins *ghisler*.*com*/androidplugins/
(remove the *, i cant post links yet )

one thing you could try if you haven't is plug it into one of the ports on the back of your computer instead of the front/top/side, sometimes these ports are under powered.
The Following User Says Thank You to xn1337 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 12:39 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I have this error when i'm trying copy file more than 4Gb to sd card formatted FAT32
11th April 2012, 06:48 PM   |  #7  
tylermaciaszek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Selden
Thanks Meter: 264
 
1,418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
might be silly to ask but when you connect did you make sure your on media transfer not the camera one?
11th April 2012, 09:51 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 807
 
4,240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
This might be the reason. I hate it when this happens when I'm transferring files and I cant change or play with the tablet till its done. Its becoming more of a singletask device. I'm starting to lose faith in Asus tbh.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1461583

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes