Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,147 Members 48,842 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Transferring files over USB - "device has stopped responding"

Tip us?
 
beavertank
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 81
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ypsilanti
Default [Q] Transferring files over USB - "device has stopped responding"

So I've been trying all night to transfer a handful of CBR files to my ATP through its USB connection. I'm doing this from my desktop which is running windows 7. (in case any or all of those details might help anyone)

At first, I was trying to transfer with the prime plugged into my keyboard dock with USB debugging enabled. Then I disabled USB debugging. Then I tried, with debugging disabled, when connecting to the tablet directly. Finally I tried connected directly to the tablet, but with USB debugging enabled.

At every step in the process I will get through one folder or so, and then get an error on my desktop that says the device has stopped responding or has disconnected, and the transfer will fail.

With a bit more trial and error it seems to be that any time I interact with the prime in any way while it is transferring (even something as simple as scrolling back and forth a little on the home screen to keep it from going to sleep) it fails.

I'm not rooted, I'm on the standard firmware (.21 - latest as of now), and I've tried restarting the prime.

I can not make these files transfer and it's driving me insane. Anyone have any suggestions or theories on how to fix this?
 
wa3pnt
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
I was hoping that there would be a response, esplanation, or solution to your post.

I am experiencing the same thing when I try to transfer a Titanium Backup Folder back on to the Tablet, be it to the internal SD Card or the External SD Card.

I've also tried all the options you mention (Debugging ON/OFF, etc.)

Are we the only two people experiencing this?

George
TF201 - Unlocked - Rooted - Primalicious ROM
 
dklue
Old
#3  
dklue's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 20
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Anderson
Default File transfers

Hi,
I was having the same problems, then gave up and fully charged it,
the next day I adb'd the same blob file and it did it in 5 min, the
night before when it was about a quarter charged it was taking a half
hour and would fail. I had it in CWM recovery. So try fully charging it, I have
also had better luck on a xp machine, then my win7 machine.
 
tsmt971@yahoo
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 349
Join Date: Oct 2007
I had the same problem on .21 not unlocked nor rooted.

I did full wipe data after upgrading to .21 then connected as MTP and copied files successfully. Hope this help.

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using xda premium
Don't wait it happen, make it happen!
 
xn1337
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 32
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bribie Island
not to put you off trying to use usb, i had the same issue transferring 5GB from the prime to PC.

i found using Total Commander 1.0 rc5 for Android with the network addon i could transfer it faster via wireless (only due to the poor performance i had with usb)
so just share the content and drag it across the wifi.

Total commander *www*.*ghisler*.*com/android.htm
Plugins *ghisler*.*com*/androidplugins/
(remove the *, i cant post links yet )

one thing you could try if you haven't is plug it into one of the ports on the back of your computer instead of the front/top/side, sometimes these ports are under powered.
The Following User Says Thank You to xn1337 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Astat731
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have this error when i'm trying copy file more than 4Gb to sd card formatted FAT32
 
tylermaciaszek
Old
#7  
tylermaciaszek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 264
Posts: 1,418
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Selden
might be silly to ask but when you connect did you make sure your on media transfer not the camera one?
Don't forget to thank me if I say something helpful

If you're gonna troll, at least be good at it.
 
aznmode
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 777
Posts: 4,109
Join Date: Jun 2007
This might be the reason. I hate it when this happens when I'm transferring files and I cant change or play with the tablet till its done. Its becoming more of a singletask device. I'm starting to lose faith in Asus tbh.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1461583

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes