Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more
Post Reply

[Q] HTC HD7 3G Radio Question

OP BurnRubber90

22nd June 2011, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 479
 
691 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!
22nd June 2011, 12:17 AM   |  #2  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!

The HD7S for AT&T has the 850/1900 radio you need.

NOTE: You need it unlocked if you're not using it on AT&T US's network.
Last edited by drkfngthdragnlrd; 22nd June 2011 at 12:20 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to drkfngthdragnlrd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2011, 12:27 AM   |  #3  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 479
 
691 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?
22nd June 2011, 12:31 AM   |  #4  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?

There's a few on Ebay.
22nd June 2011, 02:25 AM   |  #5  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 479
 
691 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?
22nd June 2011, 02:45 AM   |  #6  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?

The radio is hardware, no software will change this. As for an unlocked one, there's also various services that sell unlock codes. Also, as you said, they should be more readily available by October as the HD7S was only recently released by AT&T.
11th April 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkfngthdragnlrd

The radio is hardware, no software will change this.

Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)
13th April 2012, 06:03 AM   |  #8  
5ft24's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bellingham
Thanks Meter: 112
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simploid

Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)

Yes, frequency limitation is HARDWARE. software is just how it accesses and transfers data over the radio
13th April 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #9  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 479
 
691 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Why revive a dead thread? I ended buying an HTC Sensation, its awesome :b

Sent from my Sensation using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes