Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] HTC HD7 3G Radio Question

22nd June 2011, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 480
 
700 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!
22nd June 2011, 12:17 AM   |  #2  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!

The HD7S for AT&T has the 850/1900 radio you need.

NOTE: You need it unlocked if you're not using it on AT&T US's network.
Last edited by drkfngthdragnlrd; 22nd June 2011 at 12:20 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to drkfngthdragnlrd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd June 2011, 12:27 AM   |  #3  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 480
 
700 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?
22nd June 2011, 12:31 AM   |  #4  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?

There's a few on Ebay.
22nd June 2011, 02:25 AM   |  #5  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 480
 
700 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?
22nd June 2011, 02:45 AM   |  #6  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90

I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?

The radio is hardware, no software will change this. As for an unlocked one, there's also various services that sell unlock codes. Also, as you said, they should be more readily available by October as the HD7S was only recently released by AT&T.
11th April 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkfngthdragnlrd

The radio is hardware, no software will change this.

Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)
13th April 2012, 06:03 AM   |  #8  
5ft24's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bellingham
Thanks Meter: 117
 
652 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simploid

Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)

Yes, frequency limitation is HARDWARE. software is just how it accesses and transfers data over the radio
13th April 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #9  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 480
 
700 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Why revive a dead thread? I ended buying an HTC Sensation, its awesome :b

Sent from my Sensation using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes