Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,845 Members 50,771 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC HD7 3G Radio Question

Tip us?
 
BurnRubber90
Old
#1  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 688
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guayaquil
Default [Q] HTC HD7 3G Radio Question

Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!
 
drkfngthdragnlrd
Old
(Last edited by drkfngthdragnlrd; 22nd June 2011 at 12:20 AM.)
#2  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 2,401
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacoima, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90 View Post
Im new to this community.
I Really got interested in WinPhone7 after watching the HTC Trophy add on a webpage.
My Motorola Cliq is getting slower and slower, and i just got a $400 gift in cash for my birthday.
I Was thinking on spending it on this wonderful phone (the HD7), i have seen a couple reviews.. and all i just can say is WOW! (in a good way).
The problem is i cant seem to find a version of it that supports my local 3G Radio (850-1900).
You guys can either tell me if i can buy the regular 900-2100 and maybe change the radio (in my Cliq it was posible ) or where i can find a variant of the HD7 that runs in 3G 850-1900.
Thanks!
The HD7S for AT&T has the 850/1900 radio you need.

NOTE: You need it unlocked if you're not using it on AT&T US's network.
T-Mobile HTC 8X
ROM: Stock | HardSPL:Stock | Radio: Stock


The Following User Says Thank You to drkfngthdragnlrd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BurnRubber90
Old
#3  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 688
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guayaquil
Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?
 
drkfngthdragnlrd
Old
#4  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 2,401
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacoima, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90 View Post
Thanks for your answer!
Now, can you tell me where can i find it and if does it has the same prize as the T-Mobile one?
There's a few on Ebay.
T-Mobile HTC 8X
ROM: Stock | HardSPL:Stock | Radio: Stock


 
BurnRubber90
Old
#5  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 688
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guayaquil
I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?
 
drkfngthdragnlrd
Old
#6  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 2,401
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacoima, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnRubber90 View Post
I Wont buy the phone until October, so i guess the AT&T Version should be available unlocked easily then.
What about the radio changing? Is it posible?
The radio is hardware, no software will change this. As for an unlocked one, there's also various services that sell unlock codes. Also, as you said, they should be more readily available by October as the HD7S was only recently released by AT&T.
T-Mobile HTC 8X
ROM: Stock | HardSPL:Stock | Radio: Stock


 
simploid
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkfngthdragnlrd View Post
The radio is hardware, no software will change this.
Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)
 
5ft24
Old
#8  
5ft24's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 624
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bellingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by simploid View Post
Are you sure? May be I can flash radio from european HTC HD7 T9292 to my AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 for UMTS 900/2100 support? (Original radio from AT&T HTC HD7S T9295 supports only UMTS850/1900, so 3G doesn't work in EU)
Yes, frequency limitation is HARDWARE. software is just how it accesses and transfers data over the radio
 
BurnRubber90
Old
#9  
BurnRubber90's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 688
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Guayaquil
Why revive a dead thread? I ended buying an HTC Sensation, its awesome :b

Sent from my Sensation using Tapatalk 2
Current Devices:
HTC Sensation (Venom ROM Sense 5.0, Android 4.1.2, Stock Kernel @ 1.5GHz)
Asus Nexus 7 (16GB) (Stock, Android 4.4.2, Stock Kernel @ 1.5GHz)
Nexus 4 (8GB) (Paranoid Android Beta 4, Android 4.4.2, Stock kernel @ 1.5GHz)
Sony Xperia Tablet Z (16GB) (Stock, Android 4.3, Stock Kernel @ 1.5GHz)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more

Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more