Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,939 Members 49,945 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sidekick 4G and Tegrak Overclock

Tip us?
 
JiN1337
Old
#11  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 187
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange808 View Post
For a quick stress test, try downloading a benchmark app. OpenGL will be where you encounter problems and crashing.

I don't know of any significant overclock that is stable.

Good luck.
Thanks. Well, I ODIN'ed back to KD2 and did a clean install of GOV2. Hopefully I can overclock it, it was feeling a bit slow. And LauncherPro probably isn't the best launcher to use for it.
 
WolfV2
Old
#12  
WolfV2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 105
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by JiN1337 View Post
Flashed Bali 2.2 over Glorious Overdose V2, bricked. Now I gotta ODIN, lol.

Edit : Back to stock, deciding where to go from here I may install GOV2 again, but flashing Bali 2.2 is impossible.
Bali isn't compatible with KJ2, that's why it bricked

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA
LG Optimus L9
Stock ROM

Kindle Fire
ROM: Hashcode's stock CM10

SideKick 4G retired
ROM: GenericGinger 3.8

Want to thank me? Expand my Dropbox Storage
The Following User Says Thank You to WolfV2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JiN1337
Old
#13  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 187
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfV2 View Post
Bali isn't compatible with KJ2, that's why it bricked

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA
Lol thanks, it was a beginner's mistake at least I learned from it.
 
FixXxeR186
Old
#14  
FixXxeR186's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado
Overclocking with Tegrak at 1.2 GHZ on Glorious Overdose v2 with no issues after a couple hours.

Don't know what the benchmarking really proves, if anything, but mine just hit 1421 after i overclocked. is that good? lol
 
WolfV2
Old
(Last edited by WolfV2; 11th April 2012 at 10:49 PM.)
#15  
WolfV2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 105
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by FixXxeR186 View Post
Overclocking with Tegrak at 1.2 GHZ on Glorious Overdose v2 with no issues after a couple hours.

Don't know what the benchmarking really proves, if anything, but mine just hit 1421 after i overclocked. is that good? lol
I usually get around 2000 when I'm overclocked...

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA
LG Optimus L9
Stock ROM

Kindle Fire
ROM: Hashcode's stock CM10

SideKick 4G retired
ROM: GenericGinger 3.8

Want to thank me? Expand my Dropbox Storage
 
FixXxeR186
Old
#16  
FixXxeR186's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfV2 View Post
I usually get around 2000 when I'm overclocked...

Sent from my SGH-T839 using XDA
that's kinda why i asked if it was a good score or not. i'm pretty noobish but learnin quickly...
does it matter what i'm using to benchmark my device? i'm using quadrant standard, didnt know if they varied in results.

I'm sitting here getting to know Tegrak, there's several settings i'm not sure what to set that might help optimization, doing some further reading on that now.

i also didn't realize that when you use the free version of tegrak OC that you hafta redo the settings anytime reboot. so when i overclocked, rebooted, and ran a benchmarl test, it gave me non overclocked results. so i redid test and got 1690 this time. a far cry from your 2000+ though lol. any suggestions sir?
 
afr33sl4ve
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
I've got 1951 using Quadrant.

I'll probably buy Tegrak, once some good settings are shared.
The Following User Says Thank You to afr33sl4ve For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JiN1337
Old
#18  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 187
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts
About 2000+ as a Quadrant score while overclocked with 1.2 on GOv2 sounds about right. Although mine crashes if I try to launch a game like Temple Run or something memory intensive. That's why I have to choose a much lower overclock like 1.052 or 1.1.
 
yoyowhatup22
Old
#19  
yoyowhatup22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 137
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Ignatius
Quote:
Originally Posted by JiN1337 View Post
Thanks. Well, I ODIN'ed back to KD2 and did a clean install of GOV2. Hopefully I can overclock it, it was feeling a bit slow. And LauncherPro probably isn't the best launcher to use for it.
when i was on GOV2 i was using launcher pro + underclocked to 800mhz and was still butter smooth, and could sustain a 400mhz underclock. (after a day it would lock up and reboot.
My Devices
Sidekick4g Running Glorious Overdose V2 by ayoteddy
Samsung continuum Running 2.2.1 by pastorbennett
Ainol Elf Running 4.0.3 Elvish 0.3 by Dansplans
 
orange808
Old
#20  
orange808's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 302
Join Date: May 2011
Try something like the RD 3D benchmark.

Could also try getting GTA running on your device (provided you have the know how)...

Anyhow, heavy load with OpenGL is likely to crash your device when overclocked. If you can get a "stable" setup, have at it. Good luck.

The Following User Says Thank You to orange808 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes