Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,124 Members 39,069 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] cm9 buttons dont illuminate

Tip us?
 
pmpic
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] cm9 buttons dont illuminate

I installed cm9 after using cm7 and cant get the four buttons on the phone to light up. They are accessible but not illuminated. has anyone else encountered this problem.

Also I was wondering if the Cm7 uses more battery than cm9
The Following User Says Thank You to pmpic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericsdeadinside
Old
#2  
ericsdeadinside's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 760
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Liverpool, NY
You have to use auto brightness.
Follow me at: DeathBecomesMe
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ericsdeadinside For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pmpic
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Smile cm9 illumination

If you mean display auto brightness ok but when I'm outside I can't see the screen...guess ibhave to toggle back and forth. I had switched back to cm7. In your opinion is 9 worth changing to. It seems like in 7 everything is working pretty well.

Thank you for the reply
The Following User Says Thank You to pmpic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
knipp21
Old
#4  
knipp21's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 578
Posts: 3,792
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FT Riley BIG RED ONE
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmpic View Post
I installed cm9 after using cm7 and cant get the four buttons on the phone to light up. They are accessible but not illuminated. has anyone else encountered this problem.

Also I was wondering if the Cm7 uses more battery than cm9
Toggling auto brightness on and off solves it. Just tinker with it..

Sent from my Incredible 2 using xda premium
I'm No dev, no need to donate. Just a simple thanks

Follow me on Google Plus!

https://plus.google.com/115380001456117289879/posts
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to knipp21 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pmpic
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Talking cm9 illumination

Thank you....I appreciate it
The Following User Says Thank You to pmpic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
atomwes
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Menu keys...

Ive been using the dinc2 since last July and I got used to the buttons to the point that I noticed they didn't light up, but until I saw this post, I never considered it a "problem". Since I knew where they were and didn't need to see them to use them. If they ever do "fix" this issue I hope they allow for a settings option to keep them turned off. I actually enjoy them off, in my mind its just one more security feature. I know when my wife tries to use my phone she needs to see them, and since recently rooting to CM9 I don't want her bricking my phone. Because of the unlit buttons she has stopped using my phone (she uses some cheap AT&T phone, refuses to switch to Verizon). Just throwing my opinion in the mix. Thanks for the post as well I wasn't sure it was intentional or not.
The Following User Says Thank You to atomwes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RegnierD
Old
#7  
RegnierD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 400
Posts: 1,580
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Worthington, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomwes View Post
Ive been using the dinc2 since last July and I got used to the buttons to the point that I noticed they didn't light up, but until I saw this post, I never considered it a "problem". Since I knew where they were and didn't need to see them to use them. If they ever do "fix" this issue I hope they allow for a settings option to keep them turned off. I actually enjoy them off, in my mind its just one more security feature. I know when my wife tries to use my phone she needs to see them, and since recently rooting to CM9 I don't want her bricking my phone. Because of the unlit buttons she has stopped using my phone (she uses some cheap AT&T phone, refuses to switch to Verizon). Just throwing my opinion in the mix. Thanks for the post as well I wasn't sure it was intentional or not.
I believe in the advanced brightness settings under CMSettings you can do just that. Whenever I run a CM rom, I always go to the brightness settings under edit Other Levels and set all the softkey values on the far right column to 255 so they're always the same brightness and look nice. I like the sheen they have, but I can only see it when they're close to full brightness.

If you did the opposite, set all the values to 0 and then click Save and Apply Values at the top of that screen, they should, theoretically, never turn on.
Having problems with root/S-Off on your DInc2? Visit my help thread here!

Device: HTC One M8
ROM: Virtuous SIx
Kernel: Bundled w/rom
Recovery: Latest TWRP
Device History:
HTC Droid Incredible -> Samsung Fascinate -> LG Revolution -> HTC Droid Incredible 2 -> HTC Evo 3D -> HTC Evo 4G LTE -> Samsung Galasy S III -> Samsung Galaxy SIV -> LG Nexus 4 -> HTC One M8
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RegnierD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pmpic
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thank you ....as I am new to a rooted phone and this forum I didn't know those adjustments were available...learn something new everyday ......
Does cm9 drain the battery alot quicker or is it unnoticeable
The Following User Says Thank You to pmpic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RegnierD
Old
#9  
RegnierD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 400
Posts: 1,580
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Worthington, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmpic View Post
Thank you ....as I am new to a rooted phone and this forum I didn't know those adjustments were available...learn something new everyday ......
Does cm9 drain the battery alot quicker or is it unnoticeable
Unfortunately, I can't answer that question for you, as my phone doesn't like our ICS builds. Until we get a leaked official kernel and some source, I'm SOL.
Having problems with root/S-Off on your DInc2? Visit my help thread here!

Device: HTC One M8
ROM: Virtuous SIx
Kernel: Bundled w/rom
Recovery: Latest TWRP
Device History:
HTC Droid Incredible -> Samsung Fascinate -> LG Revolution -> HTC Droid Incredible 2 -> HTC Evo 3D -> HTC Evo 4G LTE -> Samsung Galasy S III -> Samsung Galaxy SIV -> LG Nexus 4 -> HTC One M8
 
prototype7
Old
(Last edited by prototype7; 17th April 2012 at 03:57 AM.)
#10  
prototype7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1116
Posts: 4,293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegnierD View Post
I believe in the advanced brightness settings under CMSettings you can do just that. Whenever I run a CM rom, I always go to the brightness settings under edit Other Levels and set all the softkey values on the far right column to 255 so they're always the same brightness and look nice. I like the sheen they have, but I can only see it when they're close to full brightness.

If you did the opposite, set all the values to 0 and then click Save and Apply Values at the top of that screen, they should, theoretically, never turn on.
Where exactly are these settings? Running CM7 with the same problem as the OP and can't find it anywhere. Edit: found the settings and putting them all at 255 didn't do anything. Any other ideas?

Signature by ThePhantom97
My PM box is not for tech support. If you have a question, post in the appropriate thread or create one in Q&A, you'll get an answer much faster.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes