FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[DEV][AOSP] ICS sources and build instruction for A501

72 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By shchers, Member on 12th April 2012, 12:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
12th April 2012, 03:45 PM |#31  
Zatta's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Sneek
Thanks Meter: 1,492
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Before you all go flashing away and saying it doesn't work, why don't you give a little time for the devs to put together a n00b proof solution?

Assuming you are talking to me, the alternative would be saying nothing at all. I think my version is better. As said, I'm willing to test whatever and this was my first result. I'm not complaining at all, i was just giving feedback, exactly what was asked for.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shchers

I see that package was 10 times downloaded, but no one comment

Taptalked u see
Last edited by Zatta; 12th April 2012 at 03:49 PM.
 
 
12th April 2012, 05:15 PM |#33  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,848
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatta

Assuming you are talking to me, the alternative would be saying nothing at all. I think my version is better. As said, I'm willing to test whatever and this was my first result. I'm not complaining at all, i was just giving feedback, exactly what was asked for.


Taptalked u see

Dude, relax. Assume = an/ass/out of /u & me.
The Following User Says Thank You to Moscow Desire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2012, 05:45 PM |#34  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Could anyone please tell me what to do with the full package?

Simply flash with CWM? Or is there anything else that needs to be done prior to flashing?

Thanks!

Sent from my A501 using XDA
12th April 2012, 05:53 PM |#35  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 538
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerTeufel

Could anyone please tell me what to do with the full package?

Simply flash with CWM? Or is there anything else that needs to be done prior to flashing?

Thanks!

Sent from my A501 using XDA

Well, personally... and this is just what I'd do, you understand. But personally, I'd go with following the instructions in the OP.
12th April 2012, 06:02 PM |#36  
Zatta's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Sneek
Thanks Meter: 1,492
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Dude, relax. Assume = an/ass/out of /u & me.

I thanked you for that. I know, assumption is the mother of all **** ups. Next time I'll give you a hug ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerTeufel

Could anyone please tell me what to do with the full package?

Simply flash with CWM? Or is there anything else that needs to be done prior to flashing?

Thanks!

Sent from my A501 using XDA

Good to see you around here (y)


Taptalked u see
12th April 2012, 06:08 PM |#37  
OP Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
Guys,
Sorry for delay with answer. Now I work on package (for CWM) which will do the next:
  • Install ICS bootloader (no more need to use nvflash)
  • Install thor's recovery
  • Install Android

Answers:
Quote:

Do I need to flash ICS bootloader or can I stay on HC one?

Yes, you need to install ICS bootloader

Quote:

the source are coming from official repository of android sdk ?
modified by you to work on Acer tablet ? or you have "only" put the Acer driver ?
what about the kernel ? it use the kernel already installed on the tablet ?
does it remove th root feature ?

I'm not sure that I understand question. Any way...:
sources from original Google Android repo, but Ericsson MBM and Acer device part mine.
Kernel - original Acer.
Broadcom driver and NTFS driver - original Acer
Kernel and ramdisk will be updated bu boot.img

Quote:

Simply flash with CWM?

If you already have installed ICS bootloader and right recovery - YES
The Following User Says Thank You to shchers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2012, 06:16 PM |#38  
Senior Member
Flag Łódź
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
huh for me the 3G is not working it shows the signal bar but nothing is working. I've send sms to the tablet the phone received confirmation that the message was delivered but did not receive anything on the tab and net is not working also and I cannot search for networks. But when I connect to wifi it's showing me the name of the network and letter H.

EDIT:
OK after 3 reboots I have net but not sms. and HSDPA is quite slow. Dont know why.

---------- Post added at 07:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by shchers

Yes, you need to install ICS bootloader

Installed on my old HC bootloader and works fine only HDSPA transfers are working like EDGE ones. Oh and I have 2 acer logos then starting


And one last thing. There is no root ;p
Last edited by macia10; 12th April 2012 at 06:14 PM.
12th April 2012, 06:21 PM |#39  
OP Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
macia10,
Thank you for testing! Looks like in the B#1 no permissions for CDMA. I'll check it now!
12th April 2012, 06:23 PM |#40  
Senior Member
Flag Łódź
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
I think that it's the same thing as it was with old leaks a500 cannot work with this on HC bootloader but a501 does. Probably a kernel related thing.
12th April 2012, 07:13 PM |#41  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,848
 
Donate to Me
More
Install was good. No issues.

Wifi good
Audio good
Market good
3g. Sees the networks, but no data connection.

Will put SU and BB tomorrow.

Just first looks between dealing with new baby.

EDIT: Took 8 minutes after turning off Wifi, and searching for known network, before locking in.
Last edited by Moscow Desire; 12th April 2012 at 07:15 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
a501, android, aosp, iconia, ics
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes