Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to calibrate screen in ics

OP albright

12th April 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
How do you calibrate the touchscreen in ics?

the calibration.ini trick does not seem to work

(I can't even find the TSCalibration program anywhere ...)
17th April 2012, 05:52 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by albright

How do you calibrate the touchscreen in ics?

the calibration.ini trick does not seem to work

(I can't even find the TSCalibration program anywhere ...)

Do the calibration through CWM. Run the "echo ..." command here after an "adb shell".
The Following User Says Thank You to rajeevvp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 05:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
no such directory as /sys/devices/platform/tegra_touch on ics
22nd April 2012, 05:14 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by albright

no such directory as /sys/devices/platform/tegra_touch on ics

I know. Which is why I suggested doing it using CWM. See post #2, above, again.
22nd April 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I *did* read that - but I have only the faintest conception
of what an adb shell is. I don't particularly want to go to
the trouble of installing the sdk for which I have no need.

That's why I *hoped* the simpler way in the original post
might work.
23rd April 2012, 05:59 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by albright

I don't particularly want to go to
the trouble of installing the sdk for which I have no need.

FYI: I don't think you need to install the entire SDK just to run ADB. The adb executable (and, its libraries) alone should suffice--it does on Linux.

Quote:

That's why I *hoped* the simpler way in the original post
might work.

There is a simpler method now. Go through that post again. I've got a zip file there which you can flash using CWM.
23rd April 2012, 07:36 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:

There is a simpler method now. Go through that post again. I've got a zip file there which you can flash using CWM.

that's great. There's a warning about which kernels work but
I assume that the kernel in ics is OK, right?

Edit: sorry, you meant the CWM kernel so that's OK

Edit2: and it works fine - many thanks
Last edited by albright; 23rd April 2012 at 07:46 PM. Reason: update
5th May 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #8  
lufc's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Flag Blackpool UK
Thanks Meter: 1,531
 
9,519 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting

Moving to Q&A
xyphoid
18th August 2012, 09:59 PM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
coby 1125 ics touch screen calibrate
Could any of you please help. I upgraded the coby from gb to ics using the various techniques listed. I was eventually successful, however, I can't really use it because the touchscreen seems to be backwards, and mirrored. If I'm not mistaken, it seems calibrated for the 8127, where mine is 1127 10" widescreen. the "about" displays it as Model# mid8127, o.s. ver 4.0.3. I can't use any aps to correct since no file manager is present, and it is next to impossible to type through get jar. I couldn't follow the directions on this thread keenly, so please explain step by step. Though I got ics to work, somehow, I'm a rookie, and don't understand tech stuff that much. I have access to ubuntu 12.04, and windows, so I can connect the tablet, which I have done, but I don't understand how to use abd, nor cwmmanger. I tried, but got confused, though I was on windows 7. Please give me the steps in plain terms how I may use ts_calibrate, or any other method to c orrect the touch issue. If there were a way to access the start menu or file responsible and edit that. Such was the case on another tablet of mine the wm mid8650, where a similair issue occured installing uberoid. I had to edit for the 8" screen vs the primary 7"

Thanks!
22nd August 2012, 06:13 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xyphoid

Could any of you please help. I upgraded the coby from gb to ics using the various techniques listed. I was eventually successful, however, I can't really use it because the touchscreen seems to be backwards, and mirrored.

You should talk to the guys who created the ICS for your tablet. They're the ones who'll be able to help you.

Quote:

I couldn't follow the directions on this thread keenly, so please explain step by step.

The steps in this thread are specific to a) the Tegra 2 Harmony-based tablets manufactured by Malata (eg. the ViewSonic gTablet) and b) to the stock or stock-derived kernels for those tablets.
Last edited by rajeevvp; 23rd August 2012 at 06:05 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes