Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,212 Members 42,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Firerat's Custom MTD Partitions Question

Tip us?
 
Zin0
Old
#1  
Zin0's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 709
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mount Airy
Default [Q] Firerat's Custom MTD Partitions Question

Sorry if this question has been asked multiple times, I did try my best to find an answer on google and xda but no luck, so here I am

I have it set up and everything. Before i did it, i had 150 mb of total space, now I have 298 mb of total space but i read that people got up to 350+ of mb space, is there a way i can get mine up that high?


Sprint Galaxy S III by Samsung

Why settle for less when you can have MOAR
 
ajrty33
Old
#2  
ajrty33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 321
Posts: 593
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobiono View Post
Sorry if this question has been asked multiple times, I did try my best to find an answer on google and xda but no luck, so here I am

I have it set up and everything. Before i did it, i had 150 mb of total space, now I have 298 mb of total space but i read that people got up to 350+ of mb space, is there a way i can get mine up that high?
If you make your /system and /cache as small as you safely can, then your /data is what it is. The only way to get more space is decrease the /system size


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
"Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence." -Napoleon Bonaparte
The Following User Says Thank You to ajrty33 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Zin0
Old
#3  
Zin0's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 709
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mount Airy
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajrty33 View Post
If you make your /system and /cache as small as you safely can, then your /data is what it is. The only way to get more space is decrease the /system size


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Thank you how would i know what would be the smallest, safest amount that /system could be?


Sprint Galaxy S III by Samsung

Why settle for less when you can have MOAR
 
Drunkpilot
Old
#4  
Drunkpilot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 631
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport Beach, CA
E
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobiono View Post
Thank you how would i know what would be the smallest, safest amount that /system could be?
It really depends on which Rom you are running. For jaybob's 2.3.7 (TeamHeroc 30Nov) that I am using
I have my mtdpartmap at 105 2. I think this gives me data of 352 total. I have pulled some apk's out though and you will have some market issues unless you use s0be's market fix because the cache is set below 18. This is a gingerbread thing that didn't happen on froyo from what I can remember. You also need to use firerat's 1.5.8 (or above I guess for the 18mb cache to work without the market fix). You can check the size of the partitions by going into the terminal emulator and doing: df -h, of that doesn't work try busybox df -h. That way you can see what you need. If you go over the allotted system partition amount you will run into all kinds of issues. Leave some room if you like to change boot animations or anything else involving the system.


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Rom: (Jaybob's) TeamHeroC-7.2.0-RC1-22MAR2012
Governor: SmartAssV2 (352/710)
Baseband: 2.42.02.10.29
Keyboard: FlexT9 Text Input, SlideIT
FireRat's Partitions Mod: (MTD 105 2) with Sobe's Market Fix
Recovery: ClockWorkMod (Unofficial) 4.0.1.4 Orange Lantern
[COLOR="DarkOrange"]
The Following User Says Thank You to Drunkpilot For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Zin0
Old
#5  
Zin0's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 709
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mount Airy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drunkpilot View Post
E

It really depends on which Rom you are running. For jaybob's 2.3.7 (TeamHeroc 30Nov) that I am using
I have my mtdpartmap at 105 2. I think this gives me data of 352 total. I have pulled some apk's out though and you will have some market issues unless you use s0be's market fix because the cache is set below 18. This is a gingerbread thing that didn't happen on froyo from what I can remember. You also need to use firerat's 1.5.8 (or above I guess for the 18mb cache to work without the market fix). You can check the size of the partitions by going into the terminal emulator and doing: df -h, of that doesn't work try busybox df -h. That way you can see what you need. If you go over the allotted system partition amount you will run into all kinds of issues. Leave some room if you like to change boot animations or anything else involving the system.


Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Thank you very much for your assistance. My mtdpartmap is 160 2 , so i guess im good for now lol. I'll just switch Roms and evaluate the difference in internal mem. for myself. Right now im on Drew's something..(first Rom in my sig) so i'm probably maxed out already. Once again, thanks ( already used the thanks button lol)


Sprint Galaxy S III by Samsung

Why settle for less when you can have MOAR
 
permazorch
Old
#6  
permazorch's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Question Call me terminal newbie-noob

I'm looking for two things:
1) firerats v.1.5.8
2) easy to follow instructions for installation.

I also want to use firerats (have for a long, long, long time, but, I've been intimidated by the OP disclaimer and super-long thread), but I cannot find v.1.5.8.

I've gone through the links, and I'm just not seeing it.

(Folks, you gotta understand: I'm a fumbler and overcautious, and it's painful to ask for help.)

I love having my little hero rooted. I love the continuing work by AOSP, Dastin and Matt Crystal and innumberable others, it's great! I just don't have enough room for the apps I use. I wouldn't travel down this path if I didn't think I had to, so please lend an old fool your brain.

The best how-to I've come across (so far) is the ROMRepo:

http://romrepo.info/wiki/index.php?t...titions_(HeroC)
It takes me to v.1.5.6.

I just don't want to screw up.
Thanks in advance.
-p
It is sometimes very hard to tell the difference between history and the smell of skunk
The Following User Says Thank You to permazorch For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
permazorch
Old
(Last edited by permazorch; 12th April 2012 at 01:49 AM.)
#7  
permazorch's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Am I asking for too much? I don't mean to cause harm. If one would be so kind as to provide a link to v.1.5.8, I'd be grateful.

I know I'm a risky prospect for lending help to, but I won't hold it against anyone if things don't work out right.

Thanks for your consideration.

-p
It is sometimes very hard to tell the difference between history and the smell of skunk
 
laie1472
Old
#8  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 4,540
Join Date: Feb 2010
As far as instructions on how to use the mod just read the op then spend a little time reading the thread. Then make a nandroid and give it a go. Also you should have a copy of your current recovery on hand and adb installed on your pc.


#Root-Hack_Mod*Always\
 
Zin0
Old
#9  
Zin0's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 709
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mount Airy
Quote:
Originally Posted by permazorch View Post
I'm looking for two things:
1) firerats v.1.5.8
2) easy to follow instructions for installation.

I also want to use firerats (have for a long, long, long time, but, I've been intimidated by the OP disclaimer and super-long thread), but I cannot find v.1.5.8.

I've gone through the links, and I'm just not seeing it.

(Folks, you gotta understand: I'm a fumbler and overcautious, and it's painful to ask for help.)

I love having my little hero rooted. I love the continuing work by AOSP, Dastin and Matt Crystal and innumberable others, it's great! I just don't have enough room for the apps I use. I wouldn't travel down this path if I didn't think I had to, so please lend an old fool your brain.

The best how-to I've come across (so far) is the ROMRepo:

http://romrepo.info/wiki/index.php?t...titions_(HeroC)
It takes me to v.1.5.6.

I just don't want to screw up.
Thanks in advance.
-p
In case you didn't find it, http://www.mediafire.com/?lifib6a9ptj5j#1pcwmbdd9kqpc
Also, the instructions are on the OP of this thread

Personally, I would do Data2Ext. You get Gigs of int. mem. (Around 1 gig if you set your ext. size to 2048mb. Of course, the bigger your sdcard, the bigger you can make your partition.)


Sprint Galaxy S III by Samsung

Why settle for less when you can have MOAR

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes