Post Reply

[Q] No service after flashing to CleanGB, CWM 5.0.2.7 from 2.1 DI18

OP axelfox

10th April 2012, 04:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I thought this phone was on 2.3, but it was on 2.1 (or 2.2) DI18. I updated CWM to 5.0.2.7 and then flashed CleanGB MTD.

When I reboot, I cannot get service, and airplane mode switches really fast between on and off.

I believe it may be the modem, so I am trying to upgrade the modem from DI18 to EC05 so I can update to EL30. However, the current DI18 to ECO5 flashable zip I have is giving me an error (Status 7).

Aside from from the modem, any other thoughts on how to fix it?

Thanks.
10th April 2012, 05:17 AM   |  #2  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 8,929
 
13,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelfox

I thought this phone was on 2.3, but it was on 2.1 (or 2.2) DI18. I updated CWM to 5.0.2.7 and then flashed CleanGB MTD.

When I reboot, I cannot get service, and airplane mode switches really fast between on and off.

I believe it may be the modem, so I am trying to upgrade the modem from DI18 to EC05 so I can update to EL30. However, the current DI18 to ECO5 flashable zip I have is giving me an error (Status 7).

Aside from from the modem, any other thoughts on how to fix it?

Thanks.

You can just flash a modem through odin . I think the newest official tar is el30 so here it is : EL30 Modem.tar place this in the PDA box in odin make sure nothing but auto-reboot is checked and hit start. Make sure you have a trusty cable and not a stock one. You could also need to update your prl as well as your profile so do that wait a minute or so and reboot the phone. You can do this in the about phone section where it says updates or something similar.. i dont know cuz im on cm9

It could also be a bad download of CleanGb so you can always try redownloading and reflashing that.
Last edited by ‹BERô; 10th April 2012 at 05:19 AM.
10th April 2012, 05:41 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Goron

You can just flash a modem through odin . I think the newest official tar is el30 so here it is : EL30 Modem.tar place this in the PDA box in odin make sure nothing but auto-reboot is checked and hit start. Make sure you have a trusty cable and not a stock one. You could also need to update your prl as well as your profile so do that wait a minute or so and reboot the phone. You can do this in the about phone section where it says updates or something similar.. i dont know cuz im on cm9

It could also be a bad download of CleanGb so you can always try redownloading and reflashing that.

Thanks. Just flashed the modem through ODIN and the phone works now.
10th April 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #4  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 8,929
 
13,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelfox

Thanks. Just flashed the modem through ODIN and the phone works now.

Oh also why did you want android 2.3 bro we have 4.0.4 =]

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
10th April 2012, 12:47 PM   |  #5  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Flag Right behind you!
Thanks Meter: 26,556
 
28,378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Goron

Oh also why did you want android 2.3 bro we have 4.0.4 =]

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

I would say coming from Eclair, he might want to stick to official 2.3 Touchwiz for awhile rather than go to AOSP ROMs.
11th April 2012, 07:34 AM   |  #6  
Shinydude100's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 458
 
1,578 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hm
No matter what you choose to flash, I would of Odin'd the latest Official Tar, and then done a profile update, prl update, etc. THEN Flash the rom/poison of your choice. IF you do end up going to whatever MTD rom, there's an EL30 SD Temp flashable build on Epic CM9 Blog that can let you update your profile on MTD Roms that support kexec, which I think most, if not all, do by now. That way you can update your profile, prl, etc without having to Odin back. Glad to hear that a modem update fixed it!
14th April 2012, 01:22 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Goron

Oh also why did you want android 2.3 bro we have 4.0.4 =]

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

What do you recommend? I was looking at CM9, but it seems too unstable.
14th April 2012, 01:41 AM   |  #8  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 8,929
 
13,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelfox

What do you recommend? I was looking at CM9, but it seems too unstable.

Its not unstable at all its come a LONG way since alpha. I personally run aokp 31 with my samurai kernel because aokp has more options than cm9. But both are equal in stablilty =].

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cleangb, di18, eco5, mtd
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes