5,593,293 Members 33,265 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Bootloader Bypass] Kexec for Motorola RAZR by kholk & [mbm]

Tip us?
 
whirleyes
Old
#41  
whirleyes's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1820
Posts: 832
Join Date: Aug 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice hack!

but I have no gut to try it, caused my Razr got no leaked fastboot files.

XT909 : KAIZEN 0.1 - BMM 0.3.2
TF101 : PACman beta

- www.projectlense.com -
 
elamodelmerol
Old
#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 112
Join Date: Oct 2008
is there any chance this might be ported to the bionic?
 
3dak
Old
#43  
3dak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 209
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ang Mo Kio

 
DONATE TO ME
That's really an excited news. Thanks all you guys to make it happened.
Current Device:
Motorola RAZR XT910
Previous Devices:
HTC HD2
Motorola Q9
Motorola K1
Motorola RAZR V3xx
PHILIPS 9@9h
PHILIPS968
PHILIPS 755
SIEMENS 3568i
 
sevenup30
Old
#44  
sevenup30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 881
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montpellier

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for your work kholk!

I know you warned that it's only work on stockrom... but, i even try on eclipse (XT910 EU razr) and it works , i booted up on custom kernel and have to set governor to on-demand. Pretty smooth but battery life is poor, maybe because of only one core running.

Anyway great work and thanks!
 
maarawoe
Old
(Last edited by maarawoe; 16th April 2012 at 07:51 AM.)
#45  
maarawoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 845
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Prague
The battery life is poor due to lack of deep sleep when running the new kernel :(
Hope that kholk will polish it a bit more :)

Sent from a phone with a locked bootloader....
HTC One (ex XT910 D-WIZ), Nexus 7 Parandroid +Franco...
Why not to say thanks if you like this post? Hm?
 
isd88
Old
#46  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 68
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rome
my phone alredy lost sleep capability, i don t need kexec to do it

which kernel can we boot.with kexec right now? i hope not just the one kholk provided in the package
 
mydoom
Old
#47  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 182
Join Date: May 2008
Well done!

What a great Italy HERO kholk & [mbm] !
 
maarawoe
Old
#48  
maarawoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 845
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Prague
I just wondered - could anyone explain me why there is a possibility that the second core will never work? - what is the difference between running one or two cores from the kexec's point of view? what seems to be the complication?
 
sevenup30
Old
#49  
sevenup30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 758
Posts: 881
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montpellier

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maarawoe View Post
I just wondered - could anyone explain me why there is a possibility that the second core will never work? - what is the difference between running one or two cores from the kexec's point of view? what seems to be the complication?
if i recall, it's because the CPU made a check at boot with something like Efuse.
And with bypass it can't check so it's in safemode with only one core.

But kholk will be more clear than me
 
rob219
Old
#50  
rob219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: here and there

 
DONATE TO ME
how do i know if this is working forsure? this is the first time i have a phone without an unlockable boot loader.

---------- Post added at 01:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:51 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob219 View Post
how do i know if this is working forsure? this is the first time i have a phone without an unlockable boot loader.
im asking because i was curious and ran this on my atrix two while watching the video. everything went as it should but after the reboot my kernel isnt the same as in the video. so did it just not work?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes