Post Reply

[SOLVED] How do you port Armv7 Roms to an Armv6 Device?

OP Peteragent5

10th April 2012, 10:12 AM   |  #1  
Peteragent5's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1,981
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
So I try to get Galaxy S Roms ported to my Galaxy Gio.
Ex. Miui GB
But all I get is a blank screen that says android (it hangs).
I'm thinking it has something to do with framework or the libs that makes Armv7 not work on Armv6
Anyone with knowledge, please help

Thanks

----Edit-------
It's possible!!!!

After like, 5+ Months, I've figured it out.

Very special thanks to my friend dhk.- for shedding some light on me on how to port a Armv7 Rom to Armv6 shown HERE in his MIUI Port

Also very special thanks to my friend CoolCatGetHome for explaining this to me very brief that no one can understand LOL in this THREAD

Also thanks to nims11 who helped me a lot!
You need to add missing methods in framework. Logcat using DDMS
(P.M others for more info...)
Last edited by Peteragent5; 28th September 2012 at 12:14 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Peteragent5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2012, 12:13 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3,939
 
3,374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peteragent5

So I try to get Galaxy S Roms ported to my Galaxy Gio.
Ex. Miui GB
But all I get is a blank screen that says android (it hangs).
I'm thinking it has something to do with framework or the libs that makes Armv7 not work on Armv6
Anyone with knowledge, please help

Thanks

from my knowledge you can't armv7 bin and libs will not support armv6 device
10th April 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #3  
Peteragent5's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1,981
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cips gokhle

from my knowledge you can't armv7 bin and libs will not support armv6 device

Hmmmm.
Then could you explain how nims11 ported MIUI ICS from an Armv7 to Armv6 (Galaxy Ace)
And could you explain how kssood ported MIUI GB from an Armv7 to Armv6 (LG Optimus One)


I'm sure it's in the framework
Any help?
11th April 2012, 02:58 AM   |  #4  
dastin1015's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor
Flag Chula Vista, CA
Thanks Meter: 10,429
 
3,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peteragent5

Hmmmm.
Then could you explain how nims11 ported MIUI ICS from an Armv7 to Armv6 (Galaxy Ace)
And could you explain how kssood ported MIUI GB from an Armv7 to Armv6 (LG Optimus One)


I'm sure it's in the framework
Any help?

No. There are guides on XDA on how to port MIUI to other devices using any AOSP base.

私のEVO 3Dから送信される。
11th April 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #5  
Peteragent5's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1,981
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastin1015

No. There are guides on XDA on how to port MIUI to other devices using any AOSP base.

私のEVO 3Dから送信される。

Well MIUI was just an example.
I also tried to port Oxygen Rom from Galaxy S2 to my Galaxy Gio (Armv6)
Also HTC Sense to my Gio
But still black screen with android logo
sooooo does anyone know how to port armv7 to armv6? Please! I know lots of people did it! How???
11th April 2012, 04:27 AM   |  #6  
dastin1015's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor
Flag Chula Vista, CA
Thanks Meter: 10,429
 
3,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peteragent5

Well MIUI was just an example.
I also tried to port Oxygen Rom from Galaxy S2 to my Galaxy Gio (Armv6)
Also HTC Sense to my Gio
But still black screen with android logo
sooooo does anyone know how to port armv7 to armv6? Please! I know lots of people did it! How???

You're trying to go from one OEM to another. That is the hardest types of ports you can attempt. The difference in amount of RAM and ROM space is vast between the two phones and hardware has vastly changed.

私のEVO 3Dから送信される。
The Following User Says Thank You to dastin1015 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2012, 06:29 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3,939
 
3,374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peteragent5

Hmmmm.
Then could you explain how nims11 ported MIUI ICS from an Armv7 to Armv6 (Galaxy Ace)
And could you explain how kssood ported MIUI GB from an Armv7 to Armv6 (LG Optimus One)


I'm sure it's in the framework
Any help?

he used this guide to port miui
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post22953053

or this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1516660
Last edited by Ron G; 11th April 2012 at 05:02 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ron G For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2012, 01:34 AM   |  #8  
Peteragent5's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1,981
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cips gokhle

he used this guide to port miui
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post22953053

or this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1516660

Still not working. From Armv7 to Armv6.

I want SGS2 on my Galaxy Gio!!
16th April 2012, 12:08 PM   |  #9  
cepcamba's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
This thread is funny

You can't transform your Gio into an S2! And even if you manage to port SGS2 roms on your Gio performance will not be the same. You should try improving the performance of your Gio by porting ROMS specifically optimized for Gio.

like: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1381355
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cepcamba For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th May 2012, 05:22 AM   |  #10  
Peteragent5's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1,981
 
1,268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
It's possible!!!!

After like, 5+ Months, I've figured it out.

Very special thanks to my friend dhk.- for shedding some light on me on how to port a Armv7 Rom to Armv6 shown HERE in his MIUI Port

Also very special thanks to my friend CoolCatGetHome for explaining this to me very brief that no one can understand LOL in this THREAD

You need to replace smalis in framework.jar

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Peteragent5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android by ThreadRank