5,593,793 Members 44,637 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S Plus I9001 General

Tip us?
 
_strauch_
Old
#601  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 185
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhollard View Post
CM9 will have to be very good to get me to change from this.
The first alpha is very good, i think it needs only a little time and you will change, it runs very smooth, wlan works very good. GPS etc. too, only the camera....... I don't know how long the battery life is, but i will see.
 
Freaki81
Old
#602  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wolfsburg
Default [Q] How can i protect free RAM or dissable lags?

Hello,
i have Cranium RC9 on my phone, but im still dissatisfied.
It seems that the memory quite often get overload and this makes my phone very slow and lagy. After killing tasks/apps RAM get more free space and all is good.
This sucks. Did someone have the same problem, but more interessting is the question: "how can i make sure my phone is every time fast?"



Sorry for my bad english
 
tomsteel1
Old
#603  
tomsteel1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 303
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: HR 8938 Cephei
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freaki81 View Post
Hello,
i have Cranium RC9 on my phone, but im still dissatisfied.
It seems that the memory quite often get overload and this makes my phone very slow and lagy. After killing tasks/apps RAM get more free space and all is good.
This sucks. Did someone have the same problem, but more interessting is the question: "how can i make sure my phone is every time fast?"



Sorry for my bad english
We've always had this problem on this phone, We just dont have enough RAM for today's apps. All we can do is use better, More User Free RAM Kernels. Not all Kernels work with all ROMS though.

The only thing i think of you doing is Overclocking you're CPU, It will waste battery life a lot faster, But you're phone will be faster so.

Good Luck Getting More Ram!
 
zimmbadroid
Old
#604  
zimmbadroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 390
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vitez
Quote:
Hello,<br />
i have Cranium RC9 on my phone, but im still dissatisfied.<br />
It seems that the memory quite often get overload and this makes my phone very slow and lagy. After killing tasks/apps RAM get more free space and all is good.<br />
This sucks. Did someone have the same problem, but more interessting is the question: "how can i make sure my phone is every time fast?"<br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
<i>Sorry for my bad english</i>
Did you try Simplistic rom from Dutch.ly?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
Watch this video before posting in developers forum

If you`re planning to use free Dropbox hit the picture below and we both get 500 MB completely free

 
rayiskon
Old
#605  
rayiskon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1004
Posts: 1,797
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhollard View Post
I am running the value pack KQB with the Vitality kernel, InteractiveX and noop (not overclocked), H3llstorm's GPS fix config, WiFi Fixer and the official CWM from bashinx.

It's smooth, fast and stable. Has the best battery life I have ever had. No FC's. GPS fix from cold in 3 minutes and thereafter about 30 secs. Still some WiFi drops but seldom, WiFi gets strong signal and is fast. Only problem I have found is that the front facing camera gives upside down image in Google Hangouts.

CM9 will have to be very good to get me to change from this.

Perhaps I will move to broodROM proposed BE when it is released as I had a good experience with broodROM RC4
if the camera was working, cm9 would've been the best piece of software for our device GPS (from cold) locks in 2 seconds, to 7-8 satellites at least, furthermore, it even locks if u are not in the open, with samsung stock roms it seemed like the gps antenna on i9001 is very weak, i never could get a lock while i'm in the apartment (8th floor in a 10 floor building), i had to stick my hand out of the window and wait for a few minutes. with cm9 i get a lock within 5-10 seconds while i'm inside the apartment.
battery life? 1 day 13h still have 37% left, and i've used my phone a lot, watched youtube, surfed, read xda a lot, wifi always ON, few sms... the only hint for that is that u have to have a caliberated battery.
wifi shows lower signal than on stock roms (in terms of bars u see in the icon), but speed is not affected, so it might well be only visual.
RAM management is the killer part, i never got over 250 mb of used RAM, and i have all sort of apps running, whatsapp, viber, facebook,elixir... and all of them take it's share. with cm9 u get 370mb of free RAM (at least for now).
smoothness and very rare wake lag are also important factors that talk in cm9's favor.
there are still some bugs in cm9, no one is ignoring that, but in my opinion it's already (by far) better than stock, camera is the only limiting factor (and actually i usually use it quite frequently) , other than that KQB is no where in the rank of cm9
 
Freaki81
Old
#606  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wolfsburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomsteel1 View Post
We've always had this problem on this phone, We just dont have enough RAM for today's apps. All we can do is use better, More User Free RAM Kernels. Not all Kernels work with all ROMS though.

The only thing i think of you doing is Overclocking you're CPU, It will waste battery life a lot faster, But you're phone will be faster so.

Good Luck Getting More Ram!
I already use oc on my phone! 1,7 Ghz
No Changes.
 
peterhollard
Old
#607  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Yzerfontein
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayiskon View Post
if the camera was working, cm9 would've been the best piece of software for our device GPS (from cold) locks in 2 seconds, to 7-8 satellites at least, furthermore, it even locks if u are not in the open, with samsung stock roms it seemed like the gps antenna on i9001 is very weak, i never could get a lock while i'm in the apartment (8th floor in a 10 floor building), i had to stick my hand out of the window and wait for a few minutes. with cm9 i get a lock within 5-10 seconds while i'm inside the apartment.
battery life? 1 day 13h still have 37% left, and i've used my phone a lot, watched youtube, surfed, read xda a lot, wifi always ON, few sms... the only hint for that is that u have to have a caliberated battery.
wifi shows lower signal than on stock roms (in terms of bars u see in the icon), but speed is not affected, so it might well be only visual.
RAM management is the killer part, i never got over 250 mb of used RAM, and i have all sort of apps running, whatsapp, viber, facebook,elixir... and all of them take it's share. with cm9 u get 370mb of free RAM (at least for now).
smoothness and very rare wake lag are also important factors that talk in cm9's favor.
there are still some bugs in cm9, no one is ignoring that, but in my opinion it's already (by far) better than stock, camera is the only limiting factor (and actually i usually use it quite frequently) , other than that KQB is no where in the rank of cm9
Well that's a very positive review.... give me the camera and I'll give it a spin
 
Freaki81
Old
(Last edited by Freaki81; 16th April 2012 at 02:51 PM.)
#608  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wolfsburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimmbadroid View Post
Did you try Simplistic rom from Dutch.ly?

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
No, what can you tell me about this rom?
Do you have more free RAM?
i dont use realy much apps, but some how they start in the background and tortures my phone until i only have approx. 40 MB free.
This situation makes it slow.

---------- Post added at 03:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------

@rayiskon

I had no Camera on Cranium RC9 too.
MIUI Camera runs now on it and the camera opens very fast.
But im still not proud of this cam, its more like a lightsensor which try to create a picture
 
annqx
Old
(Last edited by annqx; 16th April 2012 at 03:57 PM.)
#609  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 193
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: mnster
Does anyone know what the Dialer is linked to? Only Phone.apk? Somehow I was able to mess that up.
Always get a notification "App is not installed" when I try to open Dialer through Launchericon.

Deleting Phone.apk and pushing it (unchanged) to system/app again doesnt work(even after reboot)
 
zimmbadroid
Old
#610  
zimmbadroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 390
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vitez
[QUOTE=Freaki81;24920538]No, what can you tell me about this rom?
Do you have more free RAM?
i dont use realy much apps, but some how they start in the background and tortures my phone until i only have approx. 40 MB free.
This situation makes it slow.[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 03:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------

Well, from the available custom rom for our devices, I had the best experience with Simplistic Plus 2.0.
No FCS, stable, fast, good battery life (2 days average) and so on and so on.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes