Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,101 Members 43,496 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Development] CyanogenMod porting

Tip us?
 
eBug
Old
#1661  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 320
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nail16 View Post
The Odin package also includes the same boot img
If you extract the file you'll find it there

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
It doesn't, that's why I'm puzzled. Here's the content of Boot_loader.tar:

Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          875040 2011-04-25 13:41 osbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0           29184 2011-04-25 12:56 partition.bin
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          219560 2011-04-25 13:41 dbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          559676 2011-04-25 13:02 EMMCBOOT.MBN
No such thing as boot.img
 
wintel_mac
Old
#1662  
wintel_mac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 452
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Nuremberg

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug View Post
It doesn't, that's why I'm puzzled. Here's the content of Boot_loader.tar:

Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          875040 2011-04-25 13:41 osbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0           29184 2011-04-25 12:56 partition.bin
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          219560 2011-04-25 13:41 dbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          559676 2011-04-25 13:02 EMMCBOOT.MBN
No such thing as boot.img
These are the essential things that get started when you switch on your phone. These files then start the kernel (boot.img). So if you mess with these files and want to flash them with DD - just go ahead. But as I don't think anybody ever tried this and can tell you which file goes on which partition on your phone, your risk of a permanent hard brick is VERY high.
Current Device: Google Galaxy Nexus GSM i9250, SlimKat 4.4.2 / Mpokang Kernel v10

Siemens A50 -> Siemens M65 -> Sony Ericsson Z710i -> Sony Ericsson W595 -> HTC Desire (SLCD) -> Palm Pre (Minus) -> Samsung Galaxy S Plus (GT-I9001) -> Huawei Honor U8860 (returned b.c. of bad touchscreen) -> Samsung Galaxy S Plus (GT-I9001) -> Google Galaxy Nexus

 
rayiskon
Old
#1663  
rayiskon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1143
Posts: 1,908
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by annoymous1234 View Post
may i know what is your display time?
it doesn't show the actual %, but u can deduce it from the second picture..

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellermanv View Post
And what's wrong with the cpu and sound drivers ? i don't get it.
sound drivers are ok, i'm talking about the new cpu scaling.
 
chasemyass
Old
#1664  
chasemyass's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 406
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brasov
About the vibra...you know what's funny? That my haptic feedback from exDialer for example is stronger than the one when someone is calling me...
This is my battery drain


Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-6
Don`t say thanx, hit Thanx button

Pentru cei care vor si un loc unde sa discutam pe limba noastra, join AICI
Fav. quote: Where logic ends, starts Romania...
My phones:
Samsung GT-I9001 - sold
Sony Ericsson Xperia Neo - sold
Acer S500 CloudMobile - sold
TCL Idol X - sold
Jiayu G5 Advanced
 
nail16
Old
(Last edited by nail16; 16th April 2012 at 07:09 PM.)
#1665  
nail16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 766
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by eBug View Post
It doesn't, that's why I'm puzzled. Here's the content of Boot_loader.tar:

Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          875040 2011-04-25 13:41 osbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0           29184 2011-04-25 12:56 partition.bin
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          219560 2011-04-25 13:41 dbl.mbn
-rwxr-xr-x 0/0          559676 2011-04-25 13:02 EMMCBOOT.MBN
No such thing as boot.img
Yes as Wintel_Mac mentioned these files are used to start the flashing process,
so before proceeding with the flashing the phone dds zeros to the partitions.
similar to what we do using terminal.
so the boot loader doesn't have the actual img file only some some files which do the cleaning up.

if you know how to make an odin flashable file you'll notice that you will have to include the same files in you'r tarball
 
shahbaz5588
Old
(Last edited by shahbaz5588; 16th April 2012 at 07:33 PM.)
#1666  
shahbaz5588's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasemyass View Post
About the vibra...you know what's funny? That my haptic feedback from exDialer for example is stronger than the one when someone is calling me...

Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-6
hmmm interesting... can someone test the vibration in the app ViBe (or something similar) and actually test it out further... just to check if there is a similar occurrence as described above

Link to the the ViBe app:
(https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cHMudmliZXMiXQ..)

p.s. i would have tested it myself, but currently i don't have CM9 installed on my sgs+
- HTC G1 (EzGingerbread)
- ASUS Eee Pad Transformer TF101 ICS (currently not rooted)
- Samsung Galaxy Tab 7 P1010 Wifi (rooted 2.3.6)
- Samsung Galaxy S Plus (I9001) running CM9 Build 7 (Arco)
- Samsung Galaxy SIII (stock)
- Nexus 7 (stock)

If G1 can handle Gingerbread after so many years on its dated hardware (it can also boot ICS as a matter of fact, its slow n buggy but still)... then any new smartphone can handle better
 
seba2121
Old
#1667  
seba2121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 280
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Koszalin
Vibe is not compatible with our smartphone

Sorry for my english.

Napisane z SGS+ Brood RC4
LG Optimus/Swift G E975
Rom - Official CM11
Kernel - 3.4.75 Solid (3D 533MHz CPU 384MHz - 1836MHz)
If i help you click "Thanks"
The Following User Says Thank You to seba2121 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rayiskon
Old
#1668  
rayiskon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1143
Posts: 1,908
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shahbaz5588 View Post
hmmm interesting... can someone test the vibration in the app ViBe and actually test it out further... just to check if there is a similar occurrence as described above

Link to the the ViBe app:
(https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cHMudmliZXMiXQ..)

p.s. i would have tested it myself, but currently i don't have CM9 installed on my sgs+
Quote:
Originally Posted by seba2121 View Post
Vibe is not compatible with our smartphone

Sorry for my english.

Napisane z SGS+ Brood RC4
installed it now, u can feel the different vibrations, but it's soft, i mean, it's been already said that the vibration level is a bit weak on cm9.

Another appeal to arco, plz revert what u did to the cpu in boot1.zip, wake lag is present, even when the phone is on charge
 
kellermanv
Old
#1669  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 294
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tîrgu Mureş
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayiskon View Post

Another appeal to arco, plz revert what u did to the cpu in boot1.zip, wake lag is present, even when the phone is on charge
WHAT is wrong ? i see no difference. Wake lag is present with every rom/kernel for this phone.

I don't get it, explain what's wrong with the cpu change.
 
Harrocan
Old
#1670  
Harrocan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 292
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pruszków
Vibration is very weak.. are almost undetectable...

Tags
4.0.4, arco, arco&sky=sgs+ dreamteam, arco-fangroup, arco68 rules, badger badger badger mushroom, best in the world, cm7, cm9, cm9 by arco68, cm9 for sgs+, cyanogenmod, each new tag represents a justin bieber fan, i want to add a tag, ics, ics mods, ics recovery, king arco, king of spam thread, make camera working ;d, manbearpig, we love arco
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes