Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,298 Members 42,589 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] [ICS] Android Open Kang Project - captivatemtd - Milestone 6

Tip us?
 
TRusselo
Old
#1061  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2757
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
either miui hasnt gotten in crap yet. or its because its based out of china... (good luck with legal action).

and with all the un-official ports, its hard to go after all the small devs.
 
grndnl
Old
#1062  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 214
Join Date: Jun 2011
wow this is super interesting, thanks.

---------- Post added at 09:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 PM ----------

hey so i am having trouble downloading apps frmo the market on b32. I get "error 921". already tried clearing cache. what should i try?

Thanks..
 
shaker2k
Old
#1063  
shaker2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 561
Posts: 1,258
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: winnipeg,mb
Quote:
Originally Posted by grndnl View Post
wow this is super interesting, thanks.

---------- Post added at 09:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 PM ----------

hey so i am having trouble downloading apps frmo the market on b32. I get "error 921". already tried clearing cache. what should i try?

Thanks..
Did you clear data ?

Sent from my SGH-I897 using xda premium
Nexus 5
Nexus 10
Galaxy s 3
 
sixstringsg
Old
#1064  
sixstringsg's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 7006
Posts: 5,168
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo View Post
perfect explanation.

so where do they expect end users to legally get the market? (agree on the gross play)
they expect you to use stock firmware with it built in. But again, as we've seen they aren't do any thing about anyone distributing it, outside a ROM, even though they have every right to do so.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dohboy15 View Post
How is it possible that Miui can have Gapps in it? Are they a Tier 1 partner?
Like TRusello said. They aren't near as centralized as CM is. It would be like trying to go after every developer on XDA that posts any ROM with gapps included. Its not just AOSP, but anything Samsung based too. Also, its not in Google's best interest to track down every TOS violation. It would have been a PR nightmare if they had actually sued CM anyway. CM cooperated and did as they asked.
Don't like my answer? Whatch this or read this
Are you a dev still using mediafire or dropbox for hosting? PM me up and we'll get that fixed.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sixstringsg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dohboy15
Old
#1065  
dohboy15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 255
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixstringsg View Post
they expect you to use stock firmware with it built in. But again, as we've seen they aren't do any thing about anyone distributing it, outside a ROM, even though they have every right to do so.



Like TRusello said. They aren't near as centralized as CM is. It would be like trying to go after every developer on XDA that posts any ROM with gapps included. Its not just AOSP, but anything Samsung based too. Also, its not in Google's best interest to track down every TOS violation. It would have been a PR nightmare if they had actually sued CM anyway. CM cooperated and did as they asked.
Make perfect sense haha, thanks!

Sent from my Rogers Captivate running CM9 Nightly
HTC One - ViperONE
Nexus 7 2013 - CM/Paranoid Android
 
TRusselo
Old
(Last edited by TRusselo; 18th April 2012 at 02:14 AM.)
#1066  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2757
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
just tried to send an MMS video clip. 1.08 MB 1,138,068 byte Mp4

MMS > Attach > Video > Galery or file explorer > !! Message size limit reached. You cant add thid video to your message.


just tried with a 3 second camera clip, 200kb still no go. bug.
 
M973
Old
(Last edited by M973; 18th April 2012 at 02:37 AM.)
#1067  
M973's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 463
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo View Post
just tried to send an MMS video clip. 1.08 MB 1,138,068 byte Mp4

MMS > Attach > Video > Galery or file explorer > !! Message size limit reached. You cant add thid video to your message.


just tried with a 3 second camera clip, 200kb still no go. bug.
I hadn't tried sending an MMS yet, but seeing the same. I'm still on b30 take 2 (also only get that message with video attachment)
 
TRusselo
Old
#1068  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2757
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
wonder if its related to the camera crashing when you choose attach "take video with camera"
 
bigblue95z
Old
#1069  
bigblue95z's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 397
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Decatur, IL
After coming from Apex 9.x, I flashed Icy Glitch to get the update CWM, flashed the latest CM9, full wipe, aokp. All went OK, but I'm getting no service. Baseband is listed as unknown? Not sure where I went wrong.
LG Nexus 5
Purity running on ART

Loki'd AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
Rooted with Motochopper

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1
 
RCDuke
Old
#1070  
RCDuke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigblue95z View Post
After coming from Apex 9.x, I flashed Icy Glitch to get the update CWM, flashed the latest CM9, full wipe, aokp. All went OK, but I'm getting no service. Baseband is listed as unknown? Not sure where I went wrong.
Hmm... sounds like the modem is missing. I believe you can flash CM7 modems. I'm running the i9000 KP1 modem and it works well.
Current : LG Nexus 4 [mako]: RastaKat 12-02-13, Trinity TF2 Kernel | ASUS Nexus 7 [flo]: AOKP Unofficial 10-16-13
Previous : Samsung Captivate [captivatemtd]: SlimBean 4.2.2 B3, Semaphore 2.9.18sc Kernel SOLD!
INFO: Nexus 4 - Want to use a 4.3 kernel on a 4.4 KitKat ROM? Go here!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes