APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[App] IVONA Speech Engine

OP CCallahan

18th April 2012, 05:10 PM   |  #1  
CCallahan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rock Chalk
Thanks Meter: 688
 
1,971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Just an FYI to anyone that has thought about using SVOX but didn't want to pay for the voices. Or, if you use navigation/voice readout on your phone but don't like the standard Android voice.

IVONA speech engine is similar to SVOX but having used both, I think IVONA sounds better. Currently it is in beta and it can be had free from Google Play and the voices are also free.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...vona.tts&hl=en

The beta seems to work very well. Only bad thing is when downloading the voices it can take around 10min even on WiFi (guessing their server connections are not the greatest).

Not sure how long the beta will last so check it out while you can.
The Following User Says Thank You to CCallahan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2012, 05:21 PM   |  #2  
cornelious2's Avatar
Senior Member
Saint Chuck
Thanks Meter: 170
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
Using ivona on rooted stock causes my ringer to not work so have someone call you to make sure thats not happening to you.

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk 2
18th April 2012, 05:43 PM   |  #3  
CCallahan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rock Chalk
Thanks Meter: 688
 
1,971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornelious2

Using ivona on rooted stock causes my ringer to not work so have someone call you to make sure thats not happening to you.

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk 2

My ringer seems to be working. I'm using the voice readout/ringer option for my calls and running rooted/unlocked stock. One thing that bothers me is when reading out a phone number that is not named in my contacts it reads it like a regular number (using the stock selection in settings). However, I set that to ring only and downloaded talking caller id from Play and it works fine that way.
Last edited by CCallahan; 18th April 2012 at 05:48 PM.
18th April 2012, 08:08 PM   |  #4  
cornelious2's Avatar
Senior Member
Saint Chuck
Thanks Meter: 170
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
Yea, I think my issue started when I switched from kendra to amy. The voices are awesome, just something to be careful about if a missed call becomes the end of the world.

Sent from my MB855 using Tapatalk 2
25th May 2012, 11:47 AM   |  #5  
Uh60m Pilot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 175
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I had this problem too. I noticed that I lost my ringer when I selected "always use my setting". I turned off that setting and got my ringer back.

Sent from my MB855 using XDA
25th May 2012, 03:34 PM   |  #6  
cornelious2's Avatar
Senior Member
Saint Chuck
Thanks Meter: 170
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
I found after having this issue any time I selected a British voice on any text to speech engine it happened. sucks because they sound way better.


Sent from my mopho
27th May 2012, 10:02 PM   |  #7  
Uh60m Pilot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 175
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I unlocked my phone this weekend and am now running HomeBase Photon without blur. I installed ivona voice and have not had an issue with my ringtone. I am wondering if the issue has anything to do with motoblur.

Sent from my MB855 using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes