Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,428 Members 47,494 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How to]Root your .629

Tip us?
 
ravenhr
Old
(Last edited by ravenhr; 18th April 2012 at 03:00 PM.)
#11  
ravenhr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Zagreb
Quote:
Originally Posted by zyy757 View Post
I didn't met this problem before. .Did you tried reboot your device?

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using xda premium
Yes, no help from it... still the same problem.

UPDATE: For all with some sort of problems (!), blindly follow guide from link, for RESTORING device... apply 608, apply repacked 629, (IMPORTANT) full wipe in recovery, root, unroot, flash update, re-root. Works like a charm, all radios are full to go!
The Following User Says Thank You to ravenhr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
landonotis
Old
(Last edited by landonotis; 19th April 2012 at 12:22 AM.)
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 37
Join Date: Mar 2011
Any roms work with this? I tried cm7 and got stuck at red m screen. Had to start all over. Anyone have sucess with a rom after on rooted 629?

Edit: cm9 worked after using droid 2 bootstrap.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to landonotis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zyy757
Old
#13  
zyy757's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 128
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guangdong,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenhr View Post
Yes, no help from it... still the same problem.

UPDATE: For all with some sort of problems (!), blindly follow guide from link, for RESTORING device... apply 608, apply repacked 629, (IMPORTANT) full wipe in recovery, root, unroot, flash update, re-root. Works like a charm, all radios are full to go!
Thanks alot

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using xda premium

If my advice is helpful to you, HIT the THANKS button please
 
ravenhr
Old
#14  
ravenhr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Zagreb
Now, rooted, I'm finally able to delete all those stupid Verizon bloatware (I'm not on Verizon, even more, I CAN'T use Verizon, I'm not in U.S.!) - got around 10-15% on speed (some things apparently are in startup and slowing the phone down).

Other thing, before this update, I had some minor and occasional problems with touch - like ghosts or something, after unlocking touch started to do weird stuff, opening apps by it-self, moving icons across the screen - no more, it works great (for now). This might be because of fresh and full install and wipe (yes, it's a hassle to do it, to install all apps again, set them up... but, it's kinda good solution...).
 
zyy757
Old
#15  
zyy757's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 128
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guangdong,China
Enjoy yourself

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using xda premium

If my advice is helpful to you, HIT the THANKS button please
 
weelcup
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2007
wawooo great

my d2g unbricked now many thank . and rooted now , coud i install custom rom ?????
 
zyy757
Old
#17  
zyy757's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 128
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guangdong,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelcup View Post
wawooo great

my d2g unbricked now many thank . and rooted now , coud i install custom rom ?????
Not sure, but I hear that cm9 is OK

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using xda premium

If my advice is helpful to you, HIT the THANKS button please
 
sd_shadow
Old
#18  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1207
Posts: 3,311
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelcup View Post
wawooo great

my d2g unbricked now many thank . and rooted now , coud i install custom rom ?????
read post 12

if you find a rom that works, let us know
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
RGBubba34
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2011
So this is confirmes to work to regain root on a phone that is not bricked? My wife has a D2g.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
 
zyy757
Old
#20  
zyy757's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 128
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guangdong,China
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGBubba34 View Post
So this is confirmes to work to regain root on a phone that is not bricked? My wife has a D2g.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
sure. it work

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using xda premium

If my advice is helpful to you, HIT the THANKS button please

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes