5,594,564 Members 33,058 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Resetting CM9 nightly to "factory" condition

Tip us?
 
Cyber Akuma
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 183
Join Date: May 2008
Unhappy [Q] Resetting CM9 nightly to "factory" condition

I installed the latest CM9 nightly, and so far everything was more or less running smoothly... but I didn't realize the 50+ apps on SD bug was still present. No matter what I tired, I Was not able to do anything about this annoying mess. So I just chose to do a factory reset, then rebooted into webos and deleted everything in .android_secure.

However, when I booted back into Android, I found out that NOTHING got reset. All my settings, internal memory apps, etc are still there!

Is there any way to do a complete reset on CM9 and put it in a state as if I had just freshly installed it short of literally uninstalling and reinstalling it?
 
cdzo72
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 2,532
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heredia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Akuma View Post
I installed the latest CM9 nightly, and so far everything was more or less running smoothly... but I didn't realize the 50+ apps on SD bug was still present. No matter what I tired, I Was not able to do anything about this annoying mess. So I just chose to do a factory reset, then rebooted into webos and deleted everything in .android_secure.

However, when I booted back into Android, I found out that NOTHING got reset. All my settings, internal memory apps, etc are still there!

Is there any way to do a complete reset on CM9 and put it in a state as if I had just freshly installed it short of literally uninstalling and reinstalling it?
Aall, you have to do is a factory reset in clockwork mod....
 
HP TouchPad 32gb
Unofficial CM10.1

Samsung Galaxy S IV i9505 - Omega ROM v19 ML6
Talexop Kernel v1.3
Viper4Android Audio
3minit .5 4.3 Framework
 
rockynewsmaster
Old
#3  
rockynewsmaster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Jackson
You will also have to finish off the 3 finger method by wiping cache and dalvik cache, that should do it

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using xda premium
Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rockynewsmaster For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cyber Akuma
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 183
Join Date: May 2008
Choosing "Reboot into Recovery" just reboots back into moboot, not clockwork. Pressing power+volup also sends me into WebOS recovery. There is no clockwork or android recovery option in moboot.

I don't see a way to enter clockwork.
 
jsgraphicart
Old
#5  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1229
Posts: 4,463
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Akuma View Post
Choosing "Reboot into Recovery" just reboots back into moboot, not clockwork. Pressing power+volup also sends me into WebOS recovery. There is no clockwork or android recovery option in moboot.

I don't see a way to enter clockwork.
If you dont see the option for clockworkmod in moboot, then it didnt install when you did the instal process. Most likely (because I think a lot of people are doing this) you downloaded the wrong Clockwork Recovery. You probably downloaded one that was named "recovery-tenderloin......" or something like that. You need the one that startes with "update......" I dont know the actual names. But when you get it, you can just use ACMEinstaller again, just like you did before to install it.
The Following User Says Thank You to jsgraphicart For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cyber Akuma
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 183
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsgraphicart View Post
If you dont see the option for clockworkmod in moboot, then it didnt install when you did the instal process. Most likely (because I think a lot of people are doing this) you downloaded the wrong Clockwork Recovery. You probably downloaded one that was named "recovery-tenderloin......" or something like that. You need the one that startes with "update......" I dont know the actual names. But when you get it, you can just use ACMEinstaller again, just like you did before to install it.
I was wondering why the ACMEInstaller2 deleted all the other zips but left the Clockwork one in the cminstall folder.

So is it safe to run the ACMEInstaller2 with only the clockword zip in the cminstall folder? It won't mess up anything else or complain that the CM file is missing? Or do I need to do an uninstall and reinstall again?

By the way, I have been meaning to ask. I know that the "sd card" is internal memory that both WebOS and Android share as a media folder, but if I choose to reformat/reset the SD card from within Android, will that delete anything from WebOS? I know it won't mess with WebOS itself or it's settings, but would it remove any of the music, videos, downloaded files, or anything else that was put there through WebOS? I don't know if deleting the contents of the .android_secure folder were enough to "reset" my CM9 install, or at least anything it put on the SD card. Is there a way to just delete anything only Android/CM9 put on the SD card partition and not anything WebOS or it's apps put there?
 
jsgraphicart
Old
#7  
jsgraphicart's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1229
Posts: 4,463
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber Akuma View Post
I was wondering why the ACMEInstaller2 deleted all the other zips but left the Clockwork one in the cminstall folder.

So is it safe to run the ACMEInstaller2 with only the clockword zip in the cminstall folder? It won't mess up anything else or complain that the CM file is missing? Or do I need to do an uninstall and reinstall again?

By the way, I have been meaning to ask. I know that the "sd card" is internal memory that both WebOS and Android share as a media folder, but if I choose to reformat/reset the SD card from within Android, will that delete anything from WebOS? I know it won't mess with WebOS itself or it's settings, but would it remove any of the music, videos, downloaded files, or anything else that was put there through WebOS? I don't know if deleting the contents of the .android_secure folder were enough to "reset" my CM9 install, or at least anything it put on the SD card. Is there a way to just delete anything only Android/CM9 put on the SD card partition and not anything WebOS or it's apps put there?
It left clockwork mod there because it didnt install. It installed everything else. Delete the old one you had in your cminstall folder and put the new one there and just run ACMEinstaller like you did before. You dont need to have the other stuff in the folder. Just the clockwork mod. You will be fine. Once its done you should see Clockwork Mod in moboot.

As far as the sd card, yes, anything you delete in Android on the sd card will be deleted on webOS as well and visa versa. What are you wanting to "reset"? You can do a factory reset after you get clockwork mod on there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...