Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Taking a Archos 101 apart ?

OP BorgCymru

18th April 2012, 04:30 AM   |  #1  
BorgCymru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Aberystwyth
Thanks Meter: 13
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Does anyone know any 'How To' on taking one apart please

I've undone the 6 screws I can see but I can not get the case apart.

Thanks
18th April 2012, 10:15 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 644
 
1,274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BorgCymru

Does anyone know any 'How To' on taking one apart please

I've undone the 6 screws I can see but I can not get the case apart.

So i guess you're speaking of the A101H...
Apart from the screws, the housing is held together with many plastic clamps.
You'll have to seperate the parts carefully and step by step with a sharp screwdriver, putty knive or plectrum.
In fact it's not that easy...
There'd been two guys at least who replaced their HDD on these devices.
Use the search button and ask them for help!

Here's another thread with high-res pix
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1449438

Good luck!

scholbert
18th April 2012, 01:51 PM   |  #3  
BorgCymru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Aberystwyth
Thanks Meter: 13
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
No idea box just says 101

Seen that thread, doesn't show the case begin taken apart, hand for inside though thanks.

I'm trying to change a screen
18th April 2012, 11:01 PM   |  #4  
BorgCymru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Aberystwyth
Thanks Meter: 13
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Forget that. I'm going to sell it as spares. Seems hard work changing a screen.
19th April 2012, 10:36 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 644
 
1,274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BorgCymru

Forget that. I'm going to sell it as spares. Seems hard work changing a screen.

Maybe that's the better idea... it might be not that hard to change the screen, but even harder to find a new one for the G9

Have a nice day!

scholbert
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes