Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problem with fixing GPS on Wildfire & CM 7

OP Worldplayer

14th August 2011, 04:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Hi i have the typical problems with GPS on the CM7-Rom and yeah i know there are some threads who asked for the same problem....
i think i check all threads but still can't find a solution for my problem

my last try to fix the gps i used this thread because a lot of people said it works: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1579

... but after typing the 2nd command ( # dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 ) in the terminal i got an error! you can see the error in the picture below

Can you tell me how to solve the problem or even tell me a better solution to fix the gps problem

Worldplayer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snap20110814_155230.png
Views:	182
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	688486  
14th August 2011, 04:56 PM   |  #2  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
3,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Reflash the radio. It can be found here:
http://rom.tat.tw/wildfire/wildpuzzl...3.35.19.25.zip
The Following User Says Thank You to 3xeno For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2011, 05:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Question [Q] Problem with fixing GPS on Wildfire & CM 7
hmm thank you for your answer i tried to install zip from sdcard but it doesn't work

by installing the zip it says:

Code:
hmm thank you for your answer i tried to install zip from sdcard but it doesn't work :confused:

by installing the zip it says:

Installing upadates...
Amend scripting (update-script) is no longer supported.
Amend scripting was deprecated by Google in Android 1.5
It was necessary to remove it when upgrading to the ClockworkMod 3.0 Gingerbread based recovery.
Please switch to Edify scripting (updater-script and update-binary) to create working update zip packages.
Installation aborted.
14th August 2011, 05:51 PM   |  #4  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
3,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
It needs Clockworkmod 2.x. Flash this file first using your existing Clockworkmod 3.x/4.x, this will give you temporary 2.5, then flash the Radio file.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...3&d=1311319218

Remember to have sufficient battery charge, and not interrupt the radio flashing process.
The Following User Says Thank You to 3xeno For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2011, 07:32 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Dont every type "dd" into a phone, it could go badly wrong. That fix is for a different phone, the important point is that you need to reset the cached GPS data. A factory reset would do that, but flashing the radio is not going to, you may as well just turn off the phone for a few minutes before restarting.( try it, it would be great if I was right).

There seem to be some problems with running GPS wrappers on Gingerbread if this sample of code from AOSP is any example:

(hardware/gpsshim/gps.c)

static void cleanup_wrapper() {
/* Cleanup is killing something that prevents further starts.
* Skip it for now :\ */
//originalGpsInterface->cleanup();
}
14th August 2011, 07:45 PM   |  #6  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
3,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexameron

Dont every type "dd" into a phone, it could go badly wrong. That fix is for a different phone, the important point is that you need to reset the cached GPS data. A factory reset would do that, but flashing the radio is not going to, you may as well just turn off the phone for a few minutes before restarting.( try it, it would be great if I was right).

There seem to be some problems with running GPS wrappers on Gingerbread if this sample of code from AOSP is any example:

(hardware/gpsshim/gps.c)

static void cleanup_wrapper() {
/* Cleanup is killing something that prevents further starts.
* Skip it for now :\ */
//originalGpsInterface->cleanup();
}

Actually, reflashing the radio does reset it. I am obviously not as technically inclined as you are, but, this is the fix I (and many others) have been using over so many months,. (Another alternative is to keep GPS switched on on your previous ROM, then flash the ROM, this also works)
14th August 2011, 07:59 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Thumbs up [Q] Problem with fixing GPS on Wildfire & CM 7
Hey thank you very much 3xeno it worked perfect
15th August 2011, 12:27 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I know that flashing the radio fixes the problem but it shouldn`t work, unless the wildfire is storing position data in the radio. Perhaps it is, because otherwise flashing the radio would do nothing more than a cold restart.

The alternative fix seems a lot harder :

1>Backup your ROM, then flash a ROM where GPS did work, activate GPS and start any GPS app (like Google maps).

2>Let it get a fix on your position and wait for a few minutes. Then restore your ROM...did the trick for me. Of course don't forget wipe and factory reset in-between.

Part 2 is unnecessary, because you have already fixed the GPS by flashing a ROM, so I am assuming that the factory reset is important.
18th April 2012, 11:53 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
yes it works finely!!
excuse me my bad english but i'll ansre with french :
Remplacer rom radio pour activer GPS sur HTC wildfire :
1-allumer le telephone.
2- activer rommanager > installer(recovery clockworkmod 2.5.0.7) >(fichier=update1.zip)
Site de telechargement recovery clockworkmod 2.5.0.7 :
http://dl.xda-developers.com/attachd.../3/update1.zip
site telechargement rom radio 3.35.19.25.zip :
http://www.phonandroid.com/forum/col...re-t10021.html
http://cmw.22aaf3.com/buzz/radio/
http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/HTC...port_Downloads
3-restore from SDcard d’une backup
4-rommanager+install upate1.zip une deuscieme fois pour pouvoir installer radio 3.35.20.10
5-autre restore from SDcard d’une backup
6-Enjoy!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes