FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[Q] How To properly Root/Flash

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By YogurtSlinger, Junior Member on 18th April 2012, 11:00 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
How to properly root/flash a captivate any guides out there i have looked and looked on how to do it but none of them show how to do it and also if im on stock rooted/flashed captivate can i just load ICS AOKP with a custom rom
 
 
18th April 2012, 11:48 PM |#2  
cmilldrummin's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
What stock ROM are you currently running?

Sent from my glitched ICS Captivate using XDA App
19th April 2012, 12:30 AM |#3  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 535
 
More
I think there's a guide in my sig... Lol I can't remember if I put it there or not

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate
19th April 2012, 03:46 AM |#4  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 2,486
 
Donate to Me
More
OP,
Read Sticky Threads...

Sent by XDA Premium App
19th April 2012, 04:57 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag San Benito Texas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4-2ndtwin

OP,
Read Sticky Threads...

Sent by XDA Premium App

Yes i have looked and looked none of them really really help me in my search they just tell me stuff that i dont get im not new to this stuff jsut the help is confusing
19th April 2012, 05:22 AM |#6  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 2,486
 
Donate to Me
More
Click on my "Helpful Links" signature below. Then see the Guides and Root (How to). That's about as easy as it is gonna get, apart from someone taking ur phone and doin it for ya.
Last edited by 4-2ndtwin; 19th April 2012 at 05:25 AM.
19th April 2012, 02:20 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Guide of Guides
I just went through the process of rooting and roming for the first time and wrote this up for a buddy of mine interested in doing the same. The fact that this is the first time I've done this should be a bit of a warning though. Still, it worked for me.

Here's basically what I did. You might want to read through them all before starting.
  1. Backup manually by mounting your phone to your computer and copying everything you care about
  2. Root
    1. I used this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1444382
    2. From a Mac, I think you can do the same, but flash with Heimdall instead of Odin
  3. Now that you have root, get Titanium Backup from the Market and backup
    1. This is an awesome app, you can also use it to remove the AT&T bloatware, which will really improve your phone
  4. Install ClockworkMod (aka, CWM)
    1. Flash this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...7&d=1302623831
  5. Follow ROM instructions
    1. I used Slim ICS: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1517486
    2. Download and install instructions on the web site: http://www.slimroms.com/
      1. Grab a nightly CM9 ROM for that: http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?device=captivatemtd
Last edited by objectuser; 19th April 2012 at 02:25 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to objectuser For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 09:49 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Flag San Benito Texas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
any other help?
19th April 2012, 10:47 PM |#9  
cmilldrummin's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Again what stock ROM are you on?

Sent from my glitched ICS Captivate using XDA App
19th April 2012, 11:37 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YogurtSlinger

any other help?

Were the instructions I posted not helpful? I thought they were very clear ... not necessarily my steps, but the content in the links.

If you're not understanding one or more of the steps, which ones?
19th April 2012, 11:39 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Flag San Benito Texas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmilldrummin

Again what stock ROM are you on?

Sent from my glitched ICS Captivate using XDA App

im going to be useing designgear to go back to stock froyo....

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes