Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 38,968 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Headphones with controls?

Tip us?
 
mike96789
Old
#1  
mike96789's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 246
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Honolulu
Default Headphones with controls?

Doors anyone have wired headphones that have the volume and next track controls on them? If so what kind are they? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
Current Device: SAMSUNG GALAXY S3
- Running Stock JB - Rooted

PAST DEVICES: Motorola Cliq / T-Mobile G2 / HTC Amaze 4G
 
Bronyr
Old
#2  
Bronyr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 641
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: DroidDen
The headset (earset that comes with the phone has all controls. But I think it sucks royally as the earbuds are horrible, even for my somewhat larger than average ears. I'm kinda looking for alternative myself.
OnePlus
Find 7a X9006
Nexus 5
___________
Rom junkie
___________________________________
From goo to you via way of the zoo
 
Bdix
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 178
Join Date: Dec 2010
I took Apple ear buds and fitted ear plugs on them. They works great you can't hear a thing with them in....only the music.... Oh yea

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
 
mike96789
Old
#4  
mike96789's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 246
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Honolulu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bdix View Post
I took Apple ear buds and fitted ear plugs on them. They works great you can't hear a thing with them in....only the music.... Oh yea

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
Current Device: SAMSUNG GALAXY S3
- Running Stock JB - Rooted

PAST DEVICES: Motorola Cliq / T-Mobile G2 / HTC Amaze 4G
 
xxquicksh0txx
Old
#5  
xxquicksh0txx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 332
Posts: 1,259
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789 View Post
Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
I know on my old incredible, the buttons don't work completely. Only some functions, I think that goes to say with all androids. There are apps that you can assign a different amount of presses to be pause,play,next though.

I know bestbuy has a pair of sony earbuds that are life $25, that have the "ipod" controls. They did work somewhat on my incredible, and there are a pair of skullcandy's that have the controls also. I assume they would work the same.
 
Bdix
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 178
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789 View Post
Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
Yea double click for next song works but could not pause the song. I could answer the phone, but could not hang up.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
 
Silentbtdeadly
Old
#7  
Silentbtdeadly's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 793
Posts: 1,568
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789 View Post
Doors anyone have wired headphones that have the volume and next track controls on them? If so what kind are they? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
I order these, they are the ones that came with my old vibrant, since I lose my earbuds at least once every two months I would never spend a lot on them. I'm happy with the quality, I doubt it is as bad as some people describe the stock headphones for the amaze-- but my theory is if they are using a rom with beats audio the headphones may not be capable of creating that kind of sound at higher volumes.

To the best of my knowledge no android(I've seen at least) has working volume control, tho I'll bet a few might.. I haven't tried any with volume control on my amaze.

I use poweramp music player, I press 1 time to pause/play, two times to skip, and then you can decide what you want three presses to do- I have it switch playlists. If someone calls I press once to answer, once to hang up, and if I was listening to music it comes back on.

I've never been totally sure, but I think the beats audio libs only work on the stock music app, so that might be why I don't have any complaints about audio quality(because I use poweramp)..

Anyways, thought I'd share in case it was helpful.

Issues with the AMAZE 4g? Come stalk the always up to date, always maintained, Ultimate Guide to Everything Amaze-ing!(Amaze 4g BIBLE!)!
Current Device: International Galaxy S3 i9300
Other Devices: Nexus 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more