Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

Headphones with controls?

OP mike96789

18th April 2012, 03:53 AM   |  #1  
mike96789's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Honolulu
Thanks Meter: 35
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Doors anyone have wired headphones that have the volume and next track controls on them? If so what kind are they? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
18th April 2012, 04:11 AM   |  #2  
Bronyr's Avatar
Senior Member
DroidDen
Thanks Meter: 55
 
641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
The headset (earset that comes with the phone has all controls. But I think it sucks royally as the earbuds are horrible, even for my somewhat larger than average ears. I'm kinda looking for alternative myself.
18th April 2012, 05:19 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I took Apple ear buds and fitted ear plugs on them. They works great you can't hear a thing with them in....only the music.... Oh yea

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
18th April 2012, 11:06 PM   |  #4  
mike96789's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Honolulu
Thanks Meter: 35
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bdix

I took Apple ear buds and fitted ear plugs on them. They works great you can't hear a thing with them in....only the music.... Oh yea

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA

Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium
18th April 2012, 11:50 PM   |  #5  
xxquicksh0txx's Avatar
Senior Member
Akron, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789

Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium

I know on my old incredible, the buttons don't work completely. Only some functions, I think that goes to say with all androids. There are apps that you can assign a different amount of presses to be pause,play,next though.

I know bestbuy has a pair of sony earbuds that are life $25, that have the "ipod" controls. They did work somewhat on my incredible, and there are a pair of skullcandy's that have the controls also. I assume they would work the same.
19th April 2012, 12:26 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789

Do the volume and track skip controls work?

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium

Yea double click for next song works but could not pause the song. I could answer the phone, but could not hang up.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using XDA
21st April 2012, 02:16 PM   |  #7  
Silentbtdeadly's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 793
 
1,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike96789

Doors anyone have wired headphones that have the volume and next track controls on them? If so what kind are they? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my HTC Amaze 4G using xda premium

I order these, they are the ones that came with my old vibrant, since I lose my earbuds at least once every two months I would never spend a lot on them. I'm happy with the quality, I doubt it is as bad as some people describe the stock headphones for the amaze-- but my theory is if they are using a rom with beats audio the headphones may not be capable of creating that kind of sound at higher volumes.

To the best of my knowledge no android(I've seen at least) has working volume control, tho I'll bet a few might.. I haven't tried any with volume control on my amaze.

I use poweramp music player, I press 1 time to pause/play, two times to skip, and then you can decide what you want three presses to do- I have it switch playlists. If someone calls I press once to answer, once to hang up, and if I was listening to music it comes back on.

I've never been totally sure, but I think the beats audio libs only work on the stock music app, so that might be why I don't have any complaints about audio quality(because I use poweramp)..

Anyways, thought I'd share in case it was helpful.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes