Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,083 Members 50,134 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DEV/LEAK] ICS for A501

Tip us?
 
gunness1991
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 112
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunness1991 View Post
do i need to download all 4 files?

can i update from stock recovery?

currently running stock a501
???
 
vizzzy
Old
#32  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 57
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: de rijp
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunness1991 View Post
???
patience dude!!!

i think you're better off waiting for sometime until the devs get here.

If you really want to try then you better root and back up your current rom.

To answer your first question, yes, you need to download all files and flash them in the correct order.
 
HooeyBooey
Old
#33  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
I've extracted all the update files. I'm able to flash the first file but then the other files work flash. I keep getting and error 7. Am I missing something?
Hope is not a plan
 
galapogos01
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 161
Join Date: May 2008
Can someone post a rooted cwm .zip?

Pretty please?
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#35  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5849
Posts: 7,052
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlk0 View Post
Actually this is a kernel (boot.img) restriction (someone posted A500 ICS kernel sources and the ACER_SECURE trick was quite obvious), the bootloader/EBT is not really concerned.
Right now, I'm running that official A500 ICS kernel on A501 without any issue (I don't care having R/W on system), so I was hoping to be able to run the A501 kernel on a 3.0.1 bootloader.
yeah, but, with the 501 kernel, a lot of SU apps won't work like they're supposed to with no system R/W. I ran the CM9 version with the 500 patched kernel, and posted my results there.

If you're running a 501 with a 500 kernel, have you checked Wifi, gps, and 3g? All functioning normal? Using the 500 module files or are you using the new ones?

So basically with the 500, you had 2 choices. Run with the HC bootloader and patched boot.img(and get the messed up boot screen), or run with the patched ICS bootloader.

Half the folks want the choice to go back to 3.2.x without having to reflash the bootloader, so the use the patched kernel.

Just curious how things are running on a 501 using a 500 kernel.

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
wlk0
Old
#36  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 94
Join Date: Sep 2011
Ok, I tried the update and it is working fine on my A501:
1. Using stock HC3.0.1 bootloader (never flashed) and CWM 1.7
2. Installed a "cleaned" Acer_A501_4.066.29_COM_GEN1 (bootloader+recovery removed)
3. Installed a "cleaned" Acer_A501_4.066.29_041.126.01_COM_GEN1 (bootloader+recovery removed)

Only did a quick checkup, but so far:
- boot is fine (although I get the doubled "acer" logo as with A500 kernels)
- 3G works
- wifi works
- front/read cam works

Looks good.
Thanks Vache BTW !
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#37  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5849
Posts: 7,052
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by HooeyBooey View Post
I've extracted all the update files. I'm able to flash the first file but then the other files work flash. I keep getting and error 7. Am I missing something?
No, not really.

My first attempt, I decrypted and pulled the update.zips, renaming them to update_1.zip, 2, 3, and 4. (you have to decrypt and pull the update from all of them, as the original formats won't work)

Not sure what the heck happened, but more errors than you could count starting with number 1 (on 3.2.1). Blew away the whole system (red boot verified fail). Think it blew away every Devblk I had!

TimmyDeans EUU method wouldn't take official CUID number, So had to NV Flash in APX mode the ICS patched bootloader/recovery. Then I could install my CM9 build. Acer recovery (although you can't update it for some reason) as I like RA Recovery.

Running the same 1,2,3,4 .zip files, the first 2 installed fine (random offset, and prior install log errors, no biggie)

#3 and 4 recieved error 7. Immediately shut down tab. Pulled the 3 and 4 updates from the decrypted files, renamed to update_3 and update_4, deleted the 2 from sd and copied again.

Boot to recovery, installed 3 and 4 (NO WIPES). Same offset errors and install log errors, but when finished it booted fine.

Note that I used my SD card reader on PC to copy files till the OS was up and running.

So pull your update.zips again from the decrypted files again. Should work.

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Moscow Desire For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vache
Old
#38  
vache's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 995
Posts: 532
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by galapogos01 View Post
Can someone post a rooted cwm .zip?

Pretty please?
Here you go : http://d-h.st/Dgf

Added SuperUser and Busybox.

Thanks to paugustin for providing system and boot backup.
* Acer Liquid S100 (Vachounay, Streamounay, LCR E/S/F, Sense ports)
* Acer Liquid Metal S120 (MIUI, CM7, Metalounay, Gingerounay)
* Acer Iconia Tab A500 (Taboonay)
* Acer Iconia Smart S300 (Smartoonay)
* Acer Liquid Glow E330 (Glowing Liquid, Glowing AOSP)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (Cirrus ROM)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360
* Acer Liquid E2 V370
* Acer Liquid S1 S510
* Acer Liquid S2 S520

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to vache For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dxjak
Old
#39  
dxjak's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thank you so much. Been waiting for this for ages (Well it feels like already)

Will try it when I get home.
 
HooeyBooey
Old
(Last edited by HooeyBooey; 19th April 2012 at 05:53 PM.)
#40  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vache View Post
Here you go : http://d-h.st/Dgf

Added SuperUser and Busybox.

Thanks to paugustin for providing system and boot backup.
Thanks for putting this together. Downloading now.

--Update--
Not loading. I've tried everything, format everything, wipe everything. Stuck on Acer boot screen.
Hope is not a plan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes