Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,711 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Do you experience "black crush" on your Galaxy Note?
Severe crush (can see the number 1 in test image) 74 57.36%
Moderate crush (can see up to numbers 2-4) 20 15.50%
Minor crush (can see up to numbers 5-6) 6 4.65%
No, tones gradually go to black. 29 22.48%
Voters: 129. You may not vote on this poll

[POLL] Black clipping / black crush

Tip us?
 
paleh0rse
Old
#411  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 633
Posts: 1,747
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeg42 View Post
Yes... and I tried that a few times. Even with a reboot. Didn't change anything for me at least.
Hmmm, have you messed with any of the other settings that are on or off by default?
"To be rooted is perhaps the most important and least recognized need of the human soul." - Simone Weil
 
paleh0rse
Old
#412  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 633
Posts: 1,747
Join Date: Jan 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
If we can determine what makes Quickpic unique, we would be one step closer.

Perhaps we could/should contact the Quickpic author to see if he/she/they would help us...
"To be rooted is perhaps the most important and least recognized need of the human soul." - Simone Weil
 
jpeg42
Old
#413  
jpeg42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 663
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by paleh0rse View Post
If we can determine what makes Quickpic unique, we would be one step closer.

Perhaps we could/should contact the Quickpic author to see if he/she would help us...
I checked out the site of the author, it is all in Chinese. But might be worth a shot. I dunno, I am a bit stumped. I even tried to remove Quickpic, clear my cache, and revert to my old TiBu backup of the previous version, but couldn't recreate the clipping.
GALAXY NOTE SGH-i717 - Padawan JB || 4.1.2
 
tenderchkn
Old
(Last edited by tenderchkn; 19th April 2012 at 12:00 AM.)
#414  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 137
Join Date: Feb 2012
Changing the force 32-bit rendering setting doesn't change anything, nor did it change anything in GB. So I don't think it's a 32-bit vs 16-bit issue. After all, we're not dealing with banding here.

Also, since the gamma test picture is rendered with each box different than the next, this is proof that it is rendered in 32-bit. 32-bit color is 8-bits per channel, which means 256 different levels of gray. 16-bit color has 4-bits per channel, or 16 levels of gray. If the test image was rendered in 16-bit, then boxes 1-4, 5-8, etc, would look identical. Since they're all unique, I think we can conclude that it is rendered in 32-bit.

So it's a completely different reason why QuickPic works and stock gallery doesn't.

Edit: Yup, just confirmed this by setting my computer to 16-bit color.
 
jjc5891
Old
#415  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 258
Join Date: Feb 2012
If you look closely when the image first loads with quickpic, the first few milliseconds the image is displayed, it shows clipping at box 8 and under and then boxes 1-7 are renderred shortly after load. It's almost like some sort of setting is turned on or something.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using XDA Premium HD app
 
Bataga
Old
#416  
Bataga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 743
Posts: 1,696
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lilburn, Georgia
Hows abouts deez apples?!? Looks like were getting closer to a fix!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=23967106
"Let Freedom Ring With A Shotgun Blast!" \m/ \m/
Note N900T
Samsung Galaxy Tab S T800
i337 Gee Es Four
NexuS 10
Note i717 w/VIPER AUDIO!! (mp3 player )
The Following User Says Thank You to Bataga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cgibsong002
Old
#417  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 453
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjc5891 View Post
If you look closely when the image first loads with quickpic, the first few milliseconds the image is displayed, it shows clipping at box 8 and under and then boxes 1-7 are renderred shortly after load. It's almost like some sort of setting is turned on or something.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using XDA Premium HD app
yup, same here. However there's still a clip at 1. It looked fixed to me once again until I looked at it in the pitch dark then I could clearly see the clipping.

Sent from my Samsung Nizzote
 
tenderchkn
Old
#418  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 137
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgibsong002 View Post
yup, same here. However there's still a clip at 1. It looked fixed to me once again until I looked at it in the pitch dark then I could clearly see the clipping.

Sent from my Samsung Nizzote
Well, there is always going to be a "clip" at 1. Because 0 is supposed to be completely black. If you look at any display in the dark, it will show a slight difference between black and the darkest gray.

The results that I'm seeing currently in QuickPic is very much acceptable. Do you see improvement compared to when you were on GB?
 
sepdx
Old
#419  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default screen dimming issue

Great thread; thank you to all the very knowledgeable and dedicated members contributing here. I've had my stock Note for three weeks now, and for me the screen issue is most noticeable when I dim it down for e-book reading in bed (night mode, no ambient light). My Captivate would maintain a black background and the text would dim to a nice low-contrast charcoal gray. When dimming the Note, however, the black background becomes light grey and is blinding in a dark room. Small issue, but it's on the verge of being a deal-breaker for me...only one week to go on my return window to figure out if this will be resolved by ICS and/or a third-party app, or if I'm better off jumping ship to another GS2 variant or the One X. I have no issues with rooting or custom ROMs, but don't want to jeopardize the return option.
 
nstong
Old
#420  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 211
Join Date: Mar 2011
I bought my phone on ebay and was curious so I used the test image. I am already on unofficial, don't know if that makes a difference

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes