Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Install CWM but SU doesn't work

OP Marescallus

18th April 2012, 05:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 28
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I can't install CWM. I know there's that recovery installer apk but my transformer says there was a problem parsing the package. I don't know of any other way. I also tried unrooting my tablet by flashing a WW stock rom and stock recovery but Superuser stayed and it doesn't even work. It's basically all messed up. Can someone help me please?
18th April 2012, 05:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 182
 
542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.
18th April 2012, 05:58 AM   |  #3  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
6,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?
18th April 2012, 06:12 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 28
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by horndroid

Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.

What boot menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?

8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.
18th April 2012, 06:46 AM   |  #5  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
6,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshMad_ness




8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.
18th April 2012, 06:53 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 28
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.

How do I manually update? Is that when you go into settings and stuff and check to see if you have the latest software? Cause I do that and it says that I already have the latest version.
19th April 2012, 12:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 28
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I tried updating manually but it didn't work. I guess I should include that I tried deleting the superuser files from /system/bin/su and /system/xbin/su. I deleted the one in the xbin because there wasn't one in the bin. It's still messed up.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes