FORUMS

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Install CWM but SU doesn't work

18th April 2012, 04:44 AM |#1  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
I can't install CWM. I know there's that recovery installer apk but my transformer says there was a problem parsing the package. I don't know of any other way. I also tried unrooting my tablet by flashing a WW stock rom and stock recovery but Superuser stayed and it doesn't even work. It's basically all messed up. Can someone help me please?
 
 
18th April 2012, 04:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.
18th April 2012, 04:58 AM |#3  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
More
What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?
18th April 2012, 05:12 AM |#4  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by horndroid

Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.

What boot menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?

8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.
18th April 2012, 05:46 AM |#5  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshMad_ness




8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.
18th April 2012, 05:53 AM |#6  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.

How do I manually update? Is that when you go into settings and stuff and check to see if you have the latest software? Cause I do that and it says that I already have the latest version.
18th April 2012, 11:39 PM |#7  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
I tried updating manually but it didn't work. I guess I should include that I tried deleting the superuser files from /system/bin/su and /system/xbin/su. I deleted the one in the xbin because there wasn't one in the bin. It's still messed up.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes