FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Install CWM but SU doesn't work

18th April 2012, 04:44 AM |#1  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
I can't install CWM. I know there's that recovery installer apk but my transformer says there was a problem parsing the package. I don't know of any other way. I also tried unrooting my tablet by flashing a WW stock rom and stock recovery but Superuser stayed and it doesn't even work. It's basically all messed up. Can someone help me please?
 
 
18th April 2012, 04:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.
18th April 2012, 04:58 AM |#3  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
More
What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?
18th April 2012, 05:12 AM |#4  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by horndroid

Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.

What boot menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?

8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.
18th April 2012, 05:46 AM |#5  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshMad_ness




8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.
18th April 2012, 05:53 AM |#6  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz

Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.

How do I manually update? Is that when you go into settings and stuff and check to see if you have the latest software? Cause I do that and it says that I already have the latest version.
18th April 2012, 11:39 PM |#7  
Marescallus's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
I tried updating manually but it didn't work. I guess I should include that I tried deleting the superuser files from /system/bin/su and /system/xbin/su. I deleted the one in the xbin because there wasn't one in the bin. It's still messed up.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes