Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,116 Members 46,835 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Install CWM but SU doesn't work

Tip us?
 
Marescallus
Old
#1  
Marescallus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 225
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Orleans
Default [Q] Install CWM but SU doesn't work

I can't install CWM. I know there's that recovery installer apk but my transformer says there was a problem parsing the package. I don't know of any other way. I also tried unrooting my tablet by flashing a WW stock rom and stock recovery but Superuser stayed and it doesn't even work. It's basically all messed up. Can someone help me please?
 
horndroid
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 542
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Francisco
Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.
 
baseballfanz
Old
#3  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1709
Posts: 6,689
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?
**************
 
Marescallus
Old
#4  
Marescallus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 225
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by horndroid View Post
Since you went back to stock ROM, do wipe data from boot menu and root again with Vipermod, and then try running the recovery installer apk.
What boot menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz View Post
What firmware are you on? That message is either a bad download or your firmware is not compatible with the apk.
Now you also say you flash WW ROM and stock recovery, how did you flash it without cwm?
8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.
 
baseballfanz
Old
#5  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1709
Posts: 6,689
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshMad_ness View Post



8.2.3.13. I flashed them when I still had CWM and fully rooted.
Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.
**************
 
Marescallus
Old
#6  
Marescallus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 225
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz View Post
Yeah you flashed the repacked ROM. That's pretty outdated firmware. You need to manually update to the latest ICS (if it doesn't auto update), use ViperMod to root and RecoveryInstaller for CWM.
How do I manually update? Is that when you go into settings and stuff and check to see if you have the latest software? Cause I do that and it says that I already have the latest version.
 
Marescallus
Old
#7  
Marescallus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 225
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Orleans
I tried updating manually but it didn't work. I guess I should include that I tried deleting the superuser files from /system/bin/su and /system/xbin/su. I deleted the one in the xbin because there wasn't one in the bin. It's still messed up.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more