MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

My Streak 7 Dock thoughts.

19th August 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #11  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith.valdez

I just wished it worked with Honeystreak. I hope dell releases honeycomb because I love using my doc to watch movies in the bedroom.

Wait the honeycomb rom doesnt work on it? That sounds odd or a flaw, did you tell Steve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechanizator

Hello
I'm new owner of Streak 7 - from Poland. I'm looking for one dock station for my S7 to be able to play hdmi on my tv. Problem is, that in Poland it's hard to get a dock.
Maybe anyone of you is about to sell one and could send it to Poland?

Thank you in advance

I would say check ebay. Most people ship everywhere.


Also yea, playing emulators works great on it. Also another perk.. if you use wiimote IME. You could have your streak docked, away from you and you can use the wii mote or classic controller to move the menu around too and open apps and so. Very handy.
21st August 2011, 05:58 PM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Cool HDMI out on stand w/Dell Streak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticales

Wait the honeycomb rom doesnt work on it? That sounds odd or a flaw, did you tell Steve?



I would say check ebay. Most people ship everywhere.

I have had some strange issues with with getting HDMI working on various DJ Steve's build but I chalked that up just not be official?

I'm running

StreakDroid HD7-2.0 R1

I think that is the latest...

anyone else having any issues? I'm sure the "offical" build will support it... I'm sure...
22nd September 2011, 05:30 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Philly
Thanks Meter: 207
 
971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I'm running his HC build and it works fine for the most part. I can't get rid of the bottom status bar, and in comparison to my Logitech Revue, the Revue streams Amazon video much smoother and the PQ seems to be better as well. I'm usng the stock browser and I get a few video freezes where the sound keeps going, had some lip sync issues, and some other minor things. He Revue

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
5th April 2012, 01:30 PM   |  #14  
Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
i need a dock and data cable for streak 7 in pakistan,,, is thr any way i can get 1.???
6th April 2012, 05:36 PM   |  #15  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Maybe. Tried Ebay or Amazon? Alot of people will ship worldwide.
18th April 2012, 06:44 AM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
what are some alternatives to the official dock like the g2 slacker? looking for something under $20 as both the official dock and the g2 dock go for at least 30 on ebay.
19th April 2012, 04:42 AM   |  #17  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
g2 slacker, while "looks" like same port, I doubt it is. Or would work. If you need a cheap alt,
http://www.amazon.com/Aftermarket-Pr...4806828&sr=1-1

HOWEVER I should mention these docks DO NOT have hdmi! So they will charge, and seperate cable to sync. However.. a dell streak dock without hdmi.. seems silly..? I know for me.. hook to HDMI, Use BT keyboard/touchpad (and I can run dos!) or BT gamepad and I can run emulators. Thats nice on a TV. =)
19th April 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #18  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,527
 
3,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
The slacker dock only supports USB-IN, it doesnt support anything else on the S5/S7

Things missing from the slacker dock (that's available on the 2nd gen official dock):
  • Line-out
  • USB-in (ie OTG)
  • USB-high speed charing
  • HDMI-out
  • Dock sense (where the device automatically goes into clock mode)

The slacker dock has a headphone out, but the S5/S7 dont support it either (it may not have the pins for that, if it does it's different anyway). The slacker dock also has pads for USB-in, but that model was never officially made available(?).

Also I would STRONGLY recommend against a slacker dock for the S7 (if you can even find one), the S5 is a lot lighter then the S7.
The S7 barely fits on it, but it has absolutely no support besides the port itself.
The S5 already places all it's weight on the dock port, the S7 is asking to be broken by any accidentical impact.

If you are willing (or can find it at a reasonable price), I would strongly recommend the official 2nd gen dock for either the S5/S7.
It includes 2 backplates to support either model.

Also, the S5 dock in the previous link likely wont fit the S7, that's the reason the official dock comes with 2 backplates.
Your only real choice for the S7 is the official 2nd gen dock.
19th April 2012, 08:58 PM   |  #19  
Mysticales's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Oh fyi, amazon has it on sale right now for 30$ the official one.
21st April 2012, 09:17 PM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Are we sure the Offical Dell Dock has OTG?! I can't find documentation on that AT ALL.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes