Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM+Kernel] Inferior Human Organs unofficial CM7.1

OP blarfiejandro

19th April 2012, 08:58 AM   |  #4971  
captaincrook's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 125
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whyzor

Sounds like you're running with non-default Android lowmemkiller settings. Superscript V6 and some other apps will change the default to leave more free memory available for loading apps/games that require lots of memory faster. The downside it keeps a lot of memory free all the time instead of using them to cache apps in the background. I recommend not messing with that and just use default Android settings for most users.

I don't use any scripts of the sort. I check in periodically to see how much RAM is free and its usually 220-260MB, which I do not like. I'd prefer for the phone to use more RAM and not have the phone so "empty", so to speak. The internal task killer is very aggressive.

I have checked where the default OOM groupings were, and the phone by default drops nearly every single app into the last slot (empty applications) which I see to be a noticeable problem. In a scenario like this, SuperCharger would come in handy, but I must first check and see if I can get the ROM to use more RAM, then tackle the groupings.

It makes no sense to have my browser killed so often, when there's clearly enough free RAM in the system to keep it open.

If anyone else can check, maybe after a few hours or so of use, periodically check your free RAM. I can't get mine to even get close to what I would consider low (say, 40MB), which was easily obtainable in Froyo. Probably why I felt some drastic performance issues there between Froyo and IHO with IHO constantly reloading apps.
19th April 2012, 02:50 PM   |  #4972  
jawz101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 302
 
731 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvall

so.. no need for me to check for changes i made that would harm battery life?

I'd use the same advice franco uses on his kernel which is to tell users to use it for a few days before commenting on battery drain.

My opinion on it too is It's an initial reaction for everyone to say there's battery drain moreso after upgrading my Rom. My gas mileage also seemed to drop on my last car every time I added an aftermarket tune, cold air intake, cut outs... etc. Surely it couldn't be because I was immediately using my car more afterwards?

Literally after every flash I'm on my phone for the next few hours dicking with it. The battery drains a bit out of character for a while.

I step away from the mic to breathe through my nose
Last edited by jawz101; 19th April 2012 at 03:01 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jawz101 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 06:46 PM   |  #4973  
wilberfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 48
 
386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingermtb

Running Jerry's lateset with tvall's kernel is a match made in heaven!

I'm curious to try tvall's kernel, but I'm confused as to WHEN I need to apply it. Can I apply it to an existing "Jerry"--or do I need to do a complete wipe/flash ROM/apply kernel/restore apps sequence?

I'm using apps2sd in my current Jerry build--would I omit that given the '...to-sd' features of tvall's kernel?
The Following User Says Thank You to wilberfan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 06:50 PM   |  #4974  
tvall's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 803
 
2,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilberfan

I'm curious to try tvall's kernel, but I'm confused as to WHEN I need to apply it. Can I apply it to an existing "Jerry"--or do I need to do a complete wipe/flash ROM/apply kernel/restore apps sequence?

I'm using apps2sd in my current Jerry build--would I omit that given the '...to-sd' features of tvall's kernel?

flash it whenever (after you have a rom installed)

and kernels dont do anything with any *2sd setup (besides file system drivers), so what you have should still run the same

and after i get a little more work done on my kernel and rom, i'll probably make a thread here for them so people dont have to check other forums
Last edited by tvall; 19th April 2012 at 07:00 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tvall For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 10:18 PM   |  #4975  
wilberfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 48
 
386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingermtb

There's several apps out there you can use to switch scheduler. I use CPU Master. I use it for the overclocking and to set CPU profiles also. You can switch scheduler under advanced tab. Pay app, but well worth it, and very easy to use with a simple user interface.

I'd love to hear your opinions on any scheduler, IO settings, cpu speeds (etc) you find optimal or desirable...

[edit] Anyone remember what the 'stock' minimum cpu setting is? I know the stock max is 600...
Last edited by wilberfan; 19th April 2012 at 10:22 PM.
19th April 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #4976  
tvall's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 803
 
2,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilberfan

I'd love to hear your opinions on any scheduler, IO settings, cpu speeds (etc) you find optimal or desirable...

[edit] Anyone remember what the 'stock' minimum cpu setting is? I know the stock max is 600...

245 or somethin
20th April 2012, 12:46 AM   |  #4977  
Raul027's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
480/600

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Raul027 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2012, 01:30 AM   |  #4978  
captaincrook's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 125
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilberfan

I'd love to hear your opinions on any scheduler, IO settings, cpu speeds (etc) you find optimal or desirable...

[edit] Anyone remember what the 'stock' minimum cpu setting is? I know the stock max is 600...

Stock settings are 600 max 245 min.

SIO should be better for flash devices, but I have not read too much onto it. BFQ works really well on the desktop, so I go with that for now.

Also I use stock speeds to help avoid heating up, along with a good scaling governor like ondemand (maybe with some tweaks) and Smartassv2. I did runs of 729/480 on Froyo and that worked relatively well.

I'd spinoff into a big post of what speeds to use but it really depends on your usage patterns. I don't believe ANYONE should be using the really high settings (800+, or even more than 748) due to the heat, and of course the governor will matter there as well. Something like interactive will keep yourself at the higher speeds to minimize lag and making your battery drain much faster. Example being, I can read a web page and interactive will mostly keep me at high speeds with the scrolling between and pressed and such. Ondemand will scale me down until I do something usually, so the actual reading part will be at the lowest speed. Interactive does scale down yes, but at a slower pace than ondemand.

Most governors are tweak-able in SetCPU. I myself am privy to OnDemand and Conservative, with conservative being slower to ramp up speeds, being easier on the battery. Using conservative help the battery at the cost of some performance, but its a minor trade off if you can tweak it to ramp up a little bit faster under load.
The Following User Says Thank You to captaincrook For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2012, 02:12 AM   |  #4979  
wilberfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 48
 
386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincrook

Most governors are tweak-able in SetCPU. I myself am privy to OnDemand and Conservative, with conservative being slower to ramp up speeds, being easier on the battery. Using conservative help the battery at the cost of some performance, but its a minor trade off if you can tweak it to ramp up a little bit faster under load.

Sorry to be such a noob, but where (and what values) would you insert in SetCPU or CPUMaster to achieve that "ramp up a little faster under load" setting?
20th April 2012, 02:53 AM   |  #4980  
moore.bryan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Strange happenings with my home button on the latest Mirage; it doesn't work.

Sent from my IHO phone

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes