Post Reply

[Q] System partition

19th April 2012, 02:25 PM   |  #11  
karthiknr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeChe

Hi to all, I am new at all this android stuff, so I hope you won't laught, but I have few questions.
1.Is there a way to change size of partitions without flashing new rom?
2.How big the partitions should be (System, Data, Cache) ?

According to "Blade Checker" I have European ZTE Blade 512MB, Gen2 phone, also it said that I have to use image.bin style TPTs.
Curent partitions are:
System 220MB
Data 160MB
Cache 37MB

It is running CM 7.1 stable mod and Clockwork Mod Recovery 5.0.2.0

Thanks in advance, and I am sorry if I posted at a wrong place.

1. No,you cannot.

2.Your partition size is more than enough for any new ROM's. Minimum System partition size varies accordings to different ROM's. Minimum data is according to your needs for app storage. Minimum cache is 20mb,but keep in mind you can't download anything from market/play over 20mb. So cache decides your temporary market storage.

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app
19th April 2012, 03:11 PM   |  #12  
ZeChe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I have only 20-25Mb left on data partition, that's what bugs me.
Was thinking maybe to increase Data prtition or maybe install 4GB class 10 sd card I have and try to make EXT partition on it, 2GB I have now seems a bit slow for that.
Would one of thos things help?

Thanks.
19th April 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #13  
karthiknr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeChe

I have only 20-25Mb left on data partition, that's what bugs me.
Was thinking maybe to increase Data prtition or maybe install 4GB class 10 sd card I have and try to make EXT partition on it, 2GB I have now seems a bit slow for that.
Would one of thos things help?

Thanks.

You better get a 4 or 8 Gig card. Class 4 should do actually.

You've tried A2SD right?

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app
The Following User Says Thank You to karthiknr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #14  
ZeChe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by karthiknr

You better get a 4 or 8 Gig card. Class 4 should do actually.

You've tried A2SD right?

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app

No, actually I didn't tried A2SD, I think, I am using App 2 SD, free version, but I assume that's not the same, also I think that my card has only one partition.

As I said, am new to all of this.
Sorry for bothering you and I really appreciate the help.
Thanks, again.
19th April 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #15  
Faiz Malkani's Avatar
Forum Moderator / XDA Portal Team
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,832
 
7,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeChe

No, actually I didn't tried A2SD, I think, I am using App 2 SD, free version, but I assume that's not the same, also I think that my card has only one partition.

As I said, am new to all of this.
Sorry for bothering you and I really appreciate the help.
Thanks, again.

A2SD gives u lots of space. I have a 4 gig SD card with a 1 gig partition and I've 300 apps installed
Here's how u do it

-backup ur SD card
-boot into recovery
-select advanced
-partition SD card
-select size. recommended 1gb
-select swap size as 0. Select 32 if u use it for gaming
-reboot
-install s2e
-check all four boxes
-reboot
-start installing apps


(Tested with gingerbread roms)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Faiz Malkani For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeChe

Hi to all, I am new at all this android stuff, so I hope you won't laught, but I have few questions.
1.Is there a way to change size of partitions without flashing new rom?
2.How big the partitions should be (System, Data, Cache) ?

According to "Blade Checker" I have European ZTE Blade 512MB, Gen2 phone, also it said that I have to use image.bin style TPTs.
Curent partitions are:
System 220MB
Data 160MB
Cache 37MB

It is running CM 7.1 stable mod and Clockwork Mod Recovery 5.0.2.0

Thanks in advance, and I am sorry if I posted at a wrong place.

If you changed your partition sizes, your rom and all your data would be wiped. If you made a backup before, you could restore it afterwards as long as it could fit in the new sizes (eg. if your rom took up 160MB in system just now, and you changed system to 170MB then it would fit so you could restore it, same for other partitions).

Size for the partitions depends on what rom you are wanting to install. Some like Swedish Snow can fit in 128MB system, others like the ICS ones need ~180MB or bigger.

As your current layout is big enough for any rom out now, you'd be better making an ext partition on your phone and using that. S2E from Google Play works well with CM7 and lets you move most, if not everything, on the data partition to the ext partition. Its usually best just to move apps, but it means you can have loads of space. You can choose the size of ext partition depending on how big your sdcard is and how much space you need.

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthiknr

2.Your partition size is more than enough for any new ROM's. Minimum System partition size varies accordings to different ROM's. Minimum data is according to your needs for app storage. Minimum cache is 20mb,but keep in mind you can't download anything from market/play over 20mb. So cache decides your temporary market storage.

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app

2MB is the minimum for cache. You can redirect the market downloads to data/ext partition/somewhere else, so you can download any app you like. Most roms do this automatically if your cache partition is small. By making it bigger than 2MB, you are either wasting the extra space if its still small enough to be redirected, or you are restricting the size of apps you can download if its too big to be redirected.
20th April 2012, 04:34 AM   |  #17  
karthiknr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amphoras

If you changed your partition sizes, your rom and all your data would be wiped. If you made a backup before, you could restore it afterwards as long as it could fit in the new sizes (eg. if your rom took up 160MB in system just now, and you changed system to 170MB then it would fit so you could restore it, same for other partitions).

Size for the partitions depends on what rom you are wanting to install. Some like Swedish Snow can fit in 128MB system, others like the ICS ones need ~180MB or bigger.

As your current layout is big enough for any rom out now, you'd be better making an ext partition on your phone and using that. S2E from Google Play works well with CM7 and lets you move most, if not everything, on the data partition to the ext partition. Its usually best just to move apps, but it means you can have loads of space. You can choose the size of ext partition depending on how big your sdcard is and how much space you need.



2MB is the minimum for cache. You can redirect the market downloads to data/ext partition/somewhere else, so you can download any app you like. Most roms do this automatically if your cache partition is small. By making it bigger than 2MB, you are either wasting the extra space if its still small enough to be redirected, or you are restricting the size of apps you can download if its too big to be redirected.

I stated 20mb as minimum because Tilal recommended 20mb for ColdFusion and I would rather change partition sizes once than doing it repeatedly.

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app
20th April 2012, 11:46 AM   |  #18  
ZeChe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Well, I did few things.
I did what QuantumFoam suggested, partitioned my old 2GB card that was already in phone, created EXt partition of 512MB, to try if it work. I'we made backup on PC, but when I rebooted few of apps I had on sd desapeared, also all my music, pictures, wallpapers and other stuff.
Question I have now is should I copy all the things from PC back to SD and where.
Thanks all of you guys for helping me and having so much patience with me.
20th April 2012, 12:18 PM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karthiknr

I stated 20mb as minimum because Tilal recommended 20mb for ColdFusion and I would rather change partition sizes once than doing it repeatedly.

Sent from my ZTE Blade using XDA app

That's because ColdFusion didn't have the redirect script added yet. If you add that, then 2MB is fine for it as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeChe

Well, I did few things.
I did what QuantumFoam suggested, partitioned my old 2GB card that was already in phone, created EXt partition of 512MB, to try if it work. I'we made backup on PC, but when I rebooted few of apps I had on sd desapeared, also all my music, pictures, wallpapers and other stuff.
Question I have now is should I copy all the things from PC back to SD and where.
Thanks all of you guys for helping me and having so much patience with me.

I think creating the ext partition formats the whole card. If you plug your phone into your pc and turn on usb storage, you should see it appear with ~1.5GB space. You can copy all the stuff back onto there and it should work again. You might have to reinstall the apps that were moved to the sdcard, don't know if just copying them back will work.
The Following User Says Thank You to Amphoras For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2012, 12:54 PM   |  #20  
ZeChe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amphoras

I think creating the ext partition formats the whole card. If you plug your phone into your pc and turn on usb storage, you should see it appear with ~1.5GB space. You can copy all the stuff back onto there and it should work again. You might have to reinstall the apps that were moved to the sdcard, don't know if just copying them back will work.

I did that, reinstalled few apps and it works, thx.

Have one more question, if you all don't mind
I know that these questions sound stupid, but as I said, I'm new to all of this and have a strong will to learn.
Is it possible to switch this card with bigger one I have, without flashing ROM again?
If it is, I would apritiate If someone could point me to some guide, because I presume it is not easy task and I think I bothered you enought already.
If it isn't possible, can I then format new card on my PC,copy ROM on it, partition it from CM recovery and then install ROM and all of the apps?
Thx again

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
160mb, cm9, partition, system
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Blade General by ThreadRank