Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,165 Members 37,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Update to ICS available this morning

Tip us?
 
ED2O9
Old
#61  
ED2O9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 214
Join Date: Sep 2009
Same issue here. I'm running stock HC with a modified build.prop. I decrypted the posted updates, copies the Gen1 version to my SD card, restored my original build.prop file and rebooted. A second after the ROM flashing animation starts, it jumps to an image of the android with a yellow exclaimation point.
It reboots normally after that, but the update seems to be invalid. I've never used the decryption app before, but it seemed too quick. Approximately 5 seconds after starting the decrytion on a 193MB file, it says it's completed. Maybe that's normal.
 
danifunker
Old
#62  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 239
Posts: 889
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED2O9 View Post
Same issue here. I'm running stock HC with a modified build.prop. I decrypted the posted updates, copies the Gen1 version to my SD card, restored my original build.prop file and rebooted. A second after the ROM flashing animation starts, it jumps to an image of the android with a yellow exclaimation point.
It reboots normally after that, but the update seems to be invalid. I've never used the decryption app before, but it seemed too quick. Approximately 5 seconds after starting the decrytion on a 193MB file, it says it's completed. Maybe that's normal.
The updates are incremental updates (notice the .p files), so the update files require the original version to be exactly what it is coming from (including build prop file). The update hasn't been released for the US gen1 that's available to us on the net. Just be patient or stick to a leak build although I wouldn't be surprised if vache gets a hold of a full gen1 software package soon either...

Sent from my XT860 running ICS
Need help restoring your Motorola phone back to stock firmware? Check out my tutorial here
 
Vaste92
Old
#63  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 162
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Padua
The COM update, is an update for this rom version:


acer/vg_gen1/vangogh:3.2.1/HTK55D/1331292158:user/release-keys
pre-device=vangogh

So, who can give me a link for the 3.2.1 HTK55D firmware, please?

The rom installed is:

acer/a100_aap_au/vangogh:4.0.3/IML74K/1334283555:user/release-keys
post-timestamp=1334283609
 
MrCubbins
Old
#64  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Montreal
I was considering attempting the update using the EMEA_GB version posted by Vache but am nervous I might do some damage to my tablet.

My current unmodified build.prop starts with the following...

ro.build.fingerprint=acer/vg_gb/vangogh:3.2.1/HTK55D/<<long number>>

I was wondering whether the <<long number>> that comes after /HTK55D/ must match for the update to work or if it is just a personal identifier?


Thanks in advance for any advice.
 
pintek
Old
#65  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 311
Join Date: May 2011
It won't mess anything up as far asi can tell when trying to install on mine with a decrypted update.zip
--------
Devices
-[Nexus 4 cm10.1 nightlies
-[SE X10miniPro MiniCM7.2 naa
-[Samsung Sidekick 4g RubiX Xcel v1.006
-[Note 8] CivZ-FLEX-BEAM 4.2.2
 
yanksrock1000
Old
#66  
yanksrock1000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 146
Join Date: Feb 2012
Anybody in the US able to get the OTA?

If so, did you have the ICS leak?
 
pintek
Old
#67  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 311
Join Date: May 2011
if you haven't read from acers website we won't get the ota in the usa till the 27th an also stated previously its looking for the honeycomb build version so the leaks will not ota update which was a given already.
--------
Devices
-[Nexus 4 cm10.1 nightlies
-[SE X10miniPro MiniCM7.2 naa
-[Samsung Sidekick 4g RubiX Xcel v1.006
-[Note 8] CivZ-FLEX-BEAM 4.2.2
 
JohnnyDanger
Old
#68  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 314
Join Date: Dec 2010
To those who have the update already, did Acer end up including the Acer Ring launcher?
 
bgm307
Old
#69  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 37
Join Date: Jan 2012
I'm in the USA. Just got the ICS update this morning.
 
jschall
Old
#70  
jschall's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
OTA in Québec this morning.

I don't know what the Acer Ring Launcher is.
- Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint-Hilaire, Québec
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, SONY Smartwatch, SONY Google TV

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes