FORUMS

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Bootload Loop

121 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By 12Fully, Senior Member on 19th April 2012, 03:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I just got this HTC Vivid and some how I managed to put it in a bootload loop. I've flashed many ROMs in the past without any problems at all, but failed to do so on this one. The ROM I tried flashing was "[ROM] Dark Raider 1.0 [4.0.3][Aroma Installer][4-13-2012]" (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1586613) Everytime I turn the phone on it would just keep rebooting over and over, I tried reflashing a different ROM and now every time I turn on my phone it automatically goes into fastboot. I've tried looking around but I haven't found a solution to this problem. Anyone help?
 
 
19th April 2012, 07:20 AM |#2  
daspazz's Avatar
Member
Flag H0ust0ned
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Wink Try this...............
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12Fully

So I just got this HTC Vivid and some how I managed to put it in a bootload loop. I've flashed many ROMs in the past without any problems at all, but failed to do so on this one. The ROM I tried flashing was "[ROM] Dark Raider 1.0 [4.0.3][Aroma Installer][4-13-2012]" (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1586613) Everytime I turn the phone on it would just keep rebooting over and over, I tried reflashing a different ROM and now every time I turn on my phone it automatically goes into fastboot. I've tried looking around but I haven't found a solution to this problem. Anyone help?

I think Dark Raider is not for the Holiday or Vivid. Not sure. I do believe its developed by pirateghost, and he could be your "savior". Go to goo.im (Goo inside me). http://goo.im/devs/pirateghost/vivid and look in the rum_float folder and download beta4 NOT BETA.5. Then flash with that and you should be good. Flashing instructions can be found in the Vivid Super Guide thread..

You can also try the rooted OTA ICS firmware in the root of pg's directory to get back to a base ICS working ROM. I know that both of those work as I've been where you are now 3 times in the last 5 days due to playing with my phone and flashing ROMS. I tried pg's beta 5 last night and soft-bricked my Vivid twice, then recovered it it with Beta 4 and didn't loose a thing. For some reason I thought flashing the ROM (zip) over system was a good idea! D'0H!!!!

All you have to do is use the third method in the flashing ROMs section close to the bottom of post 1 from the Super Guide link above. Just copy the boot.img out of the zip and flash.

fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot

Don't forget to flash the kernel too. I am using faux123s beta 4 kernel for now. works great for a beta!

If you need more help ask and I will do my best to get you back up and running!
Last edited by daspazz; 19th April 2012 at 07:30 AM. Reason: forgot this
lmftmf
19th April 2012, 11:45 AM |#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daspazz

I think Dark Raider is not for the Holiday or Vivid. Not sure. I do believe its developed by pirateghost, and he could be your "savior". Go to goo.im (Goo inside me). http://goo.im/devs/pirateghost/vivid and look in the rum_float folder and download beta4 NOT BETA.5. Then flash with that and you should be good. Flashing instructions can be found in the Vivid Super Guide thread..

You can also try the rooted OTA ICS firmware in the root of pg's directory to get back to a base ICS working ROM. I know that both of those work as I've been where you are now 3 times in the last 5 days due to playing with my phone and flashing ROMS. I tried pg's beta 5 last night and soft-bricked my Vivid twice, then recovered it it with Beta 4 and didn't loose a thing. For some reason I thought flashing the ROM (zip) over system was a good idea! D'0H!!!!

All you have to do is use the third method in the flashing ROMs section close to the bottom of post 1 from the Super Guide link above. Just copy the boot.img out of the zip and flash.

fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot

Don't forget to flash the kernel too. I am using faux123s beta 4 kernel for now. works great for a beta!

If you need more help ask and I will do my best to get you back up and running!

Dark Raider is made by nottach and it works on the vivid, Or at least it did on mine
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12Fully

So I just got this HTC Vivid and some how I managed to put it in a bootload loop. I've flashed many ROMs in the past without any problems at all, but failed to do so on this one. The ROM I tried flashing was "[ROM] Dark Raider 1.0 [4.0.3][Aroma Installer][4-13-2012]" (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1586613) Everytime I turn the phone on it would just keep rebooting over and over, I tried reflashing a different ROM and now every time I turn on my phone it automatically goes into fastboot. I've tried looking around but I haven't found a solution to this problem. Anyone help?

Have you flashed the boot.img file?
19th April 2012, 01:02 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daspazz

I think Dark Raider is not for the Holiday or Vivid. Not sure. I do believe its developed by pirateghost, and he could be your "savior". Go to goo.im (Goo inside me). http://goo.im/devs/pirateghost/vivid and look in the rum_float folder and download beta4 NOT BETA.5. Then flash with that and you should be good. Flashing instructions can be found in the Vivid Super Guide thread..

You can also try the rooted OTA ICS firmware in the root of pg's directory to get back to a base ICS working ROM. I know that both of those work as I've been where you are now 3 times in the last 5 days due to playing with my phone and flashing ROMS. I tried pg's beta 5 last night and soft-bricked my Vivid twice, then recovered it it with Beta 4 and didn't loose a thing. For some reason I thought flashing the ROM (zip) over system was a good idea! D'0H!!!!

All you have to do is use the third method in the flashing ROMs section close to the bottom of post 1 from the Super Guide link above. Just copy the boot.img out of the zip and flash.

fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot reboot

Don't forget to flash the kernel too. I am using faux123s beta 4 kernel for now. works great for a beta!

If you need more help ask and I will do my best to get you back up and running!

Thanks a lot I'll give it a try later today and post back!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmftmf

Dark Raider is made by nottach and it works on the vivid, Or at least it did on mine
Have you flashed the boot.img file?

That was the first thing I did... I grabbed the boot.img from the zip and flashed it with adb.
19th April 2012, 01:22 PM |#5  
Jirv311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Johnstown
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Dark Raider is almost specifically for the Vivid as it was built from an AT&T Vivid base. You don't flash the boot.img through ADB, you flash through fastboot.

Sent from my HTC Vivid
19th April 2012, 02:57 PM |#6  
Jirv311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Johnstown
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daspazz

I think Dark Raider is not for the Holiday or Vivid. Not sure. I do believe its developed by pirateghost,

Ouch, quite a bit of fail right there.
lmftmf
19th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jirv311

Ouch, quite a bit of fail right there.

xD what pirateghost would say lol
19th April 2012, 03:38 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jirv311

Dark Raider is almost specifically for the Vivid as it was built from an AT&T Vivid base. You don't flash the boot.img through ADB, you flash through fastboot.

Sent from my HTC Vivid

That's what I meant. I went into the directory with fastboot and added the command prompt there and went from there.
19th April 2012, 05:14 PM |#9  
iStatiK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shelbytown
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12Fully

That's what I meant. I went into the directory with fastboot and added the command prompt there and went from there.

Is your phone plugged in? Are you coming from a previous ICS ROM? If not, you have to lock bootloader, flash, then unlock.
19th April 2012, 07:35 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iStatiK

Is your phone plugged in? Are you coming from a previous ICS ROM? If not, you have to lock bootloader, flash, then unlock.

With the bootloader locked it won't let me go into Recovery though.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes