FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[ROM] Revolver 4 by Gnufabio | 4.2.1 - IC421(G) | Sep 5 | TF101-TF101G-SL101 | Fast

1,386 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,534
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
19th April 2012, 02:38 PM |#1841  
mattmanwrx's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,978
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellywobbles

Thanks for taking the time to reply - much appreciated!

I have f*rted about for about an hour, to no avail.

When I tried this:-



I had much the same error!

As I tend to backup quite a bit of the stuff that's on my micrSD card to my PC, I found a CWM backup that I must have made shortly after installing Revolver 4.0.0 Beta 1.3. I copied this back over to microSD card - restorted via CWM & BINGO!

I am now "cooking on gas" again!

Unbelievable - everything seems to be OK!

Trouble is - I have got no idea what caused the problem in the first place, so I don't know if it will happen again

Wow, lucky
I would suggest backing up the sd card on internal data, and then formatting the system and data and well everything, and start from a fresh install, and then move back what you need... As something was definitely corrupted.. and also take regular backups, just in case

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
 
 
19th April 2012, 02:47 PM |#1842  
jellywobbles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fareham
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Thumbs down
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmanwrx

Looks like you need to format the whole of internal storage, including SD card... Sorry!!

My exuberance was short lived - lost of stuff missing on the internal storage

Can you tell me how I can format the internal storage etc to clear this?

When you say SD card do you mean my external microSD card?

Thanks
19th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#1843  
mattmanwrx's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,978
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellywobbles

My exuberance was short lived - lost of stuff missing on the internal storage

Can you tell me how I can format the internal storage etc to clear this?

When you say SD card do you mean my external microSD card?

Thanks

No, the sd is the internal storage i.e. your 16gb or 32gb used by the tab..

To format the system and everything else you need to go to recovery and mounts and storage and then there should be a format system, data etc, I think that it will be there, at least it was for older cwm recovery versions...

Please note, that it will be like starting again, with a fresh tf101 out the box (but with the last /system you flashed, be it revolver or what ever custom rom you have on there)

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
19th April 2012, 03:22 PM |#1844  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I've been running 4.0.0 RC1 for just over a week, overall I think it's great and I appriciate all the hard work. The tablet will operate very well for 48-72 hours then give me a SOD. In seven days it's happend twice. I've read a lot of people are doing very well on guevor's kernels. Which one would you guys reccomend for a B90? Thanks
19th April 2012, 03:37 PM |#1845  
jellywobbles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fareham
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmanwrx

No, the sd is the internal storage i.e. your 16gb or 32gb used by the tab..

To format the system and everything else you need to go to recovery and mounts and storage and then there should be a format system, data etc, I think that it will be there, at least it was for older cwm recovery versions...

Please note, that it will be like starting again, with a fresh tf101 out the box (but with the last /system you flashed, be it revolver or what ever custom rom you have on there)

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Thanks again for your help, but not making much progress.

In CWM - Format System & Format cache works ok

However "Format data" doesnt work - I get an error - see below

Formatting /data ....
Skipping erase of /data/media
Error removing /data/system/packages.xml! Error formatting /data!

Any ideas?

Thanks
19th April 2012, 03:52 PM |#1846  
mattmanwrx's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,978
 
Donate to Me
More
Hmmm, there maybe another way, but not too sure if it works with custom recoveries but I guess it is worth a try...
Power off the tab,
Press and hold the volume down button and the power button, and when prompted (have read after 10 seconds) press the up button
As I say, don't know if that still works with custom recoveries... Not too sure..

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
19th April 2012, 04:12 PM |#1847  
jellywobbles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fareham
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmanwrx

Hmmm, there maybe another way, but not too sure if it works with custom recoveries but I guess it is worth a try...
Power off the tab,
Press and hold the volume down button and the power button, and when prompted (have read after 10 seconds) press the up button
As I say, don't know if that still works with custom recoveries... Not too sure..

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Didn't work!

Would it be worth using NVFlash to flash a rooted Stock ROM such as this one here??
19th April 2012, 04:33 PM |#1848  
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rykatemom

Ambertx,

THANK YOU! That helped immensley. It was one of those moments of self-doubt where I really needed someone more knowledgeable than me to confirm my thoughts, and didn't want to do anything for fear of borking my TF101. The very first time I rooted it, when I got it last year, I accidentally erased my internal memory with one of those SuperWipe scripts, and I'm a touch paranoid of repeating that, as I lost some files that I needed, and had to scramble to re-create. I've learnt better, and web- and hard-backup everything now.

I had the problem with CWM doing the crazy loop thing, which I fixed (with youtube and the instructions from the thread) with Roach2010's patch. Is the Touch Recovery working without bugs, and if so, how do I go about updating it?

Thank you again for your help.

No problem, you update CWM the same way as flashing a rom. Download the zip and install from CWM. I have found it to be error free although with the new CWM you can only install zip stored on the internal memory.
Last edited by ambertx; 19th April 2012 at 04:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ambertx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 04:37 PM |#1849  
mattmanwrx's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,978
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellywobbles

Didn't work!

Would it be worth using NVFlash to flash a rooted Stock ROM such as this one here??

I'm not too sure on nvflash as have never used it... It could work, I don't know if it will overwrite the recovery... It could do or it might overwrite your /data so it can be formatted... Not 100% sure..
You could go.into the rom and then factory reset under settings/privacy, and then see if you can format /data?
Strange one you have here...

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
19th April 2012, 04:42 PM |#1850  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 969
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellywobbles

Didn't work!

Would it be worth using NVFlash to flash a rooted Stock ROM such as this one here??

If I were you, I would download a stock (unrooted) image and flash that via NVFLash. This WILL overwrite EVERYTHING though, including all user data.

But, it's the best way to get "back to factory" as in completely re-writes every partition.
19th April 2012, 05:12 PM |#1851  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
hey guys, I need a bit of help ...

Was using another ROM (ICS HD) and flashed 4.1.0RC1 last night ... everything works fine.

Except I can't restore apps from TiBa. When I click on apps to restore, it just keeps trying but can't restore any apps.

Any clue?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
fabio rules, tf101
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes