Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyone not have gps trouble on honeycomb?

OP jacobbones

15th April 2012, 12:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Im just curious if anybody out there is running the stock version of Honeycomb and NOT having any gps lock problems?
15th April 2012, 01:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
No problems here. Don't use the GPS extensively but I've not noticed a problem when I use it with either GB or HC.
15th April 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 4
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I use Sygic a ton! Like around 3 times a week and I have not had any problems on HC

Sent from my PG41200 using XDA
15th April 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
So your not running anything special?

Not rooted, or different kernal flashed. Stock version of HC?
16th April 2012, 11:25 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobbones

Im just curious if anybody out there is running the stock version of Honeycomb and NOT having any gps lock problems?

there is a patch on GPS from crypted,

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1267899

used it and check your gps with gps-status.

Hope this help,
16th April 2012, 12:08 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I saw that patch.

Looks like I will try and do that next day off.

Gotta root my tablet first though
16th April 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
When running CypherROM I had no problems with GPS lock.

I'm trying the de-sensed ROM now, and haven't tried GPS yet.
19th April 2012, 08:54 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 4
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
No, nothing special. Just the HC I got when i updated. No special Rom or anything.

Sent from my PG41200 using XDA
19th April 2012, 08:10 PM   |  #9  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 613
 
2,831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
This has been hashed over and over. There must be 10 similar thread on this forum so not sure why people see the need to open yet another one, but.

Nothing actually fully fixes the GPS issue in HTC honeycomb, same for all the custom HC variants. It appears to have a problem that repeatedly resets the GPS after a period of time. For some applications, it will still work if you are in a location that allows a fast lock again or for applications that need a one time fix. There is something buried deep in the driver or kernel that is playing havoc with the GPS.

STILL NOT FIXED ON ANY VARIANT OF HC.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes