Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,479 Members 48,317 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flashing query

Tip us?
 
rock2702
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 236
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bangalore
Default Flashing query

I m on stock gb rom and m not rooted.
For installing the aokp ics rom do i have flash the overcome gb stock safe zip for re-partitioning my system?or should i skip that step and start flashing the overcome kernel?I m new to flashing so a bit confused.

Tried flashing the overcome gb stock safe zip via odin today and ended up bricking my tab.Somehow i got the stock rom and flashed it via odin and my tab came back to life

PLZ help.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk
 
priyana
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1246
Posts: 3,111
Join Date: Jul 2007
Refer to this post for the overcome full guide with images:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=20974872

No way a stock rom work and GB-stock-safe-V5 bad. Usually it is just a bad download.
Find a sha1sum checker to make sure you get a good download.
Follow the guide including what to put in each of Odin's input box.
 
yappoe
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 296
Join Date: Nov 2011
Additional comments:
You do need to be rooted before installing any custom ROM.
 
priyana
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1246
Posts: 3,111
Join Date: Jul 2007
even to install Overcome 4.1?
I never need to root from stock.
 
yappoe
Old
(Last edited by yappoe; 19th April 2012 at 04:16 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 296
Join Date: Nov 2011
I rephrase, you do need to be rooted before you install any custom rom from recovery mode.
You don't need to be rooted if you install any firmware stock or customs via odin or Heimdell.

So if you install the overcome using .zip file (via CWM), yes you will need to be rooted, or you will get write access failure (think of it in windows, some installations you need admin access).

So get the overcome .rar (or .md5) file and install it via odin.
 
rock2702
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 236
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bangalore
Din know that.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk 2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more