FORUMS

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Flashing query

17th April 2012, 06:16 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
I m on stock gb rom and m not rooted.
For installing the aokp ics rom do i have flash the overcome gb stock safe zip for re-partitioning my system?or should i skip that step and start flashing the overcome kernel?I m new to flashing so a bit confused.

Tried flashing the overcome gb stock safe zip via odin today and ended up bricking my tab.Somehow i got the stock rom and flashed it via odin and my tab came back to life

PLZ help.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk
 
 
18th April 2012, 12:36 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,264
 
More
Refer to this post for the overcome full guide with images:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=20974872

No way a stock rom work and GB-stock-safe-V5 bad. Usually it is just a bad download.
Find a sha1sum checker to make sure you get a good download.
Follow the guide including what to put in each of Odin's input box.
18th April 2012, 04:32 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
Additional comments:
You do need to be rooted before installing any custom ROM.
18th April 2012, 04:52 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,264
 
More
even to install Overcome 4.1?
I never need to root from stock.
19th April 2012, 04:14 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
I rephrase, you do need to be rooted before you install any custom rom from recovery mode.
You don't need to be rooted if you install any firmware stock or customs via odin or Heimdell.

So if you install the overcome using .zip file (via CWM), yes you will need to be rooted, or you will get write access failure (think of it in windows, some installations you need admin access).

So get the overcome .rar (or .md5) file and install it via odin.
Last edited by yappoe; 19th April 2012 at 04:16 AM.
19th April 2012, 08:43 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Din know that.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes