Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROMS]NEW! Dualboot Mirage CM7 / ICS CM9 Image for SDcard [5/4]

OP racks11479

16th April 2012, 10:49 PM   |  #411  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 44
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
When using the CM7 part of this dual boot card, if connecting to usb on Windows 7, there is the option for usb mass storage through a simple click in the notifications. Is there a way to do the same with this CM9 boot? I have a program that wants to syncronize Win 7 to Nook but Windows tells me there is no Android device found.
17th April 2012, 04:56 AM   |  #412  
Srambo217's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CA
Thanks Meter: 43
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
It seems like no matter how I put CM7 on my Nook it shuts itself off within a few minutes. I'm also getting FCs every 30 seconds. No problems when running the stock OS, and ICS is super janky anyways.

This device was a very bad investment lol.

Sent from my DROID X2 using xda premium
Last edited by Srambo217; 17th April 2012 at 05:07 AM.
17th April 2012, 08:31 AM   |  #413  
RASTAVIPER's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 412
 
2,068 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbo

When using the CM7 part of this dual boot card, if connecting to usb on Windows 7, there is the option for usb mass storage through a simple click in the notifications. Is there a way to do the same with this CM9 boot? I have a program that wants to syncronize Win 7 to Nook but Windows tells me there is no Android device found.

To my Cm9 is working exactly the same way.
Did you try to unplug and then plug again til you see the notification for the storage?
Try also maybe another USB slot.

Unleashed from my Revolutionized Desire HD
17th April 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #414  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Question: In what manner I can update to a newer nightly? Can I download eyeballer's latest release and "update zip" using the SD CWM? I mean, does it know that it needs to be updated on the second partition, where the previous eyeballe's release resides?
17th April 2012, 06:26 PM   |  #415  
racks11479's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fresh Meadows
Thanks Meter: 751
 
990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyoboyo

Question: In what manner I can update to a newer nightly? Can I download eyeballer's latest release and "update zip" using the SD CWM? I mean, does it know that it needs to be updated on the second partition, where the previous eyeballe's release resides?

No, the zips need to be modded for it to flash correctly also the ramdisk needs to be edited to mount the correct partitions on boot.

Sorry I haven't been updating lately, just been real busy with alot of other stuff at the moment. I've been meaning to write a little script that that will give you the option to mod any zip file to flash to either the primary or secondary boot. It will be ran from your pc of course. I'll try it whip it up when ever I have some time this week.

-Racks
The Following User Says Thank You to racks11479 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 06:31 PM   |  #416  
shumash's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,995
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyoboyo

Question: In what manner I can update to a newer nightly? Can I download eyeballer's latest release and "update zip" using the SD CWM? I mean, does it know that it needs to be updated on the second partition, where the previous eyeballe's release resides?

You could do this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=179
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shumash For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2012, 06:58 PM   |  #417  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 44
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
I wrote this earlier: When using the CM7 part of this dual boot card, if connecting to usb on Windows 7, there is the option for usb mass storage through a simple click in the notifications. Is there a way to do the same with this CM9 boot? I have a program that wants to syncronize Win 7 to Nook but Windows tells me there is no Android device found.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RASTAVIPER

To my Cm9 is working exactly the same way.
Did you try to unplug and then plug again til you see the notification for the storage?
Try also maybe another USB slot.

I mis-spoke. It isn't Win 7 that complains, it is my program which is eWallet that I am tryijng to sync and eWallet says "no Android device found".
20th April 2012, 02:54 AM   |  #418  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
[QUOTE=shumash;22489290]I'm working on a step-by-step process and will post it shortly.

---------- Post added at 08:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------



To make sure that I didn't get the two builds mixed up, I followed this procedure:

1. Make sure that you have Rack's latest updated (.zip, not the .img) files from the second post, i.e. Update-Encore_CM9_DualbootSD_xxxxxxx.zip and Update-Mirage_CM7_DualbootSD_xxxxx.zip.

2. Download the latest Mirage and ICS builds from their respective threads.

3. Unzip the Mirage and ICS builds into separate folders. Go into the folders and delete the META-INF folders and the ramdisk.img files.

4. Open the CM9_DualbootSD .zip and unzip the META-INF folder and ramdisk.img file into your ICS folder. Do the same for the CM7_DualbootSD .zip into your Mirage folder.

5. Go into each of the folders, Mirage and ICS, and open the /system/etc folder. You'll find a file named vold.fstab. Open it in an editor like Notepad. It's not formatted, but find the line that looks like this:
Code:
## <sysfs_path> - List of sysfs paths to source devices
######################

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices
Change the "a" in "auto" to a "7" and delete the "uto". Save the file.

6. I added a step to get the proper CM9 bootanimation at startup. Go into the CM9_DualbootSD .zip file and drill down to the /system/media folder. Extract the bootanimation.zip file. Copy that file over the bootanimation.zip file in the same location in your ICS folder.

7. In each of the of the folders, Mirage and ICS, zip all the files into a .zip file (I use 7-Zip). Call them what you want, but use a name that distinguishes them from Rack's .zip files.

8. Copy the .zip files to your NC sdcard the same way you would Rack's files and flash them using the procedure he outlines for his own files. You'll have to flash gapps and all the other fixes he suggests.

9. Boot up using the normal dualboot procedure and deal with all the problems and issues associated with using nightly builds.

---------- Post added at 08:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:39 AM ----------



i have followed these steps exactly. when trying to install, every single modified zip file says "Installation aborted." and does not install. Do I need to sign these roms? what am I missing? I'm also trying to install the new Google Play vending.apk from goo-inside.me to the gapps files from racks. that's also giving me the same error while installing. any ideas?
20th April 2012, 04:50 AM   |  #419  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by krahim786

i have followed these steps exactly. when trying to install, every single modified zip file says "Installation aborted." and does not install. Do I need to sign these roms? what am I missing? I'm also trying to install the new Google Play vending.apk from goo-inside.me to the gapps files from racks. that's also giving me the same error while installing. any ideas?

Check your zip file on a PC. I made a mistake by putting the whole folder to a zip file that adds an extra level of directory to the file and got the same message. Once I realize the issue, I just select all the contents within the folder and compress to a zip file that solve the problem. You may have a different problem, but it is likely related to the zip file.
20th April 2012, 01:16 PM   |  #420  
DizzyDen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 563
 
1,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by racks11479

No, the zips need to be modded for it to flash correctly also the ramdisk needs to be edited to mount the correct partitions on boot.

Sorry I haven't been updating lately, just been real busy with alot of other stuff at the moment. I've been meaning to write a little script that that will give you the option to mod any zip file to flash to either the primary or secondary boot. It will be ran from your pc of course. I'll try it whip it up when ever I have some time this week.

-Racks

Racks... I could probably add the edits as options in the IMEI Generator program as well... Could be radio selections for primary or alternat OS.... let me know if you want me to work on it... or just let you whip out your program.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes