Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rogers/ATT HTC One X on WIND/T-Mobile (AWS)

OP danada

21st April 2012, 12:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 23
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
I know the phone comes locked from Rogers, but I was wondering if anyone has used an online unlocking service, trimmed a SIM into a microsim, and tested that the Rogers version does in fact work on WIND.

I will be doing this shortly, so check back for updates!

April 25, 2012 Part 2
I got the SIM from my friend and marked it up.


I cut the SIM down to microsim size.

Booted up my phone, entered the unlock code from cellunlocker.

And got no signal ):

This SIM is (was) working in an HTC Incredible S (international version that supports AWS) immediately before I trimmed it. The trim was successful since the SIM had a PIN lock and unlocking it was successful. I could also see the contacts stored on the SIM.

I went into testing mode to play with the radio settings.



And still get 'No Signal' and 'Emergency Only'.

I've notified HTC again about this and I'll let you know what they advise.

Also, if anyone wants to help me recover the cost of a new WIND SIM ($25), I'd greatly appreciate it, although it's highly unnecessary (:

April 25, 2012
Just an update: I contacted HTC regarding the discrepancy between the official specifications (AWS on wcdma), and Rogers' specifications (AWS on LTE only) and received this very promising response:

Quote:

Thank you for contacting HTC. I would be glad to clarify this for you Daniel.

The HTC One X as sold by Rogers Wireless supports the following bands LTE CAT3 - DL 100 /UL 50; LTE: 700/AWS; WCDMA: 2100/1900/AWS/850; EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 .

It should not be a problem for you to use an unlocked version of this device with the Canadian carrier of your choice, if you so choose. To ensure that the tech specs on our support site were accurate, I conferred with our escalations team. You can be confident that it does indeed support the bands as indicated.

As for why these specs differ on the Rogers support page, I cannot say. Originally the specs were posted there the same as the official HTC support page. I have brought this to the attention of the appropriate department internally on your behalf. They will look into contacting Rogers to see about having the data corrected on their site to avoid any further confusion to our HTC customers.

For more tech specs or to get the user manual for this phone, please visit our official support site at http://www.htc.com/ca/support/htcone...rs/tech-specs/ . On the downloads tab you can access your user guide if necessary. Use the binocular icon on the left to enter keywords. This will search the guide and provide you a list of pages that refer to your search term.

If you have any other questions for me, please don't hesitate to reply Daniel. We are open from 6am to 1am eastern time, 7 days a week.

Thank you again for contacting HTC, and have a great evening!

I'll follow-through on my test run on WIND tomorrow (going to cut up a friend's SIM!).

~dan
Last edited by danada; 10th May 2012 at 09:41 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to danada For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2012, 02:12 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Thanks. I'll be looking forward to your findings. I'm interested in using it for Mobilicity.
21st April 2012, 02:31 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 23
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapisclean

Thanks. I'll be looking forward to your findings. I'm interested in using it for Mobilicity.

I might wait a little longer before I test this since WIND will officially be selling Microsims when they release the Lumia 710. Going to trim my Rogers sim now though. Wish me luck (:
21st April 2012, 04:27 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 119
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danada

I might wait a little longer before I test this since WIND will officially be selling Microsims when they release the Lumia 710. Going to trim my Rogers sim now though. Wish me luck (:

Good luck from one of your southern neighbors. Damn it, T-Mobile. Why you gotta make me have to look to phones on other networks :]
21st April 2012, 06:26 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 23
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosquidtaste

Good luck from one of your southern neighbors. Damn it, T-Mobile. Why you gotta make me have to look to phones on other networks :]

Successfully trimmed my Rogers fat-sim into a microsim without much reference (I don't have a microsim to measure or anything). This is a good sign as I should be able to trim the WIND sim once I get this sucker unlocked!
21st April 2012, 06:51 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, BC
Thanks Meter: 396
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Its about $20 to unlock, which isn't bad. I plan to buy the phone for use on WIND when the price drops a little bit more.
There is no reason why it shouldn't work apart from being SIM locked.
21st April 2012, 07:11 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 364
 
2,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you'd like to PM me when you're done, I'd like to write about it for the XDA Portal

Try to be as informative as possible lol, so I can better describe to others what you're doing
The Following User Says Thank You to PoorCollegeGuy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2012, 05:03 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 23
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorCollegeGuy

If you'd like to PM me when you're done, I'd like to write about it for the XDA Portal

Try to be as informative as possible lol, so I can better describe to others what you're doing

Sure thing. I might write about it as well, so it might save you some trouble and give you some pictures to work with (:
22nd April 2012, 02:38 AM   |  #9  
fungflex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denville, NJ
Thanks Meter: 88
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danada

Sure thing. I might write about it as well, so it might save you some trouble and give you some pictures to work with (:

Did you do the unlock yet? I am very curious if the model can be used on WIND and in return T-Mobile here in the US. VERY VERY curious about this, shoot me a PM as I am willing to donate to your cause to unlock it just so I could find out the truth about the bands.
Last edited by fungflex; 22nd April 2012 at 02:44 AM.
22nd April 2012, 03:19 AM   |  #10  
killathenoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton
Thanks Meter: 83
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Just to let everyone know I bought the phone on Friday from rogers and used cell unlocked (google it) it only cost $8 USD and I'm now using it on Telus. The unlock code only took about an hour and they emailed it to me.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes