Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,727 Members 51,920 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Flash ICS with heimdell or odin instead of using .zips?

Tip us?
 
jago25_98
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default [Q] Flash ICS with heimdell or odin instead of using .zips?

Every zip I try gives me a bootloop. Yes, I clear the cache, davork cache & factory reset.

All I want is an ICS rom back again.

Can't I just flash straight to ICS using hiemdall or Odin?

The problem I have is that nobody seems to document what stock rom they are starting out with.

The good news is that it's a lot easier to get a CWM Recovery menu with a hiemdall kernel flash.

What's the procedure for you? Which .ics odin ROM did you start with, did that include a CWM Recovery kernel and what did you flash next with it?

This is driving me mad. I've been at this for literally days now. I'd pay to get it sorted.
RSS feed for NookTouch Dev forum: http://forum.xda-developers.com/exte...&forumids=1201 Refer to each phone by it's model name where possible - i.e. "i9000", not "Galaxy S" - easier searching
 
jago25_98
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default $10 reward

Please for the love of god!

Why does every .zip result in a boot loop and so I need to start again??

$10 reward via Bitcoin for help that gets this cleared up.
RSS feed for NookTouch Dev forum: http://forum.xda-developers.com/exte...&forumids=1201 Refer to each phone by it's model name where possible - i.e. "i9000", not "Galaxy S" - easier searching
 
sthomas38
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 690
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Wipe all then flash then re-flash .

Envoyé depuis mon GT-I9000 avec Tapatalk
 
jago25_98
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojan38 View Post
Wipe all then flash then re-flash .

Envoyé depuis mon GT-I9000 avec Tapatalk
With what .md5 file?


edit: (i've been here before... perhaps 40 times...)
RSS feed for NookTouch Dev forum: http://forum.xda-developers.com/exte...&forumids=1201 Refer to each phone by it's model name where possible - i.e. "i9000", not "Galaxy S" - easier searching
 
Lexrsk
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 163
Join Date: Feb 2012
most of the ICS ROM's require to be flashed twice if coming from a "stock" ROM. ie Samsung or Samsung Based. This is due to the different file system type

I believe that the only exception to this rule is if you are on CM7 and flashing to ICS

I personally have flashed successfully from Darky's 10.2 on JVQ kernel to Team ICS ICSSGS 4.2
No need to say thanks just use the thanks button

Samsung Galaxy S
Telstra GT-I9000T
Currently running stock OS

Previous ROM/Modem/Kernel

ROM>> Team ICSSGS RC4.2
Modem>> JVQ
Kerrnel>> Semaphore ICS 0.9.1
The Following User Says Thank You to Lexrsk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes