XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

Camera module from another Xperia?

19th April 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Hi

Is it possible to replace Play's camera module for a NEO's 8Mp one or from another xperia 2011 phone, like Ray or Arc?

I've seen some disassembly videos and the connector seems to be the same in all of them.

Regards
19th April 2012, 10:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 22
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I don't know but I'd imagine that it would require kernel modifications and would be an overly complex solution...
20th April 2012, 01:41 AM   |  #3  
ezadsyafiq99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Malacca
Thanks Meter: 58
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
depend on rom..

Sent from my R800i using XDA App
20th April 2012, 02:20 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by University of Pi

I don't know but I'd imagine that it would require kernel modifications and would be an overly complex solution...

Well i know if we have a Neo V and get the 8mp camera module of Neo and flash the Neo camera files we get a full Neo.

Since the conectors are the same the module should work i think and with that the camera files should work on Play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezadsyafiq99

depend on rom..

Sent from my R800i using XDA App

What do you mean?
21st April 2012, 12:12 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Nothing?
21st April 2012, 01:20 AM   |  #6  
CTU_Loscombe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sunderland
Thanks Meter: 113
 
635 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium
21st April 2012, 05:33 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 22
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTU_Loscombe

I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium

I think he's talking about swapping out the physical module

that's why I said and ezadsyafiq99 said that it would certainly require software modifications (somehow I can't think of a wording that comes off less angry sounding; I'm just trying to explain
21st April 2012, 11:29 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTU_Loscombe

I'm sure megapixel is hardware related. I doubt flashing a different camera would work
Kinda like asking "If I flash my NES could I make it into an Xbox360?"

Sent from my R800i using xda premium

Well, like University answered, i was talking about switching the hardware camnera module from another phone (Neo,Arc) since in the Neo V you can use the 8mp module of Neo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by University of Pi

I think he's talking about swapping out the physical module

that's why I said and ezadsyafiq99 said that it would certainly require software modifications (somehow I can't think of a wording that comes off less angry sounding; I'm just trying to explain



Well i will assume that isnīt just switch the module, also some libs and etc.., but i would like to know is if any one knows if there is a module that is plug and play (aside from the software mod).
22nd April 2012, 07:13 AM   |  #9  
MrHaPpY66's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anaheim,California
Thanks Meter: 17
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
If you switch the camera of the play for the neo, doesn't that mean you'll need to.switch the camera.apk because the one the play has the mp option up to 5mp

Sent from my R800x using XDA
22nd April 2012, 01:27 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaPpY66

If you switch the camera of the play for the neo, doesn't that mean you'll need to.switch the camera.apk because the one the play has the mp option up to 5mp

Sent from my R800x using XDA



Well, if a camera module of Neo is hardware compatible, i will assume that i will need to change the camera.apk and libs and some more software related.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes