Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Questions on Bryan's CM7 build

OP nazcalito

20th April 2012, 09:12 PM   |  #1  
nazcalito's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 46
 
10
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I didn't want to clutter up the dev thread with these questions, but I've never used any CM build on any phone.

I unzipped Bryan's CM7 build to see what was inside and noticed it didn't seem to have a launcher and didn't seem to have any market app. Ok so does that mean you have to pre install Google apps from the SDcard to be able to access the market?

In reading the instructions, it seems like Bryan's CM7 build uses the same kernel as his regular beta kernel thread but that can't be right, can it, with the discussion on the thread....

I noticed that the Google apps were all modified for CM7, so does that mean that ordinary apps won't work unless they're modified?

Can I still use the TW4 launcher on CM7? Used to it.

The business about USB storage not working in Android. I assume that means you can't put anything on the SDcard using the USB cable after Android has booted up so that you have to push everything on there with ADB, is that it, in recovery mode?
21st April 2012, 02:24 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Bronx, NY
Thanks Meter: 2
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
1. It does contain a launcher; Its called ADW Launcher.
2. Yes, you would need to flash the google apps. I use this one
http://goo.im/gapps/gapps-gb-20110828-signed.zip
and this one http://goo.im/gapps/gapps-gb-2011082...alk-signed.zip
3. You flash the gapps-gb-20110828-signed.zip file then the gapps-gb-20110828-newtalk-signed.zip google talk with video chat support.

4. Its a different kernel. CM7 is using the MTD version. While regular stock roms use BML.

5. I believe you can use the google apps on those files on any rom. But most roms already bring them integrated.

6. Apps developed for use on the Galaxy S phones like TWLauncher et al will not work as they hook onto some samsung specific programming.

7. As mentioned in 6, you cannot use TWLauncher on cm7.

8. Yes you would have to push everything through ADB in the meantime. Pushing/puling through adb does not require rebooting to recovery though.
21st April 2012, 08:38 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore ,MD
Thanks Meter: 1
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Can someone make a video on how to install the rom?
22nd April 2012, 07:31 PM   |  #4  
Juls317's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indy
Thanks Meter: 251
 
2,068 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just follow the written instructions on the thread and you'll be fine

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
23rd April 2012, 05:24 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore ,MD
Thanks Meter: 1
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Honestly they confuse the crap outta me. A video would dumb it down for me and im sure a few others.
23rd April 2012, 05:36 AM   |  #6  
Fluidification's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,486
 
2,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
IDK how the heck I made my efs backup.

But if anyhow, you manage to make some sort of a tar file with your efs files, you should be fine.

After that,

do the erase_image

and mount /efs

and cd /efs

and tar xf anybackupname.tar

you will install. That is if you get your.
23rd April 2012, 05:39 AM   |  #7  
Biohazard0289's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donte21

Honestly they confuse the crap outta me. A video would dumb it down for me and im sure a few others.

My suggestion is to wait until the install procedure is easier.

In the CM7 OP, Bryan said (twice) to re-read OP after updates.
Making a video will give you proper instructions for this build, but if Bryan updates the install procedure users following the video are going to have a mixed bag of results, and possible bricks.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Biohazard0289 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2012, 03:36 PM   |  #8  
cybok0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 34
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
when I try to Heimdall the boot.img I get a warning that says Tar header contained an invalid file size.
23rd April 2012, 03:40 PM   |  #9  
Juls317's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indy
Thanks Meter: 251
 
2,068 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybok0

when I try to Heimdall the boot.img I get a warning that says Tar header contained an invalid file size.

Are you using the heimdall command prompt? Or the heimdall program?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
23rd April 2012, 03:58 PM   |  #10  
cybok0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 34
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juls317

Are you using the heimdall command prompt? Or the heimdall program?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium

Program, I just started reading the one click guide, I think I should of tried that first right?

---------- Post added at 09:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 AM ----------

I will have to try this on my day off, a lot of reading and understanding to do.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes