FORUMS

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] need restore help please

21st April 2012, 12:53 AM |#1  
nash2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Im currently running the first flight Rom and wanted to go back to alpha 2...i tried a reflash but my phone is still on the other Rom, i did another reset and reflash of alpha but it still hasn't change. I than tried to use my nandroid backup which ice used before but when i try to use it it tells me nothing on file...what do i do

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
 
 
21st April 2012, 01:45 AM |#2  
nash2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
After about 4 attempts i was able to flash alpha 2 and my back ups seem to be there as well...not just empty folders like before, weird

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 12:28 AM |#3  
Coffinfeeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
That is odd. Make sure you always factory reset multiple times as well as wipe cache multiple times when switching roms.

So you would:
- factory reset x3
- wipe cache x3
- wipe dalvik x1
- flash new rom

This should help with experiencing less if these type issues as well as other bugs.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 01:09 AM |#4  
nash2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffinfeeder

That is odd. Make sure you always factory reset multiple times as well as wipe cache multiple times when switching roms.

So you would:
- factory reset x3
- wipe cache x3
- wipe dalvik x1
- flash new rom

This should help with experiencing less if these type issues as well as other bugs.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

I actually do those steps. I flashed one of the other ics roms and I didn't really like it so I tried to flash alpha back, after reboot I was still on the other rom...I tried again with same result, finally I used my backup. This time the same thing happened but I was on a different rom, the only difference was I wasn't able to use my back up, backup folder said "no file" when trying to flash, so I was pretty much forced to keep trying to flash alpha, finally it worked and I checked my cwm folder and my backups are there and are not empty. Odd

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 01:22 AM |#5  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kissimmee
Thanks Meter: 670
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000

I actually do those steps. I flashed one of the other ics roms and I didn't really like it so I tried to flash alpha back, after reboot I was still on the other rom...I tried again with same result, finally I used my backup. This time the same thing happened but I was on a different rom, the only difference was I wasn't able to use my back up, backup folder said "no file" when trying to flash, so I was pretty much forced to keep trying to flash alpha, finally it worked and I checked my cwm folder and my backups are there and are not empty. Odd

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

weird considering when you do a restore it erases boot partition before starting to restore so unless you used the wrong backup file it should've worked the first time.
22nd April 2012, 02:28 AM |#6  
nash2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roloracer

weird considering when you do a restore it erases boot partition before starting to restore so unless you used the wrong backup file it should've worked the first time.

I only used the restore one time a week or so ago because everytime I tried to flash back to alpha I was still on the collective rom. Thats when I used my backup and it worked but this time the same time happened....flashed alpha like 3 times and nothing happened, I than tried to use my backup but my phone told me the backup file was empty, I have 2 backups and my phone told me the same thing on both. I continued to flash alpha over and over again with wiping date etc each time and it finally worked, and my backups have data in them unlike before.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes