Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,856 Members 46,053 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL] Siyah - JELLYBEAN - ICS [v4.3.3] "One kernel to rule them all!"

Tip us?
 
Schultz_91
Old
#961  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktoonsez View Post
Ok, I figured that wouldnt work but was worth a try. Link removed.
5 dolla please.
Current Phone: Debloated G900A, ART runtime!

Previous Phones:
Nexus 5, Moto X, HTC One, Nexus 4, Galaxy S III, Galaxy S II,
Captivate Glide, Motorola Atrix, HTC Aria, Galaxy S
 
ktoonsez
Old
#962  
ktoonsez's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 37728
Posts: 13,768
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tempe

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmckenn2 View Post
Man you're on top of it. I don't but I'll take a look at home. What's your build time like. What rig you using?
Takes 68 seconds now with the SSD drive added to my 3960x proc and ASUS P9X79 mobo, 16gb of RAM. I think I will have to move my Ubuntu to a HDD though, dont want to kill the SSD.

If you like my work, donate with this link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/dona....php?u=4325945
_____________________________
Do NOT flash my kernels if you are allergic to AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
_____________________________
 
ktoonsez
Old
#963  
ktoonsez's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 37728
Posts: 13,768
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tempe

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schultz_91 View Post
5 dolla please.
Lol

If you like my work, donate with this link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/dona....php?u=4325945
_____________________________
Do NOT flash my kernels if you are allergic to AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
_____________________________
 
drakester09
Old
#964  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 862
Posts: 1,269
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpazevedo View Post
Maybe it did't work and it bricked their phone so they can't post?
Exactly. :/
 
unkindestdude
Old
#965  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 115
Join Date: Jan 2011
Just out of curiosity, this is version still doesnt have the primary & secondary rom swap does it?
 
Koizuma
Old
#966  
Koizuma's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 725
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkindestdude View Post
Just out of curiosity, this is version still doesnt have the primary & secondary rom swap does it?
you can swap in RC5
Info: KitKat 4.4.2 / S-Off


⇩⇩ Please be sure to hit thanks if this post helped you!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Koizuma For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LiLChris06
Old
#967  
LiLChris06's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1281
Posts: 2,381
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: XDA
Ktoon what happened to removing the...

no
no
no
no
no


 
Kaleptik
Old
#968  
Kaleptik's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1233
Posts: 3,781
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koizuma View Post
you can swap in RC5
I'm an extreme noob when it comes to kernels, but is possible to just have the swap method change what mount points it uses for the primary and secondary ROM instead of the Backup, Clone, then Restore it does?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S II w/ DUAL BOOT: CM9 / MIUI

Devices:
LG Nexus 4 - Stock + Xposed
Samsung Captivate - CM 11
Samsung Galaxy S II - AOKP
 
tmckenn2
Old
#969  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 345
Join Date: Nov 2010
as to the mount point swap for multiple roms.... yes there are a few methods that allow this but are all on a lower level aka bootloader. and the only person who really touches that is adam i think. he made a post about the hardware dump a month ago but i dont know if he is actively working on it.

as our current method... its a little more complicated than that. let me give you some background bear with me:

the boot loader is calling the same kernel for both roms and the kernel loads the initramfs. that stands for init RAM FS (or file system) then finally it loads init. that is the thing that loads mount points, modules, does some other crazy stuff. easiest way is to get a linux box and turn off the spash screen on start up and read the kernel output. it does some crazy stuff. so in essence it does change the mount points that it loads for the rom os. its like CHROOT if you know what that is. a watered down explanation is there is a folder with a bash in it and all the operators called root. chroot or "change root" tells the processor to start taking job requests and executing from the other folder. now the kernel option that we use does this before the other os loads so it isnt exactly chroot...

the problem i assume you are talking about is in the recovery... and how to flash .zips. that is a whole different beast. in the change log he released for rc4 i think he mentions adding support for flashing to second rom. this is a lot easier prospect than loading a second rom as all you need to do is point the script to the new file system. for instance if you go to the recovery and go into mounts. you can see the things recovery mounts. that is the rom file system. the recovery can mount the second rom and have the script do its magic thinking it is running on a normal rom. which btw all a .zip does is usually clear a few things extract a kernel image to a temp dir. and then finally move it to the final dir. and then copy over /system and the like... most of it is pure copy type commands...


ktoon... that is a very snappy processor. you could say that im jelly
 
ktoonsez
Old
#970  
ktoonsez's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 37728
Posts: 13,768
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tempe

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice write-up there

If you like my work, donate with this link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/dona....php?u=4325945
_____________________________
Do NOT flash my kernels if you are allergic to AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
_____________________________

Tags
i tagged dis bitch, siyah i777, siyah kernel, so smooth i almost came, stable
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes