FORUMS

Is the LG G4’s Camera Really DSLR-worthy?

After months of anticipation, the LG G4 was finally unveiled today, showing off an … more

SuperSU Beta Updates With Minor Fix For Galaxy S6

ChainFire’s root permissions app SuperSU has updated to v.2.49 to fix audits on … more

LG G4 Day Event Coverage: Specs, Features, Design & More!

LG has been teasing us with a countdown for a while now, and today it reached … more

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Official ASUS Thread - ICS Update on TF101 (20-Mar-2012)

20th April 2012, 08:27 PM |#441  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My TF101
It seems that every day when I get to work and pull the device out of by backpack, It is stuck on the Asus logo... Fine, hold power button for 10 seconds, reboot, no more problems the rest of the day.

Screen tears, happens quite a bit when I have used many apps in a short period of time, as long as I am able to switch between apps, not really a big concern for me.

I used to be one who would try all the little tips and tricks, found out over time, it just messed my device up more than it helped it... Waiting on Asus to send a fix. That is if this model is still in their sights... they may be pulling a Samsung and are now focusing on the Prime, 300 and newer devices...

Love ICS on it. Found that the support is a lot more responsive on google + and Facebook... they actually respond to some of my questions and comments. Appreciate this thread as I watch it to see what is going on. Thanks guys/gals.
 
 
20th April 2012, 09:05 PM |#442  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 634
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Detection*

Just shows ASUS still have no clue, this entire thread proves wiping does not cure things, only slows them down

No, it shows front line tech support don't have a clue. Big difference; having worked tech support myself a decade ago, I know very well that tech support will not be getting full info on a problem that the development team has barely come to grips with yet, and any info they do get will be mixed in with a million other advisories on all the other products they're expected to support.
20th April 2012, 09:54 PM |#443  
CalvinH's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxploration

No, it shows front line tech support don't have a clue. Big difference; having worked tech support myself a decade ago, I know very well that tech support will not be getting full info on a problem that the development team has barely come to grips with yet, and any info they do get will be mixed in with a million other advisories on all the other products they're expected to support.

+1 Just because Asus support by email - phone doesn't have an answer doesn't means Asus doesn't know what to do about it... These are the same people that, after the first problems on HC on the first units, advised about to start Windows in Safe mode and things like that...

Let's hope they get the fix soon as Gary says in first post
20th April 2012, 10:08 PM |#444  
gadzooks64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Gary sent me the update to try out.

I've only had it running for a few hours but so far so good. If this holds up I suspect it will be released to the masses.

Keep your fingers crossed!

I have family and friends with TF101s that also have these problems. I hope for all our sakes ASUS gets this figured out soon.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
20th April 2012, 10:16 PM |#445  
sbiriguda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L'Aquila
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadzooks64

Gary sent me the update to try out.

If you aren't under NDA, could you tell us if you got a userdebug build or a fully-fledged release build (IOW ro.build.type and ro.build.tags)?

Also, could you try to check if the front camera sensor goes insane if you switch it on and off repeatedly in low-light conditions?
20th April 2012, 10:27 PM |#446  
*Detection*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 716
 
Donate to Me
More
Why do people think updates would be under some NDA ?

Its an update not a secret unreleased piece of software that when finalized will have a price-tag

The only difference between it and what we have is a few alterations in the code to fix bugs

Take off your tin-foil hats
20th April 2012, 10:38 PM |#447  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 965
 
More
Actually, I am one of the testers and we ARE under an NDA....

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jtrosky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2012, 10:48 PM |#448  
sbiriguda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L'Aquila
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Detection*

Why do people think updates would be under some NDA ?

Corporate policy.
Big corps (OEMs, ISVs) tend to require an NDA for all unreleased software - and sometimes the definition of "unreleased" is so broad that it covers even interim builds of updates for released software.
21st April 2012, 01:57 AM |#449  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 634
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiriguda

Corporate policy.
Big corps (OEMs, ISVs) tend to require an NDA for all unreleased software - and sometimes the definition of "unreleased" is so broad that it covers even interim builds of updates for released software.

Exactly. It's very likely that legal requires dev to NDA anybody receiving the software, just so that if it gets out in public and somehow damages somebody's hardware their asses are appropriately covered.
21st April 2012, 02:10 AM |#450  
gadzooks64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
I don't know of any official NDA but I was asked not to share the update with anyone.

I'm not rooted so I don't think I can tell you if this is an official release or not but I'm inclined to believe it is equivalent to an official release.

I do still have the logcat app installed and will you it if necessary.

So far I have not had any freezing or rebooting but I have seen a couple of screen tears. I have been using it pretty much nonstop since I installed the update about 7 hours ago.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
tf101, transformer
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes