FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

kexec bootloader bypass coming in a few days

222 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
 
By ssinisterss, Senior Member on 11th April 2012, 06:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th April 2012, 07:56 PM |#71  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dri94

Willis that is awesome. Update what happens as you further play around when you get a chance

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk

Of course, I just haven't had much of a chance to sit at a computer yet and put mine in storage last week until the beginning of may. Hopefully over the next few days we can figure something out to at least get kexec to start loading(even if it fails, it will be progress).

I've run into something odd. Regardless of permissions/file placement etc it seems that I just get file not found (fnf) when running physicalmem/kexec etc. I've tried setting the folder in my patch, dumping the files in /system/bin, linking to xbin, even calling them by name with or without the full path yields these results. I've seen a few posts on the razr forums of users experiencing the same issue on an actual razr but not much in the way of a solution. The files aren't affected by different mount points, that was the first issue I tackled and the eason for the modded zip. Gonna keep poking around (should mention I've tried w/no custom bootstrap, cwm and safestrap but on the original system, installing the .zip manually and setting permissions and installing my modified zip with cwm/safestrap but same results). It could(probably is) that subtle differences between the d3 and razr bootloader code will require bigger tweaks to get this up on our devices.
Last edited by Willis111; 20th April 2012 at 10:44 PM.
 
 
21st April 2012, 01:07 AM |#72  
MyNarwhalBacon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So-Cal
Thanks Meter: 244
 
Donate to Me
More
If you can get this working I would recommend you get a donation account open. There will be many grateful people on here.
21st April 2012, 02:14 AM |#73  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
ill second that. Is there any chance trying to port the original gsm hack rather than the cdma port may be easier?
21st April 2012, 04:53 AM |#74  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesusishere

If you can get this working I would recommend you get a donation account open. There will be many grateful people on here.

Sounds like a bounty which is probably not really a bad idea. I wad thinking that about the gsm hack but just because I'm holding an xt860, I think that working with the cdma hack will be crucial for verizon users, just have to get my computer out of storage, in the middle of moving but should be setup by ~ tues/wed. Hopefully Rick#2 or someone will be poking around with this a little more as well as time allows and we'll at least see some small steps somewhere. I think an issue I'm running into is not being on stock which seems to have a decent impact judging by the razr thread, it might be easier for a stock xt862 user(vs my 860) to try the edited zip since this would be closer to what's confirmed working.
21st April 2012, 05:58 AM |#75  
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
I do remember reading in the RAZR threads that it should be done/works best over a stock system.
21st April 2012, 11:11 AM |#76  
Dri94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 613
 
Donate to Me
More
What are you using to detect the ugs? And im sure someone here, including me, wouldnt mind testing it for ya lol

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
21st April 2012, 04:38 PM |#77  
oostah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cullowhee
Thanks Meter: 130
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dri94

What are you using to detect the ugs? And im sure someone here, including me, wouldnt mind testing it for ya lol

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk

i have 862 would test.
21st April 2012, 04:45 PM |#78  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsox985

I do remember reading in the RAZR threads that it should be done/works best over a stock system.

Indeed, they say it fails when not used over a stock system, and anything that interrupts the normal boot process, like, say, how safestrap hijacks the boot, will also cause it to fail. I was also reading some of the newer posts on one of the threads, and a possibility of it not working on CDMA is not just because it's CDMA, it's because there's so much crapware on the phone that there's a possibility that some of that could be affecting it (as apps like System Tuner can apparently muck up the process and cause it to fail, it's possible that bloatware can too).
1st July 2012, 07:44 PM |#79  
jonpry's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
Donate to Me
More
I see this thread has been dead for awhile. But I am picking up the torch on this project. It's been an uphill battle but I've made significant progress. Here is my latest boot log. http://pastebin.com/p3LB8MAN

Beyond that it can't calibrate the delay loop yet. Either because the timer is stalled or interrupts in general aren't working.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jonpry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2012, 11:38 PM |#80  
thingonaspring's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
@jonpry
Great to hear you're trying to port this to D3.

Have you tried contacting embeem/kholk for advice on the delay calibration issue?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1599648
2nd July 2012, 12:57 AM |#81  
jonpry's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
Donate to Me
More
Most of my work is based on the earlier work done by kholk and embeem. I've tried to contact kholk on irc without luck so far. The git repository of his work suggests they never had the same problems I've had. Like the serial port didn't require what it did on d3. I'm not sure if the OMAP is a different revision or what.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jonpry For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes