FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[DEV][TOOL] kernel.sin unpacker {UPDATED for Z1 and above!}

13,136 posts
Thanks Meter: 39,528
 
By DooMLoRD, Recognized Developer on 15th September 2011, 12:05 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th April 2012, 05:43 PM |#51  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 39,528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by championswimmer

we do not really have an official unlocked bootloader....what we really have is bypass which neglects checking the kernel headers(yes the-laser's method is also essentially a bypass ... only the OEM can actually unlock bootloader and Sony has NOT done so for x10)... thus accessing partitions is still not possible.



Sent from my X10S using xda premium

That's wrong... The signature is still checked by the hacked loader of the_laser...

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA
 
 
20th April 2012, 06:04 PM |#52  
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

That's wrong... The signature is still checked by the hacked loader of the_laser...

Sent from my HTC One X using XDA

oh... ok...sorry... my ignorance

OFFTOPIC
what are these mtd4 and userdate partitions for.. seem like hidden partitions.... or for baseband usage?

___continuing here and not spamming the thread more ____

yes i was talking of the fourth one
apps log? hmm i didnt know that...other three i knew
thanks


Sent from my X10S using xda premium
Last edited by championswimmer; 20th April 2012 at 06:14 PM.
20th April 2012, 06:07 PM |#53  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 39,528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by championswimmer

oh... ok...sorry... my ignorance

OFFTOPIC
what are these mtd4 and userdate partitions for.. seem like hidden partitions.... or for baseband usage?

Sent from my X10S using xda premium

the mtds are for:
/system
/data
/cache

and i think there is one for apps log...

MTD format is usually used for NAND based device..
21st April 2012, 02:17 AM |#54  
CosmicDan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Coast
Thanks Meter: 3,898
 
Donate to Me
More
....so I guess that means no I could have sworn it was possible while building the kernel (in cygwin or preferably linux of course) when I looked at the code a while back, but I gave up because it'd require a custom recovery image. Oh well, I've gotten used to TB-Pro "Integrate System App" filters I use to save space on /data.
4th May 2012, 07:34 PM |#55  
brenty108's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag santa flora
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Medium user
I um...I'm lost I download pearl and the file from this trend but what next? I wanna extra the system.sin from my x10 2.3.3. someone please reply. I'm using Windows Xp.
7th May 2012, 11:51 AM |#56  
CosmicDan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Coast
Thanks Meter: 3,898
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenty108

I um...I'm lost I download pearl and the file from this trend but what next? I wanna extra the system.sin from my x10 2.3.3. someone please reply. I'm using Windows Xp.

Completely different. You need to use SIN2BIN tool then extract (or mount) the img with some .img tool that can read yaffs2 filesystems. On Windows it's complicated, you are better off just flashing the stock FTF ROM then doing adb pull /system with USB Debugging.

If you don't know how to do that, you probably shouldn't be doing whatever it is you're trying to do
9th September 2012, 05:51 PM |#57  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Question
I have maybe a stupid question, but bear with me..

I have a boot.img is around 10MB in size.

When I use unpack_kernelsin or the method explained by iridaki and after repacking the new-boot.img the total size is only around 5.2MB .. why is that?

also that new-boot.img is not working on my tablet. the --cmdline (in ./repack_bootimg.pl) says it is: ''androidboot.hardware=qcom", that's the only parameter I inpup in --cmdline,

anyways some light on this issue is appreciated.
10th September 2012, 03:54 AM |#58  
iridaki's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 5,058
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketero

I have maybe a stupid question, but bear with me..

I have a boot.img is around 10MB in size.

When I use unpack_kernelsin or the method explained by iridaki and after repacking the new-boot.img the total size is only around 5.2MB .. why is that?

also that new-boot.img is not working on my tablet. the --cmdline (in ./repack_bootimg.pl) says it is: ''androidboot.hardware=qcom", that's the only parameter I inpup in --cmdline,

anyways some light on this issue is appreciated.

This tool you are referring tool is only to be used with Xperia 2011 devices.
It will not work on any other tablet/smartphone model.
10th September 2012, 05:41 PM |#59  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridaki

This tool you are referring tool is only to be used with Xperia 2011 devices.
It will not work on any other tablet/smartphone model.

who know, I found this tool: the DsiXDA's Kitchen tool and made a successful newboot.img that I could flash. but still not full support for scripts running at /system/etc/init.d at boot time.
Last edited by rocketero; 11th September 2012 at 11:33 PM.
12th September 2012, 09:07 PM |#60  
iridaki's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 5,058
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketero

who know, I found this tool: the DsiXDA's Kitchen tool and made a successful newboot.img that I could flash. but still not full support for scripts running at /system/etc/init.d at boot time.

You need to edit the ramdisk accordingly for that.
21st December 2012, 09:05 AM |#61  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,049
 
More
nice wotk, thx

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes