FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Tmobile manufacture warranty?

34 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By htwnzballa09, Member on 20th April 2012, 06:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I just got my galaxy s2 a month ago and was wondering, if I get a hardware defect or brick, will Tmobile replace It as long as its the first year on contract? That is what happened about 4 years ago with my other phone but I would like to know if Tmobile will still do this.

Thanks

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
 
 
20th April 2012, 08:12 PM |#2  
Towle's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,884
 
More
Rooting voids your warranty. If they can *see* its been rooted, you will be charged a restocking fee of $400+

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
21st April 2012, 01:04 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag College Station
Thanks Meter: 170
 
Donate to Me
More
It's best you go through Samsung, from eat I've heard, as they not really check if you're phones been rooted
21st April 2012, 06:16 AM |#4  
ToledoG28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ponce
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwnzballa09

I just got my galaxy s2 a month ago and was wondering, if I get a hardware defect or brick, will Tmobile replace It as long as its the first year on contract? That is what happened about 4 years ago with my other phone but I would like to know if Tmobile will still do this.

Thanks

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk

Well...i got mine about a couple months. They told me they could replace the phone only if phone has not been software or hardware modified..as i understand...only if they see phone is like when they gave it to u @ very first time. There is a way to restore ur phone and unroot it. So make sure u dowload the .tar file and keep it in PC in case u need to flash stock rom...via Odin before send phone to replace it....or any other similar situation. Follow the link at the bottom.

If u pay insurance Samsung will replace ur phone even if its stolen or lost. In that case u have to pay $150 in order to get a new one. Sorry about my english. ...just trying to help. Good luck.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1513359
Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA
Last edited by ToledoG28; 21st April 2012 at 06:25 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ToledoG28 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2012, 06:26 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToledoG28

Well...i got mine about a couple months. They told me they could replace the phone only if phone has not been software or hardware modified..as i understand...only if they see phone is like when they gave it to u @ very first time. There is a way to restore ur phone and unroot it. So make sure u dowload the .tar file and keep it in PC in case u need to flash stock rom...via Odin before send phone to replace it....or any other similar situation. Follow the link at the bottom.

If u pay insurance Samsung will replace ur phone even if its stolen or lost. In that case u have to pay $150 in order to get a new one. Sorry about my english. ...just trying to help. Good luck.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1513359
Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA

I've heard of T-Mobile replacing the phone at the cost of the $130 for Tier 3 Smart Phones, but Samsung replacing them? I haven't heard of that.
22nd April 2012, 07:55 AM |#6  
TerrorCandii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 160
 
More
Hmm...I voided my options the day I got mine, Lol.

TerrorCandii™ Gaming
22nd April 2012, 01:39 PM |#7  
sunlaw2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
I bought the insurance.
Thing is,everything in writing,it seems nothing is covered.
I spoke with tmo,and the insurance,and they both said "no matter what happens (excluding rooting/roms) "
Is covered.But in writing,nothing they said seems to be covered.
From my understanding tmo will replace the phone if its less than a year.But tmo is in financial hardship so who knows what they will do.
Im still waiting on a $30 credit for stuff I never purchased.
Forgive my English...
But,Im just illiterate.
Just go back to stock.its easy.
Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA
22nd April 2012, 03:18 PM |#8  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,197
 
Donate to Me
More
Samsung warranties their devices for 1 year, it has nothing to do with tmobile. Return your device to stock and get a new one if there is a problem. If it's hard bricked tmobile cant tell what you've done to it, anyways. They send it to sammy and they jtag it and it goes back into circulation as a refurb.
The Following User Says Thank You to xcrazydx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2012, 07:25 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
You can reset the counter of flashes in order to return the phone for safe stocking

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
22nd April 2012, 07:36 PM |#10  
G1ForFun's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 295
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwasblown

You can reset the counter of flashes in order to return the phone for safe stocking

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium

But note, the flash counter is only changed when you flash roms through Odin. Any roms flashed through Clockwork Recovery will not add to the counter. Just adding on to what you said.
22nd April 2012, 07:40 PM |#11  
xcrazydx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,197
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1ForFun

But note, the flash counter is only changed when you flash roms through Odin. Any roms flashed through Clockwork Recovery will not add to the counter. Just adding on to what you said.

This is somewhat true. Some custom kernels such as cm kernel can add to the counter even if flashed through CWM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes