Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,429 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Full root for A10x and A5xx ICS. Simple method.

Tip us?
 
Theonew
Old
#91  
Theonew's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1054
Posts: 3,523
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wherever I am
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybess22 View Post
ok I will try that. After I reset it through the pinhole should I reflash ICS or anything?
You could (shouldn't really matter though).
 
andybess22
Old
#92  
andybess22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 113
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybess22 View Post
ok I will try that. After I reset it through the pinhole should I reflash ICS or anything?
That worked thank you very much!
 
Jesse6749
Old
(Last edited by Jesse6749; 19th April 2012 at 10:17 AM.)
#93  
Jesse6749's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 120
Posts: 1,167
Join Date: May 2010
Location: T.B.A
Default This also works on the new Acer Iconia A510!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroNull View Post
Original article is published on this site and created by ZeroNull and vdsirotkin (4pda.ru).
How to:
1. The tablet should be already upgraded to ICS for A100.
2. Download this archive on the computer. Unpack it to any place.
3, On a tablet: "Settings" -> "Applications" -> "Development" -> "USB debugging" switch on.
4. Сonnect the tablet to the computer.
5. Open the directory with the unpacked archive. Execute file: for windows - runit-win.bat; for Linux - runit-linux.sh.
The root is received!
6. Now you will have to install the following programms:
SuperUser APK
Titanium Backup

ATTENTION!
Don't install Busybox! It is already installed and established! If you reinstall it, some programs will become unable to access root permissions!

This method uses the 'mempodroid' exploit and some workings out by ZeroNull and vdsirotkin (4pda.ru).

PS: I understand English rather badly, but I'll try to help, if it is necessary.
PS2: Command "Mount ro/rw" for directory /system (partition) - works perfectly!
Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!
AT&T Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (On Metro PCS)
i317 running [4.4.2] DS-NE5v1
[---]
Samsung XE700T1C A03US
256Gig SSD
Win. 8.1 x64
[---]
Apple iPad Air 128Gig
[---]
Acer Iconia A510 32Gig - Olympic Edition Black
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Jesse6749 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jasonevil
Old
#94  
jasonevil's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 2450
Posts: 1,296
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by eww245 View Post
Try this script, from a terminal cd to the directory where mount.txt is located.
Then:
Code:
$ su
# sh mount.txt -o remount,rw /system
# cp mount.txt /system/bin/mount
# cp mount.txt /system/xbin/mount
# chmod 755 /system/bin/mount
# chmod 755 /system/xbin/mount
# mount -o remount,ro /system
If busybox is updated this procedure must be done again.

i'm having the same problem....

rooted, unlocked bootloader, installed CWM....flashed CM9 plus Gapps. now i can't adb in to do anything.

so, where exactly is mount.txt located to run this?
Devices: Galaxy Nexus
Rom: CM11
Theme: Stock

Check out my themes:



My deviantART


If you like my work, consider making a Donation
 
californiarailroader
Old
(Last edited by californiarailroader; 21st April 2012 at 07:09 AM.)
#95  
californiarailroader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 423
Posts: 3,990
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse6749 View Post
Just so everyone knows, this root kit also works on the new Iconia A510.
I just got my Acer Iconia A510 from Amazon this morning and decided to install the USB drivers and tried this rooting kit and low and behold I got full root access.

Thanks ZeroNull!!!!
Thanks x2 ZeroNull and Jesse from me! It worked great on my A510, I'm rooted and runnin'!
 
burbank
Old
#96  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 134
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by californiarailroader View Post
Thanks x2 ZeroNull and Jesse from me! It worked great on my A510, I'm rooted and runnin'!
I'm having trouble making this work. It looks like the files get pushed properly but then it fails. Any guidance would be appreciated.


Full root for A100 ICS. Simple method.
-
-
Device connected. Preparation for executing of the main script.
mkdir failed for /data/local/tools, File exists
push: tools/su -> /data/local/tools/su
push: tools/runit.sh -> /data/local/tools/runit.sh
push: tools/mount.sh -> /data/local/tools/mount.sh
push: tools/mempodroid -> /data/local/tools/mempodroid
push: tools/getroot.sh -> /data/local/tools/getroot.sh
push: tools/delroot.sh -> /data/local/tools/delroot.sh
push: tools/busybox.sh -> /data/local/tools/busybox.sh
push: tools/busybox -> /data/local/tools/busybox
8 files pushed. 0 files skipped.
794 KB/s (839527 bytes in 1.031s)
776 KB/s (37273 bytes in 0.046s)
-
Preparation is finished.
-
Executing of the main script.
link failed File exists
mkdir failed for /system/sbin, File exists
error: device not found
The file "su" isn't created!
-
Not getting root!
-
Error!
-
Press any key.
 
eww245
Old
#97  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 486
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Throop
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonevil View Post
i'm having the same problem....

rooted, unlocked bootloader, installed CWM....flashed CM9 plus Gapps. now i can't adb in to do anything.

so, where exactly is mount.txt located to run this?
its attached to the post you replied to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=83 and in my root thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1512787
Droid 3 - CM7 Safely Strapped
#OPMOSH
Acer a100 ICS 015 - rooted deodexed
Backup your data with adb

Retired Sorry Bill!
ThrottleLauncher Plugins
Weather.com
GoogleTranslator and Dictionary
CallLog@

[RHOD500]
XDAndroid FRX06/WM6.5 stock
 
burbank
Old
#98  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 134
Join Date: Aug 2010
So this mount.txt script. Is it something I need to add to the batch file to get the a510 root script working properly?
 
eww245
Old
#99  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 486
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Throop
Quote:
Originally Posted by burbank View Post
So this mount.txt script. Is it something I need to add to the batch file to get the a510 root script working properly?
I'm not sure if the a510 has issues with mounting /system rw but It's only an alternative for ZeroNull's mount script, busybox can be updated then follow my instructions to get /system rw again. This will not root your device.

@ZeroNull sorry for posting this here was just trying to help the user that had issues with your script.
Droid 3 - CM7 Safely Strapped
#OPMOSH
Acer a100 ICS 015 - rooted deodexed
Backup your data with adb

Retired Sorry Bill!
ThrottleLauncher Plugins
Weather.com
GoogleTranslator and Dictionary
CallLog@

[RHOD500]
XDAndroid FRX06/WM6.5 stock
 
danifunker
Old
#100  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 239
Posts: 889
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Tested on the ZeroNull A100 ICS Stock Release... Passed

Hey, I installed the ICS full release that ZeroNull posted about (version 14) and this package worked fine.

I'm rooted! Thanks ZeroNull.

The Following User Says Thank You to danifunker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes