Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 37,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dosbox Turbo - Xplay update

Tip us?
 
TheVicious
Old
#91  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 285
Join Date: May 2010
I know it's a silly question - but how can I make a d-pad and X as a joystick with fire ? I don't see any option i key assigment.

Setters 2 Gold, SWOS 97, Elite 2 Frontier, Colonization works good - playable, sometimes feels low fps but playable.

I still cannot open elite 3 Frontier: First Encounters - after game start some strange writings appers and emulator is dead (exit option doesnt work). I tried three diffrent version. Anybody tried open this game ? Anyone have solution for this problem ? Thanks in advance.
 
Mysticales
Old
#92  
Mysticales's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 1,571
Join Date: Oct 2007
Dpad and joystick x would be the option "Use dpad for input" option. Then when you change input mode from touchscreen mouse to touch screen joystick, that should do it.
~Battlez-avec la Mystique?~
Galaxy S4 (At&t) - Stock 4.3 Rooted
Dell Streak 7 - Streakdroid R8
Ouya - (and my review)
The Following User Says Thank You to Mysticales For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
NeWCuLTKiNG
Old
#93  
NeWCuLTKiNG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2942
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upstate New York

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm getting nowhere with this I'm so confused how I find the games. I have elder scrolls in same folder as dosbox but its loading up c: :banghead:

Sent from my R800i using xda premium
 
gene_wildhart
Old
(Last edited by gene_wildhart; 20th April 2012 at 04:52 PM.)
#94  
Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 76
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman980206 View Post
I'm getting nowhere with this I'm so confused how I find the games. I have elder scrolls in same folder as dosbox but its loading up c: :banghead:
Generally, I recommend creating a directory called "DOS" on the root of your SD Card. You can do this by plugging your phone into your PC and mounting it.

After that, copy your DOS games into the folder you just created. For example, if you have the following games (Doom, heretic, frontier and elderscrolls arena), you might create a structure like the following at the c:> Prompt:
Code:
/dos/doom
/dos/frontier/
/dos/heretic/
/dos/arena/
And any other games you want to copy. Remember, DOS is limited to 8 character file and directory names.

Now once you have your games on your SD card folder, its just a matter of starting DB Turbo and accessing your games. By default, the c: drive will be mounted to your root sd card folder. So if you followed my instructions above, to access DOOM, you would type the following:
Code:
cd /dos/doom  <press enter key>
Then you would either run the game by typing doom.exe or you could setup the sound/controls by typing setup.exe.

More information can be found on the DosBox Wiki and on my FAQ page. Once you've mastered starting games via commandline, all that typing can get tedious very quickly, at which point you'll want to try the free (optional) DosBox Manager add-on.

Hope this very brief tutorial helps!

---------- Post added at 05:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:48 PM ----------
Windows 95
For those of you who were trying to run Windows in DB Turbo, apparently, someone over at this RootWikiz thread managed to get Win95 up and running on his CM9 Beta powered HP Touchpad with full DX6.1. He also posted some pics of him running C&C and Office 95 in Windows!

I have no idea how he did it or what image/config he used, but he mentioned later on in the same thread about how he might post a video with instructions.
The Following User Says Thank You to gene_wildhart For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mysticales
Old
#95  
Mysticales's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 1,571
Join Date: Oct 2007
With dosbox, not usually needed to do a setup heh. Just load the games exe or bat file by typing its name, once you are in its directory.

Gene, As for Win95. I did manage only to get that working in safe mode atm. Tho I ran Windows 98 heh.
~Battlez-avec la Mystique?~
Galaxy S4 (At&t) - Stock 4.3 Rooted
Dell Streak 7 - Streakdroid R8
Ouya - (and my review)
The Following User Says Thank You to Mysticales For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
NeWCuLTKiNG
Old
#96  
NeWCuLTKiNG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2942
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upstate New York

 
DONATE TO ME
Saw new update ill give this another try today thanks for the help

Sent from my R800i using xda premium
 
harlzden
Old
#97  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2011
hey gene_wildhart

i know it's a bit cheeky but i thought i'd ask, is there any way of implementing a macro in the dos manager profiles. to allow saving of the command to run games
without having to type
e.g.
cd dosprogs
dukenukem.exe

as an example

saves us typing it in, with the akward touchscreen keyboard every time we want to run a game?
 
FTAiii
Old
#98  
FTAiii's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 52
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by harlzden View Post
hey gene_wildhart

i know it's a bit cheeky but i thought i'd ask, is there any way of implementing a macro in the dos manager profiles. to allow saving of the command to run games
without having to type
e.g.
cd dosprogs
dukenukem.exe

as an example

saves us typing it in, with the akward touchscreen keyboard every time we want to run a game?
you can do that already by going into Edit Config / DosBox Settings / Autoexec <-- edit the auto exec.bat to be :

mount c: /sdcard/dos
c:
cd duke [or whatever folder]
duke [or whatever exe filename

Thanks for the latest update Gene, app works wonderfully and your support has been awsome
The Following User Says Thank You to FTAiii For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mysticales
Old
#99  
Mysticales's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 1,571
Join Date: Oct 2007
Yea autoexec would work, and Gene DID make profiles for us now, which is very helpful. Soon once a dosshell is installed, that would help people out somewhat. Rem those new to dos.. brush up on some dos commands. =)
Here are some important ones you will use:

dir /w (This will list the files/folders in your current directory, VERY helpful to find the .exe or .bat file to run)

cd \ (Takes you back to the C:\ root directory which should be your root of SD card)
~Battlez-avec la Mystique?~
Galaxy S4 (At&t) - Stock 4.3 Rooted
Dell Streak 7 - Streakdroid R8
Ouya - (and my review)
The Following User Says Thank You to Mysticales For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SHadowral
Old
#100  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2012
Is there any way to get the locked "Hard Keyboard Mappings" or "DPad & Xperia Play" options enabled?
Im asking because I have a bluetooth keyboard and a ps3 controller for playing with my SGS2. The analog stick works but Id like to use the arrow keys on the controller but cant figure out how to use them -.-

And I use as I said a keyboard for input which makes it a lot easier.

Tags
dosbox xplay
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes