Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to use Beats?

OP pmgreen

20th April 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Where/how do you use Beats? I have music on the Rezound but the Music play can't find it.
20th April 2012, 06:18 PM   |  #2  
liqwidzero's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmgreen

Where/how do you use Beats? I have music on the Rezound but the Music play can't find it.

You have to use the stock music app. Have you seen the red outlined "b" pop up in the status bar? If so, Beats is on. You can disable it in the dropdown status bar.
20th April 2012, 06:19 PM   |  #3  
PhantasmRezound's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 461
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Without modding, Beats sound enhancer is only available in the stock HTC music app and the stock video player. Hit Menu soft key > Sound enhancer for music player, or More > Sound enhancer while playing a video. The music player will also put a toggle in your notifications bar.

Beats effects only work with the line out headphone jack, not the loudspeaker out.
20th April 2012, 07:33 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag North East, MD
Thanks Meter: 817
 
3,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmgreen

Where/how do you use Beats? I have music on the Rezound but the Music play can't find it.

If you drop the music anywhere on the internal storage or SD card, it should be picked up by the music player. What format is you music in?
21st April 2012, 02:58 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I tried .MP3 and "downloaded" music from GMusic. Is there a way to link "My library" to a specific folder?
21st April 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #6  
Po1soNNN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greater Hartford Area, CT
Thanks Meter: 292
 
1,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
i personally use double twist for this reason because it finds all the music that is in my itunes library and syncs it to my device.
21st April 2012, 04:05 AM   |  #7  
PhantasmRezound's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 461
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmgreen

I tried .MP3 and "downloaded" music from GMusic. Is there a way to link "My library" to a specific folder?

Google Music stores offline mp3 files in /sdcard/Android/data/com.google.android.music/cache/music. The files are named as integers without tags, so you are best off making copies, renaming and tagging (if you wish), and putting them on the external sd or another internal folder, e.g. /sdcard/My Music.

There is no way to scan specific folders in the stock HTC Music UI AFAIK. Easiest way to get it to detect files that don't show in the player's library is to make sure they are in a folder in /sdcard/ or the external sd, and reboot; should rescan for files and pick them up them. Perhaps someone else knows how to tweak the library, with an app or editing a file?

Frankly, I have broken my stock player at the moment from flashing ROMs and not wiping properly (ran out of Charmin Ultra lol ) Else I'd troubleshoot the problem more.

Either way, I find the HTC Music app lacking compared to PowerAmp (scans everything lightning fast), doubletwist (good for iTunes integration) and other offerings on the Play Store. I have simply done the Beats Audio mod to all sound output: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1587168 Then use whichever music player I want.
21st April 2012, 07:37 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
thanks Phantasm, how do you install the beats audio? Does the phone have to be rooted first?
21st April 2012, 07:51 PM   |  #9  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmgreen

thanks Phantasm, how do you install the beats audio? Does the phone have to be rooted first?

It comes stock with the phone
21st April 2012, 09:03 PM   |  #10  
PhantasmRezound's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 461
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmgreen

thanks Phantasm, how do you install the beats audio? Does the phone have to be rooted first?



Yes, you must be rooted and flash a custom recovery such as ClockworkMod or Amon Ra (most people would probably recommend Amon Ra for this particular device.) Then you flash the Beats audio zip file from your custom recovery.

Bear in mind that if you don't like the sound signature for whatever reason, you must reflash the ROM to restore the original sound processing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by taptaptouch

It comes stock with the phone

Yes, but the Beats Audio sound effect is only in the stock music and video apps, not any others. This mod works on all audio output, e.g. streaming music. That is what I like about Sense 4.0: universal Beats sound effect. Wonder if 3.6 gets it.

Now, to bring this full circle, if you want to stay stock and not go through Unlocking and rooting, I wouldn't do all that for this Mod alone. Only if you intend on rooting and customizing your phone anyway. I'm sure plenty of people will suggest DSPManager or Volume+ or the EQ in PowerAmp, etc. Those options are great, customizable, and don't need root. I use all of those with and without the Mod on ROMs; it provides a better baseline sound IMHO.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes